December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

[You only get one enemy] (Version 0.000001)

by SarmagophilisStudios - Jam Entry

*********FOR THE LOVE OF GOD TURN THE VOLUME DOWN****************

Ok...So this was my first Ludum Dare (definitely not my last, I had a lot of fun). Now, before someone plays this terrible abomination, I must explain some things haha...
This game was going to be "You only get one enemy" the catch was that each time you played the game he had a different weakness and you had to run around this test facility to see what hurt him. I made a lot of mistakes, mainly due to making too ambitious of a project, getting heavily distracted, and learning tools the day of.

You know what, though? I turned something in...


What worked?
>Random Weaknesses are chosen at each start (I only enabled rubber)
>AI Pathfinding
>Audio Syncing
>Buttons that work on multiple events
What didn't work?
>He would glitch out when walking.
>No model.
>One level (The test level)
>Didn't include half the things I wanted included.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#425Audio(Jam)2.07
#428Theme(Jam)2.29
#475Innovation(Jam)2.24
#516Graphics(Jam)1.94
#522Fun(Jam)1.87
#552Overall(Jam)1.71
#1379Coolness35%

Comments

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45am

That screaming when he hit the rubber was scary... o.o
Well, the stuff that worked certainly worked. This was my first Ludum Dare too, and I didn't have time to do some of the features I wanted. :(
The idea, however, was very good and I will give you a good score in that department.

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:45am

"(Version 0.000001)" Hahahahahahaha

Therrato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Okay, you actually scared me, didn't see that coming. To bad that there was no real goal, atleast not that i noticed. but still good job

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:38pm

The sound effects made me jump in fright....

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:06am

The noise when he's hurt with the phasing - aaaaaauuugh, scared the hell out of me as I'd turned the volume right up to hear what the quiet thudding noise was.

floorman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:29am

That screaming...good lord.

I stopped playing after that. Sorry, but you sort of frightened me away from playing it.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:07am

Seems like Ludum Dare attracts more and more people.
And they keep impressing.. Very nice first entry!

Zephyr89 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Why? Just why? Where do these people get their scream fx.

glovecat says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:24pm

That scream scared me :D

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:51am

Wow... the screaming!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:09pm

The screaming was really scarry. I included this game in part 8 of my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/JK9Dz3oR_Xs

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Dat. Scream.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:35am

Haha Guys I'm so sorry for the scream! My teammate put it there and made me keep it lol

atombrot says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

it's creepy.. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]