December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

CYTC (Choose Your Treasure Chest)

by tiffi_gaming - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is an epic fight between a horde of monsters and you.
Your only help are some treasure chests. BUT: You can only get one (out of 3... each round)!

Choose your treasure chest and click the button to fight monster after monster.
Red chests give you more attack.
Blue chests make you faster.
Green chests give you more live.
Purple chests are random but give you more.

This was my first Ludum Dare entry and I am quite happy with the result, even if I didn't include 50% of the things i wanted to include...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#117Humor3.35
#147Theme3.54
#209Innovation3.38
#324Fun3.13
#366Overall3.17
#368Mood2.94
#588Graphics2.75
#591Audio2.32

Comments

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:21am

noice!

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05am

fun and intersting

multikorv says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Nice! Felt that randomness got me killed a lot though. :)

mruno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Intesting idea and nicely executed! Health seemed to be the most useful early game.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:11pm

A bit random, good concept, but the game needs to be worked a bit more, but nice try!

jadams says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Simple concept, but surprisingly enjoyable.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Purple chest is the best chest! All hail the purple chest!

Simple but fun, good job on your first Ludum Dare game!

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Hipster Lvl. 5S.... Priceless joke

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:33pm

The Ludum Dare deadline killed me!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:38pm

All hail the purple chest! Moosefly you made my day :D

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Nice idea!

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:50am

An amazing game... it's short, so it has plenty of replayability. Purple chests are the purple best.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:12pm

can't play, mac

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Interesting game, simple yet satisfying. Could definitely be developed further to add more strategy. Would work as a mobile game. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]