December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Witch's Weak Point

by Agram - Jam Entry

Our team include :
Agram for coding (first LD)
Jeremy Vitry (Kuru) artists
Grelin artists (first LD)
Shakkam for musics (first LD)

We have searched a lot around the theme of only one weak point, like Achille or Sanson ... but we finished elsewhere.

Try to have fun with our game !

some bugs are corrected :
- Boss that disappear on the right of the creen
- shot rate that didn t come back when switching bozooka and roquette
- more controle : add 'space' and 'c' to shot, and add 'v' to swap. Choose your best config !
- Volume of music is higher

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.72
Coolness62%
#16Audio(Jam)4.04
#30Fun(Jam)3.81
#35Overall(Jam)3.85
#52Mood(Jam)3.71
#175Theme(Jam)3.09
#186Humor(Jam)2.69
#189Innovation(Jam)3.09

Comments

LTPATS says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06am

This was fun! The player / ball switching mechanic was interesting. I really liked the art and music as well!

mtrc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:11am

Wow! Fantastic entry. Utterly incredible art, great music, I really loved the gameplay. Well done!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:45am

Great Game! Really clean!

Some loots bugs sometimes but really low problem, good job! =)

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:38am

Great entry! Lovely graphics and fun mechanics! :)

AshRavenn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:54am

Really fun game! Great music and pretty graphics!

Simple comcept but efficient!!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:56am

The graphics are just amazing. Really clean, really nice. I feel some FFIX inspiration for the enemies-design ?

Great job to the team !

paras238 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Nice Art style!
Neat mechanics. The Ctrl+W shortcut however, was a pain in the butt. The tab kept on closing

Webravenz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Fun game, with pretty graphics !

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23pm

I really loved the cartoony graphics in this game!

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Beautiful art, great soundtrack, and interesting gameplay - the full package! I can't get over how polished this game looks and feels!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Audio in the main menu would help.

The graphics are nice, but as @paras238 said, 'Ctrl + W' means the tab keeps closing (or in my case, 'Command + W' on a Mac).

More playtesting with your web build could prevent a problem like this in the future. :)

Agram says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Sorry for 'Ctrl + W'. Padawan's mistake ... I will try to correct this quickly.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Really cool game - unfortunately it is almost impossible to play on a Mac because of the control key with other letters being shortcuts..

Agram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:12am

some bugs are corrected :
- Boss that disappear on the right of the creen
- shot rate that didn t come back when switching bozooka and roquette
- more controle : add 'space' and 'c' to shot, and add 'v' to swap. Choose your best config !
- Volume of music is higher

I only touchs the bugs, i didn t change anything about gameplay or leveldesign !

vapgames says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:31am

I love shmups. And that's a good one. I was confused until i read the rules, quite original mechanics. Also love the music.

Toureiro says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:38am

One of the best looking games here!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Link just takes me to a white screen on Chrome.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:13pm

All I'm getting is a white screen it's not loading.

Agram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:20pm

I have updated a link on the swf, instead of the index.html ... I have changed that.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:39pm

The game was really fun and cute, but after a few minutes, it lags to the point of being unplayable. Using Chrome on Windows 8.1.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Woah, that was fun! I liked the core mechanic of having to protect the mana ball, and the music and graphics were bang on. The power-ups were pretty cool too.

shakkam says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:58am

Thanks Agram and Jeremy for your invitation to join your team for the music. I really enjoyed :) You worked well, the game is really addictive.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:34pm

The was too laggy for me to fully enjoy it as Jishenaz pointed out. The music and graphics are top notch very professional looking and sounding.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:54pm

As others have stated, your music and audio are outstanding. You have an original and innovative core concept but it has unfortunately resulted in a flawed shooter. Having an invincible player results in gameplay that doesn't require you to be extremely precise in your movement and there is very little need to dodge enemies. This becomes really evident when you get to the boss battle and can just sit in one spot near the left of the screen and hold down the fire button until the health bar is gone.

You added the enemy that slows you down, which works great for keeping the player away from the mana orb. Still, it's not enough to keep the game from being far too easy. The switching mechanic is also kind of strange. Maybe it needs more feedback for the player, and maybe it should be limited or have a cooldown phase so you can't spam it over and over to get the orb out of tough spots so quickly. The player feels REALLY overpowered here.

And I don't want it to seem like I'm being extremely negative about your game. In fact, it's the opposite. I think that your game's aesthetic is wonderful and your characters are very memorable. It would be great for you all to keep working on this because it could be VERY VERY VERY awesome with some tweaks to the core gameplay. This looks like an extremely professional product and it would be a shame to not keep working on this. What you have here is more than just a jam game, it's a start to something much bigger.

Thank you so much for putting your talents together for LD and welcome to the newcomers on your team!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very polishes shooter with nice graphics! Cloud be more difficult, because switchign is not really needed.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Wonderful! I got to the end!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:41pm

So super-polished until the last second! Thank you for making this. I actually like how she's slightly overpowered, she's magical after all. Top marks to everyone!

dudsen says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:12pm

A nice shooter you made there! Some kick-ass music, lovely art (love the face of the witch if you collect a special weapon) and a nice mechanic with the mana ball. Some bugs here and there, but the core and the gameplay feel solid!

anvoz says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Really good gameplay idea. The graphics are just amazing.

I finished the game with 1020 score points. It became quite laggy at the end.

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:35am

Great graphics and animation! A little UI bug (power/speed bars don't come back after restarting a new game for instance).
Very fun to play!

GFM says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:38am

Played for a while but found no boss... and since the gameplay stayed the same for a while, I just quit...

It's a nice game with great music (reminded me of Gundemonium series) and graphics! But it was too repetitive... If only this was taken care of, this would be a great game!!

rosa89n20 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:40pm

very nice graphics and music, but lack of challenge for this type of shooter game. and game crash(just close my browser window) when I just start about 2 min.

somepx says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Hey, epic soundtrack! \m/ A very good entry

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]