December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Robogenesis

by JavadocMD - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It is a grim future - constant wars have reduced civilization to heaps of rubble, and survivors must sift through the wreckage to survive.

You are a Robogenitor. Tasked with creating the battle bots that, if you're lucky, will hold the enemy off for one more day.

But Battle CPUs are precious and you can send only one creation into battle. Your people are depending on you. Perhaps -- amongst the ashes -- you will find the humanity we've nearly lost.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#277Graphics3.37
#314Mood3.03
#462Humor2.31
#469Audio2.57
#584Innovation2.78
#633Overall2.83
#649Fun2.66
#805Theme2.30

Comments

Kikkers says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17am

I enjoyed it, it has some nice attention to detail.

Though I felt that the revealing mechanic was a bit clumsy, I kept clicking on the rocks too fast.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:20am

Nice idea and rather cute, especially that final shot :)

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34am

Neat idea for a game, though its hold on the theme is tenuous. (Same of my game, with the theme. Just sayin'.) I enjoyed it. The animation of the conveyor belts was disorienting, though, since the wheels didn't turn.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:03am

Great game! Worked well and looked good :)

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17am

Nice art! I liked the story, too. Gameplay reminds me of the tile-matching levels in Plants Vs Zombies.

Sylence says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:07am

Really cute game and nice graphics :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:15am

Nice game although I don't really like the art. As you can see, it's a matter of opinion.

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Interesting concept. It was something you don't see often. I liked the look of the game and it's well made. The only criticisms I can give is that it's very short and very easy. Otherwise, well done

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:22pm

A memory game with moving pieces. Definitely something new to me. I also like the graphical design a lot :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Oooooh very nice. Adding speed to the memory game is neat, but there is something missing. At a certain point it just turned into a frantic click-a-thon because I knew that if I revealed a tread-set I had desperate little time to find another. This kind of detracts from the "memory" aspect.

Loved the theme, and I'll have you know that at the end when the game prompted me with "click to send your creation to war", I closed the window and ended the game. My and my robot creation are off on some crazy adventure right now!

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Good job!

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:50pm

What an ending!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:56pm

It's little too short, but nicely done.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:01am

Nice simple and easy to play game. I really like the art style though. Definitely made me want to try it out.

kbake says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:06am

Really clean graphics and I liked the introduction! Also, the ending caught me off guard, nicely done!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:38am

I really liked the idea. There was something off with the controls that made it a bit weird at times, but all in all a very good game. I loved the last shot, very nice detail!

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:40am

Very well finished game. Loved the arts and sounds. I didn't like that I couldn't click faster.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:46pm

At first I thought that when it ends that the game has crashed, then, reading the comments I understood that the game had finished.
The graphics are charming.

rmans says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I thought the story was very cute and surprisingly emotional! I think it used the theme of the contest exceptionally well as a story element, rather than a game mechanic. When stated at the beginning of the game that you only get one battle CPU, the task at hand seems trivial, like any other mindless job, but within the short span of the game, after you complete your creation and he reacts to your work, that previously trivial battle CPU has turned into the single most valuable object to the player complete with a beautiful yet fleeting emotional attachment. Why else would everyone be talking about NOT sending him off to battle in the comments? While I thought the art was cute and the game play straight-forward, the story and surprising emotional development in a short time is what truly shines in this game.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:14am

Neat little game. No real challenge, but it was a cute story.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:34am

An interesting play on a simple concept. Side note - You misspelled "treads."

netmute says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Loved the style, very polished overall. I felt sorry for the little robot guy in the end :/

The delay after I revealed 2 tiles was a bit annoying. I felt like I could have gone a lot faster, but the game won't let me.

ViliX says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:42pm

I like the way you made it with Java

syl says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:20am

Great !

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:23pm

the delay between clicking on two parts was rather awkward. Audio was good. I'm glad you got some setting in even though it felt a bit stilted. Mood points!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]