December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Te y De

by rico.albe - Jam Entry

Climb the Teide as siblings Te and De bringing the cap to the top before it sneezes all over the island. Be careful of the evil imps that'll take it from you.

Well we've made it. Our very first game, hopefully good enough. Arrows and WASD to move.

You can play on your own, but it's definately better to play with someone.

Edit: We're still improving the game and re-uploading so you can play a better (but after LD) at www.rodaja.es

We're still working on the bug of not being able to throw the cap anymore, but enemies work properly now and the sounds we did for the endings now do sound.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#302Theme(Jam)2.66
#322Graphics(Jam)3.03
#336Innovation(Jam)2.67
#340Audio(Jam)2.60
#363Humor(Jam)2.00
#438Mood(Jam)2.36
#451Overall(Jam)2.59
#461Fun(Jam)2.31

Comments

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:07am

Los enemigos se bugean un poquito y los saltos son difíciles de calcular, pero en general está bien.

madlee says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:28am

Pretty fun, and challenging. I gave up when I accidentally fell almost the whole way back down... Also, i discovered a bug: it seems that if you collect the 'cap' after throwing it _before_ it hits the ground, you are no longer able to throw it or jump, making the game unplayable.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Same bug here, but the game is pretty fun, indeed.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Nice attempt at a platformer, though some bugs restricted me from playing the game.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:17pm

same bug. could be interesting otherwise..

01rafael says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:27pm

well, I'm confusing about gameplay. What is a goal?

kibertoad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:32pm

throwing the cap stops working after a while. but really cute character design and better jumping then in most ludum platformers.

rico.albe says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Even if you get the bug where you can't throw the cap, you can get it to work again by pressing up a lot. We're working on an actual solution, but we have to change too much to consider it part of the "fix win condition bugs after the deadline" clause.

You can play an improved (though still has this specific bug) at www.rodaja.es

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Well I haven't seen an imp yet. It worked well (except for the mentioned bug), but it was hard as well and with the time passing I thought I would never make it anyway.
I will try the updated version later, because I am curious about the imps.
I really like the art style.

By the way: is there a way to stop Unity to offer me resolutions too small to play the game? It suggests tome 1024x768 but then a lot of the game is not in view.

rico.albe says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Oh, that's our fault, I believe, We didn't realize Unity web player used it's own resolutions. I think we'll reupload fixing that later.

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:58pm

A nice short game, controlling 2 characters at once was a bit difficult and it seems like some platforms were out of vision. You can get out of the can't throw bug by passing it and jumping with the other character at the same time.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Graphics crisp and effective, liked getting the hang of the throw and immediate jump mechanic though it was a very challenging game and that red dude was n.a.s.t.y. ;)

Zuige says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I did rather like this! Very polished. Controls seemed a bit awkward at first but I did get the hang of it quite soon. Well done overall!

wezrule says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:54pm

interesting idea, think there should be checkpoints along the way, as it's a long way down!!!

Joror says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Interesting to play, but gave up after I dropped it all the way back down. :P

lilinx says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:30pm

This is either based on an amazing Tenerifian folk story I've never heard about, OR you made it up. In both case, amazing choice. Also the two players mode is waaaay more interesting with the pass you have to do with this cap, and really makes more sense than 1 player, have you considered getting rid of the single player mode? And the animation is great. And the look of it. Ok it's totally buggy so you can't really play it so now I will go to your website and try the full version. The only thing I don't like so much in this game is the music loop : it's too short so it gets very repetitive. Anyway, this is excellent, especially as a first game. Nice choices, interesting gameplays, amazing look.

rico.albe says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:07pm

wezrule & Joror:

We're right now working on different short levels instead of one big tall single one, but then again, that's all post-jam.

lilinx:

Yeah, we'd make the story up as we'd go. Imagery was actually based off of some russian painting and photos of inuits, so it's a total nonsense in a way.

We put the one player mode for accesibility, though apparently some people are playing the two player mode on their own, so we're not sure what will come off that.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:52am

i'm only rating on the game before the jam, not the awesomeness after.

van noctar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Good gameplay! Great graphics and the music is cool! It's very difficult !

Nut says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:50am

I like the concept, but it was hard to progress very far since I don't have another person to play with.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:27pm

The game is fun, has a bit of lag though

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]