December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monochrome

by anapff - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For my first ever Ludum Dare, I present Monochrome: a platformer where your world changes as you can only see and be in only one color at a time.

It was created in as3 with Flashpunk in FlashDevelop, and for content creation I used Ogmo Editor for levels, Inkscape and Photoshop for graphics, and sfxr and GarageBand for sound.

-
Edit: Replaced Web link to play on browser.
Thanks guys for your feedback and nice comments, there's lots of good ideas to improve the game! :D

The getting stuck inside blocks was intentional (not on corners, sorry about those), I wanted the game to have that memorization side, associated with jump timings, maybe should have made it more obvious there, sorry.

You guys are totally right about there being a preview on the next color blocks, and I'll probably do that to improve it when I get the chance to continue to work on this after the compo!

Thanks again, hope you enjoyed Monochrome <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#189Innovation3.42
#196Audio3.13
#324Theme3.19
#464Mood2.81
#523Graphics2.88
#528Humor2.17
#554Overall2.95
#653Fun2.65

Comments

eskivor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05am

The game is easy to understand but very difficult to play, I didn't succes to go to the forth coloured bloc. It could be a better game with feedbacks of where the next bloc will be exactly. The music and the avatar are cool.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17am

This is amazing, The gravity could have been a little lower so I had time to reach the next platform but the ideas and concept is outstanding.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48am

great job with this, i really like the concept!

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02am

Really solid game, and love the concept. (It's really hard!)

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:48am

I enjoyed playing! It was a relaxing environment despite the difficulty. My only concern is that I would get stuck on the walls if I happened to be at a ledge or block as the color changed. It wasn't a big deal but it did slow me down. Overall though, great job!

Suese says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:12am

The difficulty curve is a bit too high. There isn't really much indication what the next move is, so I found it came down to rote memorization. The colours were nice.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:25am

Pretty nice, though rather difficult for reasons mentioned already.

Mostly that some feedback on where the next color blocks would help a great deal, and the physics need a little tweaking.

Also the spikes seem very unforgiving with regards to how close you can get to them before dying.

I like the background music a lot.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:01am

Excellent concept - gameplay should be polished a little, still great fun! Player can get stuck during color 'transmutations' tho! ;)

granut100 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:40am

Good idea! My player moved a little to fast and got stuck in blocks occasionally.

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:08pm

cool game.

skarab says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04pm

I like the concept, well done!

xrm0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05pm

A bit difficult, nice graphics.

Cthulhu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Cool idea but it was really hard to play. Maybe enabling the collision (but still disabling rendering) for the other colors could help? good job

scottrick says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Quite a good idea, but as others have said, very difficult

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Cute art. The idea was fairly interesting but the floatiness of the controls made it very difficult to execute on. Awesome job for your first LD!

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Nice interpretation of the theme. The platforming physics felt a little over-responsive, though - and the character had a tendency to keep moving when jumping, even if you'd taken your finger off the arrow key.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Nice game, a little bit hard, but I enjoyed.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Nice game and concept! It was really hard, since the game is not very forgiving. ;) I frequently got stuck inside the walls. An indication where the next blocks will be would help a lot. Good work though!

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Interesting use of theme, only problem was getting stuck in walls when it changed.

murilo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:53pm

The gameplay is ok but kind of hard. Also the player takes too long to stop when jumping forward. The graphics and music are nice!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:21am

Love the concept and the player art. Maybe some fade effect for the next colour in an 'easy' mode would be cool. I was too slow to get three platforms high. :p

syawqy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:04am

nice one, i found the 1-0.1 seconds made me panic, LOL.
IMO better not use 0.x seconds,
btw the audio fit well. great..

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:28am

I like the concept, but i was blocked when the color changed!

An amelioration could be show in transparency the hidden block :)

However, funny game and good job!!

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:13pm

I agree, this is very easy to understand and very difficult to play. It would be great if you could continue standing on a block through the color changes so you don't need to be midair on your way to a block you can't see when it changes. As is, it's more a game of memory. I also was able to get stuck (temporarily) within a platform. The music was nice. I'd also suggest making it more like a rhythm game so that the color swap can be anticipated a bit more easily (like the music beat levels in New Super Mario World).

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:41pm

The idea is good, but still needs polish.

crazyrems says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:37am

It's a cool entry, needs good polish. I can't really handle the jump physics which is far too slow compared to the run speed.

SK16Games says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Very nice concept, good sounds and graphics, but it made me ragequit D:< Very good game, overall :D

cappelnord says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Awesome job for your first entry! I really liked the color changing mechanic. The controls were a little bit too sensitive for my taste. Also, the second level was not very engaging.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]