December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Die Once

by Arkrothe - Jam Entry

A text-adventure in which you face insurmountable odds as you try to survive, after a shipwreck has stranded you in the sea. There are multiple endings that can occur depending on the decisions you make.

Press left click to proceed in the story, and to select from the options (Text that appears in the lower part of the screen.) when they appear.

To play the windows version, simply extract the archive and run the exe file. If the game does not launch then you may need to download the XNA framework redistributable from here:http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Added web port for the game as well. Also, It's my first Ludum Dare game, and I hope you find it engaging :)

Platform: Windows,
Library Used:XNA Framework.
Music is taken from here: http://opengameart.org/content/seashore-peace-ambiance
Fonts are used from the XNA starter kit.
Writing, coding and design are by me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#33Mood(Jam)3.85
#145Theme(Jam)3.18
#221Overall(Jam)3.18
#232Audio(Jam)3.00
#294Fun(Jam)2.79
#338Humor(Jam)2.08
#385Innovation(Jam)2.53
#532Graphics(Jam)1.79

Comments

ApoorvaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:15am

Excellent game. Cements a sense of hopelessness because of the false choices (I couldn't find a happy ending). Simple yet effective audio. 5/5 stars for mood.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:16am

Not bad, but the ending(s) were kind of abrupt, prolly needed some more buildup to connect. But otherwise, nice!

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29pm

I laughed alot at this game, especially when I am trying to be very stingy XD Great text adventure game there!

X-0r says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:48pm

I think I died 5 times or so (but only once per try^^). Needed to check all the endings ^_^ Sharing, not sharing, stabbing before resting, stabbing right after, stabbing myself... I believe things like that show, how complicated it is to have a story with open endings... It's not possible to survive, right?

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Crashes on launch for me, any idea on why this happens?

Gungnir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Nice to see another text driven entry out there. Music really carries the atmos well. Love how different the paths were - convincing. Was there a way to restart in game?

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:22pm

@fullmontis: If it's crashing on start then please try installing the xnafxredist that is mentioned in the description and then trying again. I will also be releasing a web port for it soon.

@Gungnir: No, i'm afraid there's no way to restart it from within. When the gameplay was finally completed, i was too tired to add a menu system :/

@X-Or: Survival matters not, what matters is how you choose to die :P

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Great game. YODO

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Fantastic text adventure game, very original!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Brilliant graphics! Oh wait.. No, that was just my vivid imagination ;). But honestly, the writing really makes the places take shape in my head, great work! Could've been a bit longer though!

tobbez says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Would have been nice if there was a way to restart the game. Nice short story, good music.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Love the mood and the narration. But the zone to click on isn't exactly on the text, which makes the experience less immersive. Great job anyway !

bitserum says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Great game. We made the similar idea. I really like how you realized yours. Good job.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Fantastic mood and story, simple yet elegant. I take my hat off to you sir.

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:46pm

@tobbez: That's definitely needed as there are multiple endings, but I didn't get a lot of time during the jam due to life getting in the way, and barely completed the game as it is.

@Ekilibr: I had written a terribad piece of code for wrapping text, and couldn't use rectangles for checking mouse input due to that, so had to hack that too :P

@Nelien: Well, it is the world's most powerful graphics processing chip :P

Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:33pm

great. i like the story.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:22pm

excellent writing, loved the endings. finally a text game with practical decisions.
unity seems like a bit of an overkill for a text-only game though.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Neat game there. I don't get one thing, though. Was it made in XNA or in Unity? Or did you make the Windows version in XNA while making the web version with Unity?

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:58pm

I had originally made it in XNA as I do not remember javascript/html very well, and did not want to try something new as I had other things happening over the weekend as well.

Ported it after the jam to unity for the web player, as I could use the same c# scripts with only small modifications for displaying text. And yes, I had not planned to make a text game, but that was the only decent idea i could think of with the theme, so :P

psc1997 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Wooow! Really great game :)
Music is very climatic. I very like it! And interesting story ;)
Overall good adventure text-based game ;)

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Interesting text-based game, but I think it could use some more variety... from what I saw, it has like 3 endings or so, and all of them very similar.

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Really well established mood. I generally like text adventures, so I enjoyed going through this and getting immersed.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]