December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Magnet Chan

by jillytot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Switch polarity to be attracted to either red or blue magnets. Get to the green victory circle to pass the level!

My goal was to make a puzzle game mechanic with a single input to play. There are only 7 levels, but it ramps up pretty fast.

There is a reset button on the bottom right if you get stuck. Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#189Innovation3.42
#201Audio3.11
#220Mood3.21
#291Fun3.19
#319Overall3.23
#376Graphics3.16
#507Humor2.23
#716Theme2.48

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:23am

Pretty cool. short, but nice. good job!

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:23am

Cool idea, great execution, nice mood. A little short with not so many mechanics.

gman1012 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

This Is A Wonderful Entry. Good Job.

Cezel_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

Nice, that was really fun to play!

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:25am

Very cool concept and nice level design. The controls were a little wonky... or maybe it's just weird that they only work in perpendicular directions.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26am

Nice idea. Don't want to stop yet, need more levels :) Would be nice to see the range that you will be attracted in.

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37am

The music & graphics set up the mood really nicely, and the gameplay is fun. I wish it was more clear which magnet you'd be attracted to when there are a lot of them out there, but I beat the whole game and enjoyed it. Cute character art too!

haveric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17am

Interesting mechanic, it has a lot of potential, but it did feel a bit short.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18am

Short but sweet, nice work on a very interesting concept. I hope you'll add more levels and variety after the compo. Great job!

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18am

A bit confusing, I don't see how this matches up with the theme really other than "You only get one button" I think you could turn this into a great puzzle game!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19am

Very unique and fun. It would look better if you could turn of the grid.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:28am

Short but sweet, great start to what could be an interesting puzzle game. Cute too

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06am

Pretty short and simple but well put together and enjoyable. Good job!

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:30am

Too short :) I want more. This was a lot of fun. Would make a great mobile game in my opinion. I like one-touch timing based games. Very good.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43am

Interesting mechanic. nice work.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:50am

Too short, would have love more levels, but enjoyable :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:01am

Short I wanted more this is good please do have more :D

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:12am

Cute little magnet you have there...
Nice puzzle mechanic, would be interesting with some other obstacles (if you had the time to make them)

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Nice idea, more stages will be better!

Rahazan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Really short, but a nice job!

VAMflax says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Wow, cool! :D

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:26pm

The idea is very good and also the gameplay, a little short though.

Sakuyan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Magnetchan2moe

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53pm

too short, I wanted more!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40pm

I'm not too sure how this connects to the theme, but it's a brilliant game nonetheless!
I don't think I've seen a game quite like it :D
The graphics are simple, and the gameplay is clean. Very nice :)

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Short, but good. Solid core mechanic with stylish visuals and sweet music, I like it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Cool ! Nice job ! I hope you will add more levels !

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Hey interesting concept, nice !

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Too shooort! I want to have more leveeels! <3

drewfitz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Very nice concept! I'd love to see this fleshed out into a full release! Also Magnet-chan's character design is adorable.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Nice puzzle mechanic. :) Would have loved to play more levels. Great job!

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Cool concept and good level design :)

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Wow thanks all yall for all the cool comments. Yea i wish i could have made more levels. Anyway, as appreciation, i made yall a thank you card: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/category/ld-28/?author_name=jillytot

Tonasz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:40pm

I started getting into this mechanism (one touch timing game - like) and then it suddenly ends. :c Congratulation on creating really cool mood :)

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Was really fun, just starting to really get into it then it ended.

squibbons says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Super short, but cool concept. I could see some really interesting puzzles being based around this idea.

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:55am

Fun game, the concept has potential. Good work.

Zhrack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Short but nice! Very well done!

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Not bad. The controls were a little loose, and I got stuck a few times, but managed to play it to completion. Main character was adorable.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:44am

Wait... I've just started the game! Oo More levels!

mrjordan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:19am

Short, sweet, and to the point. Great demonstration of a neat mechanic. :) I'd love to see it developed further!

And how great is that Magnet-chan character? ^_^

TeamRoboto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Fun concept. :) Cleared it pretty quickly. It was fun while it lasted. :)

recursor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:50am

Source code is required for compo entries, but I don't see a link to it anywhere.

jillytot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:24am

Thanks for the tip, source is now included.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Love the character, and nice idea with the one push input style. It took a while to figure out the magnets lost their pull once you left them, maybe if they turned grey or something? Could definitely play more levels. Great work!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Whisical, upbeat, pretty, meditative .. I really enjoyed this game! It could have been too difficult to be enjoyable but actually it was pitched just right, and the character is soooo cute! Over too soon :(

Masadow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Very cool ! More levels would have been really good !

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:30am

Neat gameplay mechanic. I wish there was some sort of visual display showing what your current polarity is.

ehtd says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:00am

Very interesting, too bad it was very short.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Thanks for sharing this at the meetup. It's a very cute game.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:55am

I could finish it. As others says, good level design of using this mechanic. Good work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]