December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Colour

by RedEyeManiac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Colour is a game where you much use your colour changing ability to solve puzzles in a 2d platformer! As for your colour, "you only get one"* at a time.

*original plan included six different colours but Game Maker Studio - Free Edition is a Jerk and limited me to 15 objects so I literally cannot add more in at this point. I plan on working on this game more when I have the full version!

Windows only, sorry to anyone that excludes :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1604Coolness20%

Comments

Kemoiz says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Nice idea, but this character is so sad! ;_;

RedEyeManiac says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 3:07pm

You think he looks sad? I considered it to be a really neutral look haha '_'

607 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:02pm

The music has a good feeling to it, although it gets very repetive fast... That was kinda frustrating me. The idea is really cool though, and I love how you put that blue spinner there so you could not dodge it to teach people that they won't hurt you when you're not the same color. I liked the design, even when the character was kinda simplistic, cause it kinda fit. The level design is also cool. Then my apprecations for the beautiful COLOUR icon at the start and the end, cause they made the feel of playing a game more.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Cool idea :D Very fitting for the theme.

As 607 says, I also appreciate how you teach players about dodging colours where needed great job!

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

Neat game I think it has some potential! You should add a hitbox to the character though, you can hook on to ledges with your arms.

RedEyeManiac says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:26pm

yeah, I had a rectangular hitbox before, but because of the space around the legs, you could hit the spinning blades without actually touching them. no clue what I should do there :/

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I liked it! My game is using a very similar idea, hehe.

I also think the level design is pretty good. You don't need text to teach how to play :-) On the downside, I think it gets repetitive easily because evey mistake you have to start from the beginning. Also, I rage quitted when a fan phantom hit me (I promise I wasn't colliding with it!)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Nice graphic style ! Original :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:04am

I love the graphics!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:12pm

can't play, mac

RedEyeManiac says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:42am

Yeah, I have no intention to release a mac version at this point, sorry

CatskullTeam says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:07pm

It's a bit annoying to start again from the start when you die. The aesthetics and audio are great!

ACE says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:54pm

like the concept and the visuals but needed a backing beat that did not repeat that much as it got annoying by the end

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Could of been more

ParaPup says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Cute I liked the concept you have here.

Leandrus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:24pm

I liked a lot, very very interesting idea. i like the ambient, i like the character. i like the whole thing =)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]