December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

There was a world

by Kar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your planet is becoming corrupted. You are a part of a crew sent on a mission to find a new planet to colonize. Unfortunatelly your ship is attacked by space pirates and you're the only one to escape. You reach an uninhabitted planet but you have no resources to prepare it for the others. You only have one seed found in the spaceship... Can you make it?

KEYS:
- arrows to move
- SPACE as an action key
- mouse to buy things by clicking panels on sides

TIP:
- Remamber to buy a watering can on the beginning!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#249Mood3.16
#330Humor2.65
#356Theme3.14
#364Innovation3.10
#559Overall2.94
#628Graphics2.68
#637Fun2.67

Comments

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:50am

Interesting little idea for a game. I like the view with the rotating planet a lot.

But I think the game is broken I couldn't figure out how to do most things (instructions on controls would have been helpful). Also I could buy and build everything right from the start and basically insta-win. The system which checks if you have the correct resources or not appears broken (I didnt have any and need any to build).

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:57am

Hey. Thanks for trying the game. You probably downloaded the previous version which I uploaded by mistake. It was for my tests, and you could buy buy everything on the start :) The proper version is now here, and there you have to work for your game to progress.

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58am

This looks very promising, but I could not figure out what to do after buying the water can and collecting water. I guess I had to water the seed but no clue where or how.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:11am

Hey there. I like the mood of the small little planet. The rotating planet feels great me. But I don't know what to like lincore said ^^

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:15am

Ah, I see. I though about adding any tutorial or something, but I wanted to leave there a feeling of sandbox. Just play around, observe the screen and you will see what to do ;)

Firsstly you must buy a watering can. Maybe I should have made it bought by default.
Too little time to think about it :)

Mirroar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:17am

Interesting concept and well done. Unfortunately I hit a bug where after about two weeks I couldn't move or do anything anymore, but until then I had built the science center.

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19am

@Mirroar: Story of my life... :(

frickajr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:04pm

fun! trigger some are large, have a condition of defeat?

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:10pm

No condidion's of defeat, you simply cannot die here. Now it's like a time management. I planned to add a necessity of eating each day, so no food in storage for a couple of days = you are dead. But the time limit said "No!" :)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Getting a 404 when downloading here. Is it still up? :(

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Please try again. It's up for sure. Just tried to download. If you have any more problems give me a note.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:32pm

I liked this game, but the game crashed when I walked over the red cross. Shame :( I liked the backing story!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Kar: Got it, thanks!

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:36pm

It was pretty fun, although the long waits when collecting something felt a bit unnecessary. I also froze when day 16 started, I couldn't move anymore, so I guess that was game over for me :)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Nice game! Alas, I had the problem where (on Day 6 here) I got stuck in 'collecting water' and couldn't move. Nice concept though. :)

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Interesting concept. I didn't see any benefit from sleeping though, is there something I missed?

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:27pm

No, it was just a way to get the next day quickly. Usefull only on the beginning. It was meant to be more useful, but I had to cut some mechanics from the game, too little time.

sadiquo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:41pm

I loved play this game, but after few minutes I was unable to move :( Great idea and very well done :D

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:42pm

There are some spelling errors, interesting concept though. Nice job.

goerp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Nice concept, but bugs kept me from playing. After a while I couldn't move anymore.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:42pm

It all started fine, but it froze soon after I figured out what to do.

jonask says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Really nice. The game got stuck mining though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]