December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tall Grass

by Lipedal - Jam Entry

Tall Grass - In which you get only one monster and you're totally fine with that.

You live in a world full of cute wild animals, ready to be encaged in high-tech pocket balls after a good beating. You gotta catch them all, says the TV, you gotta be a duel master!

But your personal urges are different. You just want to have one true good friend. Someone to play ball with and adventure into the forest.

Tall Grass is a tiny fable of cute monsters, friendship and football.

This is our first Ludum Dare entry! We tried to make something simple and tell a short story, using the PuzzleScript engine. We had some problems along the way, had to start again on Sunday night, but we managed to finish a game and have fun :)

This is also a little personal homage to Pokemon, our old childhood friend. Hope you like it, and please leave your feedback!

(also, feel free to hack it, improve it and add your own levels :D)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#52Fun(Jam)3.63
#67Overall(Jam)3.68
#68Innovation(Jam)3.48
#85Humor(Jam)3.26
#106Graphics(Jam)3.97
#130Mood(Jam)3.33
#194Theme(Jam)3.02
#351Audio(Jam)2.55

Comments

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35am

Beautiful and heartwarming game. The puzzles are fun and challenging.

MattHartley says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35am

Cool graphics, awesome gameplay, Good job!

toaster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:38am

Awesome homage. This really shows off what puzzlescript is capable of, graphically. I enjoyed playing this.

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:48am

I love the art-style, the story, the gameplay. You're a really fun material on your hands!

GravityScore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:50am

That is the cutest and cleverest of the LD games I've played! Really, really awesome game! Lovely pixel graphics, and some moderately challenging puzzles!!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42am

I love the Pokemon references and challenging puzzle gameplay. Great job!

btwj says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:26am

Fantastic puzzles, and the art is really nice too. I love Teen Peewee haha. Pokemon forever!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:19am

Nice game! pokemon is Always a nice universe to be in.

Venturelli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Haha this is so cute, and the puzzles are fun :)

Kuupu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Awesome game guys. Loved the graphics and the sounds. Music would be good too, but the texts between levels was so fun that it took time to miss music.

GrinCreative says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Very funny game! Awesome references! xDDDD
Congrats, and welcome to the world of Ludum Dare \o/

tiryth says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Ha! very nice game,
I was defeated in some levels, but I continued and managed to lead it to know Mom. Gotta Catch 'Em All!

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Game of the year.

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Loved it! Really nice puzzles and references!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Very good combination of puzzles and gameplay. I really enjoyed this. :)

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Loved it! so cute and lovely!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Great one guys! Congratulations! Great art and really funny theme!

Lipedal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:41pm

We loved making Tall Grass, and we plan on doing a "expansion pack" with a few more end-game levels. Glad you liked it, guys! Please spread the word :D

Jeremias says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Cute little game. Sad that you hadn't the time to elaborate on this, adding more game mechanics. Furthermore, I miss a bit of music. Anyway, very good job in making a little game.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:50pm

OOOOOHHHH THIS is so CUTE I'm gonna die. Cool genre mix... football was great! Monster is so nice... So much love in so little pixels :D Best game for me so far

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:54pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-AW_mqAOd78
My first impressions on the game :) Had a little trouble to get it to run on firefox, ended up using chrome instead.

Nut says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:33am

I was disappointed that my friend-creature didn't do anything in the first half of the game, and that I didn't do anything in the second half. Also, why was undo disabled?

I loved the graphics though.

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:10am

Love it - but couldn't get past the level after the first monsters. Am I missing something?

Also, I checked out the Luderia trailer - it looks fun and a bit hilarious! (Ballet?)

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Symmeteer, remember you can push against a wall or against a monster to pass a turn. Try doing that, it makes things easier :)

Daniel, sad to hear Tall Grass didn't work on Firefox! Anybody else had the same problem?

stigmawall says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:30am

Ok, you put puzzlescript in a next level right now.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:54am

Charming game and nice puzzels.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Really fun to play, I enjoyed the clever puzzle mechanics, and the mood is retro-cool !

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Cute, and the puzzles were a nice twist on the usual sliding block kinda thing.

MaTX says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Interesting idea, has some potential

Madball says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Nice game! It shows that Puzzlescript can make a big variety of games. I think it can't be compared with usual Puzzlescript puzzles, as it relies on storytelling.
The gameplay was interesting, though not challenging. But again, it's not a puzzle.
Graphics were cool, too. I guess you spent a lot of time on it. It doesn't even look tiley!
The objective of the last level was not obvious. What is that thing? A repel? Nope, it's a ball. Why does it look like that? And where do I have to place it?

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I'm really happy to see a game made with @increpare's PuzzleScript! Really nice game!

Lipedal says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Thanks for the feedback! Last level was a rushed idea, sorry for that. We had football levels, monster levels, and levels where you kick a ball into the goal while escaping from monsters.

We wanted to explore Teen Pewee in a fourth type of level though, where he must reach the 'ball' first (an item canister like those of Pokemon), and bring it back to the kid. It should be the most challenging kind of level, but you have the advantage of controlling only one character (harder to die that way), and after getting the ball you can use it to navigate through the monsters.

I think that idea should have been introduced earlier, in order to work well. We'll write a post mortem later, and put that as one of the things that we did wrong (:

daredevildave says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Very nice. Love the low-fi graphics.

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Very cute game! I really love the pixel art and the puzzles. Keep it up!

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Really great use of the limitations in the graphics.

GFM says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I really liked the graphical style! So cute and simple!

The game was also moody, in that you create a relationship between the player and the creature...

Nicely done! =D

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:33pm

The only thing about this game is the audio. BUT PEWEE IS SO AWESOME I CAN LIVE WITH THAT! This game is one of my favourite :-)

FrederickK says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Well, it is really minimalist but very well done.
The puzzles are great, the art and music really fits one another.
Nice job!

moop says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:19am

Cute game with some fun puzzles.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:17pm

just lovely.

diegomachado says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:32pm

You guys delivered some beautifull game, love the references and the usage of PuzzleScript was quite impressive.

Abraços do amigo brasileiro! Muito bom! :)

Jerre says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Nice graphics, the sound of peewee started to nerve me after a while.

Leoche says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Cool graphics!

lasergans says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Cool idea, is fun to play! Like the gameplay and the graphics

Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Great graphics, funny theme :) Congrats !

loxo says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:53am

A really great game! I like the graphics, the audio and the puzzles and had much fun playing it. The progression of the difficulty is quite nice, except for the last level. It took me some time to solve all the puzzles, the second last was the hardest. The last one was much easier, because the enemies were blocked by the object you move. Maybe it would be better, if the enemies could pass through that object. It definitely would increase the difficulty ;)

CaptainKraft says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:27pm

You did a lot of cool stuff using a very simple tool. I've just started tinkering with PuzzleScript myself and I'm impressed at how you used it to make something pretty cool. Well done

stvr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:57am

An adorable game that really shows the power of PuzzleScript!

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:24pm

PIKACHUUU!!!! :)
Neat game :)

somepx says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Really excellent - graphics, mood, gameplay - a good entry!

lowcade says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Very cute and beautiful graphics and a fun gameplay. I love minimalism and you use very well. Nice work.

bhutunga says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Cute little game, good work

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]