December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bullet Spy

by HellBlazer - Jam Entry

Here is my first attempt at a game jam. You play the role of a spy who infiltrates a building, and he needs to steal documents and get out within one minute. He has a gun, but only one bullet, so use it well. Why would he bring only one bullet, you ask? Well... I'm sure it seemed like a good idea at the time.

WASD/arrows: Move
Space/Mouse 1: Shoot
Alt+F4: Quit ;)

It's a very short game, only three levels. The AI is also admittedly pretty dumb - I had a lot of trouble with the pathfinding. Hopefully I can do better next time.

There was supposed to be music too, but something came up with my composer friend, so the game will have to remain (mostly) silent.

Some freeware assets used (I am worthless at art):
Character sprites from Tokka: http://bekeen.de/
Clock font from Style-7: http://www.fontspace.com/style-7
Triangle font from Malwin Bela Hurkey: http://www.behance.net/malwinbelahuerkey

EDIT: I added OSX and Linux versions built by Unity, by they're untested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#186Theme(Jam)3.07
#233Fun(Jam)2.96
#253Overall(Jam)3.12
#388Innovation(Jam)2.52
#411Humor(Jam)1.78
#415Mood(Jam)2.46
#446Graphics(Jam)2.52
#452Audio(Jam)1.75

Comments

Ghost Pixels says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:00am

Nice work! I like that it gets challenging very quickly. No pity for the impatient players. :)

popogames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:55am

Oh man, avoiding those guards is intense! That one bullet really counts.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:58am

Good idea nice gameplay :D

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02am

Was unable to shoot the last guard with my one bullet.

The text saying 'find all documents' runs by too quickly.

I found the AI to move at a good pace.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:59am

Wow this game was actually unexpectedly challenging. I enjoyed it. Good work on the character art. If you go back to the game try updating the wall and floor art. Obviously you have the talent to do so.

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51pm

AI is nicely done in this one. Kudos to the programmer. ^^

crazyrems says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:03pm

It's a good entry, no need to talk about its accomplishment.
Well done, but really needs more graphics and sounds.
Three levels really isn't enough (I only did one more for my game)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Como ya imaginarás me ha encantado tu juego y también como has resuelto la IA de los guardias,¡muy buen trabajo!

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:30am

Thanks for the kind words everyone. :)

@JaymeeMak What do you mean, unable to shoot? One thing that can be confusing is that the bullet is shot in the direction your character sprite is currently facing, which is not necessarily the direction you're going since it takes a bit of time for him to rotate.

@MrTedders Ugh, I'm very sorry to spoil the praise, but as noted in my game description, the characters are actually freeware sprites that I used. I didn't make them myself. :( I probably should have made that clearer? Don't give me a good rating on graphics guys... unless you really like my spinning briefcases. :)

Dooleus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:26am

Didn't understand that I could shoot on the second level after having tried (and failed) on the first - had to come back to read the controls.

The difficulty curve is a little high - would be nice to have more levels gradually increasing the challenge.

Tomski says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:29am

Had lots of fun making the ai chase me around and around :P Nice game!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:32am

very cool.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:38am

Wow, this one is a good one bullet game :)
Nice game!

bsowers says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Pretty challenging game - requires a lot of careful movement and usually a fair bit of trial/error.

Wasn't thrilled with the turn speed. I ended up missing my targets a lot because I was busy turning.

Overall, not too shabby.

_zulli says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:10am

Nice gameplay! Very challenging and cool! :D
Great job! :)

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:57am

Very interesting one-bullet game. I like that it requires some sneaking around.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Great work ! Very challenging, especially considering the fact that going back on your steps is not an option.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]