December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Keyboard Crasher 2.5D

by takemikazuchi545 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First game! Great Time! Submitting at less than five minutes left!!

EDIT: Whew, I'm glad we can edit our submission notes... and that we have a submission hour!(should've read the rules more carefully) Anyways, this is my game. You, the teal cube, must avoid the enemy cubes and get to the victory cube. The game is isometric. You only have one moment to move, or else the game moves for you. In other words, every moment in the game, you have to repeatedly press the key of the direction you want to move in. You'll understand when you play it. Oh, and no holding down the arrow keys either. Let's just say right now, after the past day of rapid coding and testing this, my fingers are so tired, there's no way I could beat it. I have made sure it is technically beatable though.

If you find the game frustrating(as I do) and want to "save" your progress, you can modify the level_1.png file under "lib/levels/". Simply move the red pixel to the last place you were at.

The game is coded in Ruby with the Gosu game programming library and the chunky_png library for reading level data from png files.

I'll see what my options are for distributing mac and linux binaries and add them later. If you have ruby installed(1.8.7 might work but 1.9.3 is recommended) you can download the source and run it in place of LD28Takemikazuchi545.exe

Note: Edited Start_screen.png during submission hour to include instructions to press escape to start game.
Note2: Edited the lose_screen.png to have clearer instructions on what to do(text: "Protip: Maintain your direction by repeatedly pressing the directional keys". I believe this falls under the "typo bug" exemption as it doesn't change any features.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1545Coolness24%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52am

I forgot to mention, You can also use E to zoom in and Q to zoom out as well.

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:41am

Pretty neat idea, and a clever (and original) integration of the theme. Game looks pretty cool too!

Too bad I'm terrible at it :(

I'll keep trying though!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:26pm

That's a quite interesting execution! :D

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:01pm

I've said it before, but a game about awkward controls is no excuse for awkward controls.

The fundamental idea behind this (=player's input gets processed) could've been implemented better in a puzzle sort of way, with some predictability or a way to influence the processing. You'd probably end up making a turn-based game in that case. Right now it's just unplayable.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Nice engine, I like the isometric view.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:59am

Hi Jiggawatt,

It's not necessarily about awkward controls, it's more about maintaining a constant rate of input. If you can get around 5 keystrokes a second you can maintain your direction pretty easily. The rest is just reading the enemy paths properly. Is it badly balanced? Yes. Is the control gimmick flawed? Definitely. And the sloppy level design doesn't help. I wouldn't say it's completely unplayable for a lot of people though. I like your idea about making it more puzzle based though. I don't think I'll revisit this concept, but if I do I'll keep that in mind.

occash says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Oh, it's so hard to control the cube! Overall the idea-is good!

goerp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Ok, that was a good idea, but playing it, was too annoying.
Maybe that is because I lose because the computer moves my character, it doesn't feel as if I'm the problem, it feels like the computer is the problem.

Maybe if there is more time between the computer moves so you can think about the right strategy and computer opponents that move in more predictable ways, would make the game feel less like a random loss.

But I certainly like the way the game looks.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Maybe you have a different keyboard, but it was not comfortable to play it. I like the art style though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]