December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Earth

by george_prosser - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the lone protector of mankind's only home, Earth. Defend against incoming asteroids and try to survive as long as possible!

Made using Love2D, Notepad++, Paint.NET and SFXR!

Move with the arrow keys, aim and shoot with the mouse.

Highscore to beat: 24422 (post a comment with a screenshot if you do)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#291Graphics3.33
#306Overall3.25
#357Fun3.06
#426Mood2.88
#431Theme3.00
#454Humor2.32
#578Audio2.35
#717Innovation2.56

Comments

@Micle2000 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

I don't have love installed, sorry. I think you should rename the download link?

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:27am

Do you can make exe file? Or Love is nesesary?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:45am

I've now got a Windows executable up for download! Crisis averted.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

I think I did more damage to earth than anything else to start with. Very nice graphics, fun little Asteroids-like. Those asteroids can be extremely hard to see on occasion. Also probably worth it to note that its mouse aim and shoot.

Broxxar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

Neat! My only gripe is that I couldn't use WASD but I had to use the mouse!

Well done

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

Playing with a laptop touchpad was practically impossible, but I get the idea of the game. Would be more fun if I had a mouse. Good Job.

DrooobE says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55am

Amazing game! I absolutely loved it! I like that you were able to develop such a simple concept so well! This was fantastic to play :D

cdgugler says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57am

I love the theme. Disappointed I couldn't save all those billions of people. :)

porglezomp says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

Love the game! Took me a bit (second playthrough) to realize that you used the mouse to shoot. The effects were very juicy (CAMERASHAKE), especially the end. A very good entry overall.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:59am

The difficulty increases exponentially lol. Fun little game. Good work. Runs well on Linux.

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00am

Wow... that game is hard... Masses of asteroids o.O
Liked the gravity-ish effect as they speed up when they are close (doesn't make it any easier, though) - also, it's great that you can actually damage the planet with your own gun :P

BoppreH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07am

The difficulty ramps up a bit too quick, but it is a great little game. It was interesting to take each shot carefully, and later just spray everything and buy time.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:15am

I shot my own planet! I'm an evil man. :(

leafo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35am

pretty cool idea, got really hard. would be sweet with upgrades

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:05am

The gravity acceleration is very nicely done.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:49am

Nice use of the theme. Also pretty neat graphics. Well done. :)

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Nice mecanics, control are a little bit hard and the asteroid to dark sadly, it is a bit annoying but i guess it is part of the difficulty maybe.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Holy fking crap this is hard on my laptop whaha

sam1373 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Wow, the line at the end make you feel really guilty for losing...

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:39am

friggin HARD! but very polished. Good to see more Lovers in the Ludum Dare.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:59am

Very nice game! I like the gravity well and how you can shoot the planet yourself accidentally.

Some contrast on the asteroids and the background would have been nice, but very nice!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:41pm

I had no mouse to play. But I'll retry later. Seems like a good game !

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:05pm

I wish I could play this, but I'm a Mac user. We both went for the Only One Planet theme.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:09am

OK, thanks for the message. I'll look into Love2D and check out your game and rate it. I'm always up for learning about a new game software. Please return the favor!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:29am

The one ship idea is cool! Nice done. I'm not better than you ;).

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Much harder than it looks, but it's a solid little game.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Nice. I found the controls very difficult, but the gravity effects and the quote at the end were very satisfying. Also, a very pretty game. Where did all those rocks come from!?

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:48am

Wow, this got difficult very quickly! It was manageable until there were literally 30 asteroids on screen simultaneously. Still pretty fun, the arrow keys were both intuitive and extremely unintuitive depending on which side of the planet you were on. I like that you can shoot the planet yourself, definitely one of the first things I tried :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]