December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Choices (Sea Wind)

by Striwx - Jam Entry

Hi there, i wanted to add some gameplay for every choice you made, but i don't have time :( (I was supposed to participate the compo, but i loose time with crappy tutos)

So I try to make something with mood.

Arrow Keys + Space to interact


@Striwx
http://nicepenguins.tumblr.com/
Game Dev Lab Supinfo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#45Mood(Jam)3.76
#123Audio(Jam)3.36
#159Theme(Jam)3.14
#190Graphics(Jam)3.49
#340Overall(Jam)2.93
#347Innovation(Jam)2.64
#397Humor(Jam)1.87
#476Fun(Jam)2.21

Comments

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28am

I like the mood of the game. Contemplative.

Took me a bit to figure out the controls; I think it's just that they weren't immediately responsive.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32am

Short and sweet. Nice pixel art and fitting music. Would have been nice to have some gameplay, but I think it works pretty well as short interactive "picture book" of sorts.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:48am

Unable to run:
Error: Failed to load mono
Unable to load mono library from "C:/Users/.../Desktop/Misc Games/Choices_win/Choices_win/Choices_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 126).
Windows 7.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:02am

I like the graphics and the music.

afterisk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:52am

The setting is serene and makes me want to take a leisurely scroll in the game. Good job. Dialog/narrative needs to be tightened up a bit.

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:56am

I like this a lot. Excellent pixel art. Simple, effective gameplay. A weird creature standing around at the end. Everything was great; I'm just wishing for more.

almightysuit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:40am

Well, the gameplay was a little rigid. But it was cool! Liked the mood :)

Striwx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:06pm

@Piscythe I solved the problem
@Yes i wish i could have some extra time :)
Thanks all for playing it !

Striwx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:06pm

*@Nut Yes I wish..

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Wow, I realize there wasn't a ton of gameplay but I really loved what I saw! The art was amazing and the idea was clutch and the mood was great.

I shall look forward to future entries from you :)

Poxymyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14pm

WOAH guy, this game is absolutely AWESOME. Well, yeah, that's more an interactive story than a game, but the mood is so great! I will gladly play it again with other choices. Also, music fit the game perfectly, and grapics are very good. I love your interpretation of the theme.

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

I really loved the mood, graphics and music! With other alternatives it would become an awesome game!! Great job!

If you have time , rate my game too! :) I would really appreciate it! :D

hadesfury says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:20pm

I really like the fact that choices matter ... the mood and music are great

hadesfury says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I really like the fact that choices matter ... the mood and music are great ... I played 2 times :D

mcapraro says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:48am

nice graphics, gameplay was hard to figure out, and maybe a little buggy

occash says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Good idea for a game, but i don't understand what to do when the girl learns, discovers and... what should I do and what is the aim ?

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:20am

Great sound design and visuals. I loved the little details like hearing the wind and the bugs (crickets?). How the dress and the captain's smoke blows in the wind. The ocean stained wood. Solid game!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:09am

Pretty story :)
One life, one chance, no regrets ! ;-)

PS. I really want to see timelapse from making this game :)

xrm0 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Nice graphics

kibertoad says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:53pm

excellent mood, would you consider doing a post-jam? I'd love to play the finished version, if unfinished is so beautiful and sad.

joppiesaus says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Nice graphics, nice mood, nice audio, but I don't like this game. It's more like a story told to you instead of that you decide your story. A bit more content would be nice

finefin says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:17pm

yes, I rate this high on "mood" ;)
I like the graphics and smooth piano music.
the game itself could be fleshed out some more, but good work overall!

Blinked says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Nice job, good music and graphics, good message as well :)

CarbonCoder says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Very nice mood

Peni6 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Very moody, but also very boring

Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Strange game, nice concepts, no sounds :/ not bad at all. Good Job

Moosefly says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Had some problems with interacting (pressing space didn't always work) but apart from that it worked nicely.

Solid story, not much of a game as it is though. Definitely moody ;).

goerp says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Nice mood in this game. The graphics, music and texts work nicely together.
I wish there were more choices and see more of the outcomes but it's still a nice experience.

I would have played it more but the adds on kongregate were really long!

Striwx says ...
Jan 21, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Thank you all for your feedbacks !!
@OnlySlightly For the wind and the bugs it’s was a recording of this summer and i found that it’s fit perfectly with this game :D (and yes crickets :) )
@psc1997 Sorry i don’t have any timelapse ;)
@kibertaod Maybe one day, but this will be a kind of remake for something more subtle (and with more gameplay, content and no bugs)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]