December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One vs. Legion

by Piscythe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Captain,
You have been chosen to lead an assault on the enemy fleet.
Unfortunately, we can only spare you one battleship.
Also, due to budget cuts we have wired all the guns and the shield projector to one targeting system.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
-High Command

Instructions:
Mouse to aim.
Click and hold to shield.
P to pause.

Tips:
*Your shield protects an area around your mouse - use it to block attacks from larger enemies. Or get the shield size upgrades to cover a massive area.
*Armor upgrades can massively reduce the damage from smaller bullets.

Tools Used:
FlashDevelop
Inkscape
LMMS
BFXR
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#396Theme3.09
#507Innovation2.91
#521Humor2.19
#531Audio2.43
#626Mood2.58
#651Graphics2.63
#653Fun2.65
#766Overall2.67
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

Hard to hit enemy ships.

lucars83 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47am

Leading the target was very hard

notajetski says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

wasn't really sure that my shield was working...click and hold for shield right? didn't seem to have any effect. I like the background!

Jago says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11am

Nice little game! I also found it very hard to hit enemy ships. But I still ended up playing much longer than I initially was supposed to and I had fun! =)

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35am

Cool game, just hard to hit the ships!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40am

Hey i like the mechanic. It was pretty challenging.

PapaGrimbles says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50am

Really like the idea of the 'point defense shield', nice work. I couldn't figure out the optimum attack angle, so it pretty much came down to eating bullets to attack.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Challenging. Not really my style of games I like, but nice.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Concept was good. The music was really load though even when I had the volume on the lowest setting and the music was really quite annoying and random. Gets difficult really quickly but the graphics are colourful and the bullets and enemies are easy to see.

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27pm

The point shield is a neat mechanic! I had a hard time killing enemies though. It seems like the velocity of the players bullets could be faster so you could lead shots on the enemies.

scottrick says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33pm

this game is awesome!

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01pm

The idea has me sold but having to target enemy fire made it difficult to also lead your shots and hit the enemy ships. Having a wider shield, acting in an arc around the player at a fixed difference might be a nice solution to this.
I found I was just holding down the shield button the whole time, there didn't seem to be a penalty for this. Making the shield also on and using the button to time your shots might work well.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Good game very cool visuals. Could have done with one or two more upgrades on weapons to give an 'edge' on the final boss but overall played this for nearly 2hrs lol. 5 stars

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:50am

Great idea, uses the theme in an interesting way. Like other people have said, the bullets move so slowly that it's tough to hit ships. I ended up just putting points into missiles and shields, which worked pretty well. I wish there were some lasers or railgun or something.

triforcespark says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:29am

Great and innovative gameplay mechanics (powerups, targeted shielding), but the music is quite bad.

stvr says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:40pm

It's very difficult to control, as others have noted. I always ended up with my mouse just following enemy ships, or protecting my ship directly. However, the concept is very unique, and the upgrade system adds replayability, so this could have some real potential with some tweaking!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:43pm

interesting defence mechanic but not executed well enough.

enemy keeps shooting for a while even if they are off screen. There is only ~10% chance that your bullet will successfully hit the target. Based on my observations, I think enemy bullets are moving faster than the player's bullets.

I think it'll be fun if the player can click and drag the mouse that creates a temporary shield of fixed size. This will block the enemy bullets from one side and the player can concentrate taking out the enemies on the other side. And the combination of all this.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]