December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mikes toy

by d_0o_d - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Mikes toy, abandoned in a dark place with only yourself as alight source. You are trying to escape, but the only way out seems to be to reach the purple platforms.
Luckily, you are given a set of tools. Too bad there's only one of each... Looks like you only get one.

-- Execution --
If you are on windows, just run the *.exe!
If it's not working, it's most likely because you are running 32bit Windows. Go to https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads/ and download love-0.8.0-winx86.exe
If you are on mac or linux, you just need to download love2d (version 0.8 not 0.9!) from https://bitbucket.org/rude/love/downloads/ then run the following:
love {path to mikestoy.love}
It is also most likely that you can find love in your Linux repository.

-- Controls --
You move with a and d.
You can jump with the spacebar.
You can use the hook by holding the left mouse button.
You can use the jetpack by holding the right mouse button.

Have fun playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#163Fun3.41
#185Overall3.44
#324Theme3.19
#399Innovation3.04
#464Mood2.81
#499Graphics2.93
#591Audio2.32
#641Humor1.93

Comments

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Hmmm, a little bit confusing at first (well level 2), but fun overall!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31pm

The game inexplicably freezes for me (Linux Mint 12.04). I got to level 2 the first attempt, then only made it to level 1 when I reloaded. Had to kill the process in order to close the game.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42pm

@MarekkPie I'm sorry, I had no chance to test it on linux, I just assumed it would work. Are you sure you have love 0.8 installed? Did you get an error message? Did you install love 0.8 from the repos?

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Maybe you could also try the windows version + wine?

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Nicely done. Level 5 can be done with just the hook, as it turned out, you only need one. ;) Unfortunately the app froze on me then so I didn't see level 6.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51pm

The game froze when I beat level 10. Interesting game. The hook is cool, but it would be nice if it drew a line from you to the hook while you were flying around.

Mindtricks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Really fun! I love the style, maybe a soundtrack could complete the atmosphere

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:45pm

I really had fun, but it crashed just after I beat level two. :<

Oh well, it was fun while it lasted!

sadiquo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Fun, but I can move the end just next me when I press the key "I" and click ;)

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:57pm

I had a lot of fun with this. It seems to freeze at level 10 (as one other commenter said). Overall, really fun. Good job!

Kikkers says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:59pm

I enjoyed finishing the game, puzzles are a nice change of pace. I would recommend being a bit more careful with your sounds, that (very sudden) level end sound was quite loud compared to most other games here.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Fun game, good use of the theme and puzzle platformer mechanics, loads really slow for what it is though.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Thanks for the feedback, I fixed the point, where you could move the end. I'm sorry, but I don't know what's causing the crash...

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:47pm

I got an error, not much to go on I'm afraid: "The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b) ..."

Blinked says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Same error here, Windows 8 64-bit

Kvisle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Very nice entry. I really liked the level where I hurdle myself across the gap with the hook. I'd love to see more of this.

Game froze as I beat level 5, though.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:46am

This was very well done, with solid controls. Better explanation of the controls would help, and a few more levels would make this game awesome post compo!

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:24am

I might have fixed the crash issue, though I can't say for certain, because I am not able to reproduce it...

sam1373 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:15pm

I get the same error as multikorv.

kratorspore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:28pm

The application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b) I'm on windows 8.1 64 bit

Nelien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:50pm

0xc0000007b again :( I had the same problem with my game originally, it's usually because SDL and your application are linking with different MSVC runtimes. Hope that helps :/

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Windows 7 64-bit

Same problem here.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:59am

Sorry guys, I fixed the problem.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Love the the mood of this game :) Good job !

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Love the mood of this game :) Good job !

goerp says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:56pm

The game looks good, with moody lighting and plays well.
The hook I found difficult to use, though.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:51am

I really like the simplicity of the graphics. The gameplay was a lot of fun too. Nice work!

sam1373 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Very fun. I died 46 times. Btw, level 5 can be solved without the jump.

mr.isaer says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:40pm

like your style

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:22am

Crashed on me after level one. But really cool concept. I liked the lighting effects.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]