December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Rose in the Rain

by Brian Mayberry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move with WADS or Arrow Keys

Spacebar to interact

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#39Mood3.82
#117Audio3.35
#180Theme3.48
#274Graphics3.38
#694Innovation2.59
#769Humor1.48
#788Overall2.64
#973Fun1.87

Comments

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56pm

:(

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Unfortunately, I don't really get it (unless that's kind of the point?). What I can say though is that I do like the art style, sound and atmosphere. Unique and somewhat mesmerizing.

nerial says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Interesting atmosphere with quite an excellent treatment of the theme.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:05pm

I liked the graphics and it was a good use of the theme, although it's a bit too artistic for me... I didn't really get the point. Maybe you could give some hints as to the actual goal in the game?

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:31am

Had amazing atmosphere, but otherwise...

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:55am

This has probably made me think more than any other entry so far, well done. I really enjoyed how you did the rain, especially as it hits the ground or the umbrella. Also, I liked your take on the theme: it's left kind of open-ended. Obviously it takes place in a graveyard and could pertain to losing someone close to you, but I think it can also be applied to lots of situations like the death of an idea, some kind of failure, a part of your life, etc. Anyways, good job!

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:25am

Very simple but effective, not sure why a wet rose made me feel sorry for the guy, but it worked.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:47am

It's interesting. I don't know what you are supposed to do besides hold the umbrella and plant the rose at the grave, but it's great mood and eye candy!

Halfire120 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Lovely entry! Nice Graphics and a great way to treat the theme. Would have preferred a little more to do, but otherwise fantastic :)

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Very poignant. And pretty :)

I'll be honest, I don't get the connection of the rain to a "health" bar. But I found it very enjoyable to stand there and watch and listen to the raindrops tap on the umbrella.

miwuc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:46pm

When it ended it made me say "ohhh" aloud. So sad but I love it. Awesome treatment of the theme.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Left me dejected at the end. Very good use of the theme.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:06pm

I liked the sound and art style - not really sure what the aim was though.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Interesting game.

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Pretty good atmosphere but the gameplay was definitely lacking.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Amazing how you were able to convey such a strong message with so little. Excellent interpretation of the theme, thoroughly enjoyed this :D

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:28am

I was confused the first few times I tried playing it, but once I figured it out what you were supposed to do, I was really, really impressed with it. Nice concept. I felt compelled to hold on for as long as I could.
Actually showing the rose wilt might've helped tell the story better, but otherwise, nice work!

ittlebit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Very meditative. I thinks it a unique approach. Asking you to to do one thing that require little "action" but more patience and will.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:53am

Great art, audio and mood. I didn't really understand the umbrella and it's purpose? I liked getting the rose and putting it on the grave. Nice 48hr effort and if it gives people things to think about, that's great.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Really nice graphics, enjoyed this game loads. I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/iZspNc9Kmjk

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:57am

Maybe a bit too artistic for my mind to completely grasp but a good sense of atmosphere all the same.

dudsen says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:09pm

If there was no audio, I probably wouldn't mind playing this more than 10 seconds. But with the sounds you provided it is, well, not fun, but... it works. I don't know what it is, but it gets to me. I found the rain audio very supporting for the mood. Raindrops sounded rather realistic, while the thunder is more like chip generated.

After i dropped the rose I literally stood there for 2 minutes, listening to the sounds. Felt like I was outside :)

Not quite the definition of fun, but a lot of atmosphere/mood in there.

LTPATS says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:00am

I liked it! Short and to the point, it seemed to really do well in capturing a brief moment in time. It allows a lot of questions to be asked about the character and what led up to the moment the game takes place in.

Probably one of the first times I've seen rain being used as a core mechanic (especially cool after reading about how it came to be in your post-mortem).

Good atmosphere and the length seemed perfect for what it was trying to accomplish!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]