December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yuzaro

by kutullu - Jam Entry

Barely finished it. ;)
No music, sadly. Hope everything works alright, it's our very first game. It's not very long, but we hope you will still have at least some fun. :)
Regarding the theme... there is only one mirror? Just kidding. We wanted to set a timer of exactly one minute to finish the game, but now it is us who have no time left to finish. Oh, the irony!

Thanks for trying the game out!

X to jump,
C to attack.
You can double jump and climb walls.


Cheers, Nora & Marcus

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#99Fun(Jam)3.38
#177Humor(Jam)2.72
#184Mood(Jam)3.14
#253Overall(Jam)3.12
#274Graphics(Jam)3.19
#396Audio(Jam)2.28
#436Innovation(Jam)2.35
#456Theme(Jam)2.20

Comments

RhysD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:57am

Fun but VERY frustrating (damn those spikes near the first level end ladder!) I accidentally pressed X the first time I played and skipped the tutorial, so it was a fun time working out the controls. The jumping felt a bit weird also, like variable heights are fine but with a double jump it feels weird.

Great graphics, sound and level design. Awesome job for the time frame :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:02am

+1 for the fun, and +1 for the frustration.
Great job anyway !

kyyrma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:27am

Nice game. The difficulty is just right, considering the length of the game. Took me two tries to get to the end.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:01am

The game is really frustrating... but well, that's the theme for this ludum dare!

It's fun! The graphics are right, is missing some music.

Tanser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Nice game, very fun and I love the graphics. :)

kutullu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Thanks for the feedback! Great to hear that you like the graphics, makes us really proud. :)
I agree that the "feel" of the jumping could use some work, though. Especially the double jump. Anyway, thanks for playing!

Cheers, Marcus

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Nicely done!

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I really like myself a good platformer and this is definitely one of them. Really cool stuff.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I love how you have to double jump in the tutorial to get to the sign that tells you about double jump :P I liked that it had so many elements, wall jumping, double jump, ladders. A little more polish to the controls, would really make this shine!
Good job.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Thus was fun, and difficult. Cool idea and well executed, well done.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Difficult game to get your head round but after a while I got the hang of it :D Visuals were nice as well :)

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:19am

Cool game! But really frustating :X Mechanics were great but as someone said double jump just felt weid! Great job! :D

If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it :)

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:45am

Fun and frustrating little game, i clearly will play with it during a long time to try finishing it!
Thanks for that :)

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:48am

Nice game but jumping seems a little bit imprecise and difficult :P

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:08am

Very funy! Nice graphics!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:07pm

can't play, mac

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Hahaha "By the way, you can double jump" after a jump requiring double jump :D

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:48am

Nice game but it would be great if you include some checkpoints...

Diptoman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:58am

Heh, this was a fun game. The graphics and level design are nice. My only complaint would be the jumping, the character fell down too fast after releasing the jump button.

kutullu says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:02am

Thanks four your feedback and thanks for playing, guys and gals! This is really motivating! :)
Regarding the hilarious double jump signpost: Doh! In earlier builds, Yuzaro could jump a little higher und you didn't need to double jump to cross the first obstacle. Maybe I will just add a winking smily to the text of the sign, making it seem like an intentionally funny thing ;)

@ glovecat
Thanks for your feedback, though I think the game is not very long as it is and I thought that including checkpoints would make it way to easy. In essence, we are compensating for the short playtime with a higher difficulty.

Cheers, Marcus

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Really fun and really hard! Kept me playing quite a while. Great work!

Maple says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Pretty cool. Nice graphics etc. I got passed the guy with spikes above him once and then died on something stupidly easy to avoid, and then I couldn't get passed the guy with spikes above him anymore. Also the jumping felt pretty weird but I got used to that.

Also... A-- Are those guys wearing... underwear?

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:48am

not bad!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]