December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Juggle

by Wekaj - 48 Hour Compo Entry

INFORMATION
-----------
-If the game crashes at the level selection, try enabling Windows Media Player at "Control Panel \ Programs \ Programs and Features \ Turn windows features on or off \ Media Features \ Windows Media Player"
-If you download the ClickOnce version, extract the .zip!
-----------

In Juggle, you only get one platform to guide your character through each level. You have to control both of them at the same time using the keyboard.

Controls:

~ You control your character with the arrow keys, jumping with the up arrow key/space bar and falling quicker with the down arrow key.

~ The platform can be controlled using the WASD keys.

Have fun!

Tools:
-Microsoft Visual C# 2010 Express
-http://www.abundant-music.com/
-sfxr
-Paint.NET

(Written in C# using XNA)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#276Audio2.94
#339Fun3.10
#420Overall3.10
#488Innovation2.94
#559Mood2.67
#674Graphics2.58
#693Humor1.81
#771Theme2.39

Comments

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29am

Wow, I am not good at this. :D

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38am

great soundtrack and a really good platformer! good work!

Phyyl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39am

I couldn't run the game because XNA redist was not installed on my computer but once installed,I really liked it! nice concept, maybe a bit hard from the beginning, but I'd keep it on my computer for spare times!

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11am

Tough game! Had a good time. Great music, little mans and platform control well. Kinda roundabout when it comes to fitting the theme :)

pkenney says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

Couldn't play, I downloaded the link, ran the exe but nothing happened. Task-killed and retried a few more times but no luck, sorry.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:06am

The keeping your platform afloat was a really neat mechanic. Damn this game is hard though.

Brodenino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14am

I'm having some issues. I downloaded the .zip version, and I manage to run the submission. However, whenever I select a world (any of the three worlds) then game crashes. Any ideas what might be wrong there?

Wekaj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26am

I am not too sure about why the game would be crashing when you select a level, have you tried both versions of the game? I'm not very experienced with XNA or C# yet, sorry :(. Thank you for the feedback, everyone!

Kikkers says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:42am

This game is evil. I had fun! I would've liked it better if the sideways blocks wouldn't outright kill you, just push you off. Imagine the jumping madness...

Brodenino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:49am

Yeah, I tried the installer too, same issue there :|
Is there any specific version of .NET or XNA that I need? I recall having it installed, but maybe it is as simple as a version mismatch.

Wekaj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:04am

Apparently the ClickOnce version should install the required versions of .NET and XNA if you run the setup.exe. Have you extracted the .zip containing the setup.exe and Juggle.application before running them? If so, I honestly don't have a clue, sorry :(.

Brodenino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:48am

Yeah. Since you attached the pdb-file, I did try to debug the application. It gave me "InvalidOperationUnhandled" and "Song playback failed", and it shows the issue is in "Juggler.Game1.StartGame()". By the way, I have Windows 8. Maybe that is causing some issues?

Wekaj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:03am

I had a look around for similar issues and it could be that you don't have Windows Media Player enabled?

"Control Panel \ Programs \ Programs and Features \ Turn windows features on or off \ Media Features \ Windows Media Player"

Brodenino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:44am

You're right! That's very interesting. I'm able to run it now after turning that feature on again:)

Pantzar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15pm

My poor brain couldn’t handle moving two different things with separate hands. So I ended up only moving the platform.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:11am

Nice work! It's really hard, I like it :)

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:06am

Nice concept. I have played a few "You only get one platform" and I think this is the best one.

udinjelek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:00am

I couldnt play this game :( , I'm using win 7 with 64bit. any issue with it? :(

Wekaj says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:10am

What happened when you tried to run the game, and which version/s of it did you try?

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:24am

No note because i can not play with it, the game crash at the difficulty selection :(
But the game idea is interesting and the screenshots look nice! I hope to see at least a video review before the end of the votes!

Wekaj says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:45am

Someone above had the same issue, and enabling Windows Media Player fixed it:

"Control Panel \ Programs \ Programs and Features \ Turn windows features on or off \ Media Features \ Windows Media Player"

Hopefully that works :)!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:40pm

A good plateformer (48 Hour Entry, wow !). Nice job !

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Work better at home!
Really nice (and hard) game, i love it! even if i am not good at all, but i will try again :D

Mirroar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Pretty fun, but also pretty difficult, I think it could use a somewhat slower start to get you used to it, maybe an easy level to beat to get the player's spitit up befor throwing him/her into the nightmare ;)
I kept thinking to myself: "Just one more try, I should be able to do this!"
Longest time I've been able to go was 85 seconds on the first level.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:01am

This is fiendishly difficult, given how disorienting it is to have to coordinate two objects with eight keys. An interesting platforming mechanic, though.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Funnily, I actually found insanity reasonably straightforward compared to the other two, just because I have less to worry about. On the other two modes I was mostly just moving my platform and not my man.

Really fun game, I love multitasking games.

Nice one.

Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Woah.. too much for my brain. I kept confusing WASD and the arrow keys and ended up falling from the platform without any actual danger.
Nice entry overall, quite innovative gameplay and I like what you did with the three different levels. The menu was kind of cool as well.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]