December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Finding Serenity

by BraindeadGeo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one season of Firefly! The most depressing of statements. One guy went looking for explanations, did he find them? Play the super-awesome action game 'Finding Serenity' to find out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#18Humor4.00
#313Theme3.20
#351Audio2.80
#471Fun2.89
#491Overall3.00
#534Mood2.70
#718Graphics2.48
#759Innovation2.48

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:51am

Haha, hilarious! :D Also you just totally went Spec Ops: The Line on me.

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:52am

I prefer Star Trek :)

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:52am

Haha that was surprisingly funny. Nice simple gameplay too, I didn't get very far (I kept dying). Still had fun though. Nice job!

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54am

Quite humorous, a bit surreal. Good job!

The ending was the best part!

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:56am

nice one! Good feeling, smooth controls, and a very funny back story! Good use of the theme as well. But I failed at the flying head since I killed him outside the wall then I couldn't reach him.

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:57am

Hahaha. Hilarious. Funniest entry so far.
I especially liked the voice over.

Controls and graphics could of course use more work. Some elements like the text bubbles did not go well with the old-school graphics style.
Z-Rendering on those workers worked not always and some text was therefore hidden by another worker.

Tim Kaldor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08am

Haha, humorous, I enjoyed it although you lost marks for portraying Murdoch as a Australian. We want nothing to do with him, he is American now.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12am

Fun entry :-)

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:37am

Ok, this is crazy - but "You only get one season of Firefly" surely is the best take on the theme so far! :D

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43am

Hehe, quite odd! I love the huge, empty emmy cabinet ;)

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:17am

Awesome take on the theme, I wish I could better see the comment the guys make

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Oh my God!)) Why I didn't watch FireFly? Because I don't want to kill everybody on Fox I guess =)
Nice game! I think some HP bar would be helpfull. Good job!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Cool concept. Now I need to re-watch Firefly :(

PlugNPlay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:30pm

A little bit weird, but fun nonetheless :) .

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31pm

This is a very unique idea for a game. I like the concept and the sense of humor. That artwork looks really nice too.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Ha I've not watched Firefly... but I want to now. I feel it must be worth it lol. Fun game though

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:00am

Haha, I like the Murdoch graphic! I actually just walked past everyone in level 1 and it said "Workers Killer: 100"... is that right? I loved the ending.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:11am

Six seasons and a movie!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:30am

Right in the feels!

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:07am

That was really funny!
I ran into a bug at the end. The floating head just dissipated and I couldn't do anything.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:27am

This is hilarious! haha, well done!

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24am

I've never seen Firefly before (don't even know if its real!), but I loved this game!:)

kunzbe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:25am

I died, a lot

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

Awesome!!!!

goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:57am

haha. Funny game!!

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52am

Wow. I don't really care for Joss Whedon, so I didn't know what to expect. But I appreciated the games sense of humor.

xk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:15am

That was quite enjoyable! Nice take on a theme!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:23am

Love it!

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:57am

In my defense, I stabbed him because I was in a video game.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Really funny, good game.

kookoon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Hilarious!
Awesome game.

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:45pm

This was psycho!

11Nephilim says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06pm

The empty shelves labelled 'Emmies' was probably my favourite bit. Can I have a game about murdering the Fox News staff too? That doesn't sounds crazy does it?

garygreen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Funny take on the theme - I wonder if this game will inspire them to bring Firefly back?

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Rated highly for humor! xD

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:07am

OK, I'm laughing hard. Might be the funniest LD entry I've ever played. The gameplay isn't anything innovative, but not bad (though I would have liked some sort of visible hitpoints; I got killed quite a few times), but the comedy is excellent. The graphics are simple, but funny: the only thing I'd improve is the walking animation.

SPOILERS


My favourite part was the bit where the game calls our browncoated hero out for going on a killing spree over a TV show. The executives' dialogue was an absolute riot, too.

Great job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:08am

Forgot to mention: best take on the theme so far.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:11am

Awww man, all these positive comments are amazing, love you all :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:04am

Funny game. Nice use of theme and good job! I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/6i2NO94dPrk

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:33am

This was pretty awesome, I enjoyed it quite a bit. I liked how the guys were sort of like, zombie-like and the blood spraying everywhere was a nice touch.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]