December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flee to Light

by ryangatts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Flee from skittering shadow creatures. The only defense you have is light. Protect your torch and it will protect you. Accidentally throw it in the water, and you're doomed.

Light up bits of wood in the environment to clear a path or to make a temporary bonfire to drive back the creatures. Light up lanterns to (semi)permanently protect an area. Don't get too comfortable, because the longer you stay in one place, the easier it is for the creatures to find you. Find and light all ten (six are near the end) lanterns to open the exit.

No sound effects or music this time :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#122Graphics3.82
#233Overall3.35
#357Fun3.06
#556Innovation2.82
#656Theme2.59
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Pretty cool idea. The graphics are nice and the lighting creates a fitting mood. I liked the enemies too, they were cute and relentless. Sometimes the walls can block your view, so walls becoming transparent might be a feature you could look into should you continue this. (And I think you should, it's fun!)

ryangatts says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:07am

very true, I'd go back and change the wall height if I could within the rules :/ I'm glad you had fun though :D I hope to go back and fiddle with it after the voting and comments.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:13am

Could you possibly upload a Linux build? This game looks really fun but there's no Unity web player on Linux, sadly.

afterisk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:20am

very cool, i like the light work and the level design, and of course the enemy AI!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:13am

Enemies were quite cute. :)

ryangatts says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:20am

LINUX BUILD ONLINE :D

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Looks great, I love the torch particle effect!!! Agreed with the wall thing though, it was very hard to see where to go sometimes, but if you fixed that then this would be quite the fun little game!
Hey since this is part of the 48 hour compo you're going to need to upload your source files too. Otherwise you won't be applicable for a win!

ryangatts says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:00am

Thanks for the alert, Adam Tea!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:43am

Wow, this was a really cool concept. Really well implemented.
I wish I could tell better when I was close to dying though.

dudsen says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Funny. Came here because of your particle tutorial on your YT channel (BTW thanks for that, pretty cool workflow with after effects, especially the AE Vector effect! Just rad.) for playing around in my Post-LD entry. Would have missed the entry otherwise .

The obvious problems were mentioned before, don't have something to add here. Cool idea, love the creature design, but unfortunately a capsule as the hero... I know, I know, time constraints. I'm only saying I'd have loved to see the main character modeled & animated as good as the creatures. And of course implementing sounds. The environment would be so much creepier with some dungeon SFX! Again, not criticizing, just mentioning ;)
That might sound weird, but I find the tutorial very well done, too. Impressive what information some little sketches can transport .
AI is simple but works quite surprisingly good. Never thought it would be that hard to keep those little %&/& away from me.

Ok lots of bla, never mind - Nice work all in all!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Shame there's no music, but neat entry nonetheless. :)

cramxd says ...
Sep 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Nice game. On sequel or other game like this, you should debug everything you can, i'm a game developer too and i like to debug bugs, nice game :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]