December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGOB

by sprawl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This jam was my first time using Unity.
Having to learn how to use the software and c# was definitely a challenge. I lost a lot of time and my code was horrible at the end. However, It allowed me to learn a lot about Unity in a very fun and quick way.

I really wasn't confident I could learn Unity AND have a finished game at the end, so I decided to go for a simple game. With the theme, I decided to go with "You only got one Button".

I didn't want to make just a runner game so I decided to make some kind of rpg where you basically press a button to activate the events.

The main problem with the game (except that it's not intuitive since there's no instructions at all) is that too much is left to luck in the game. I wanted to add some features to fix that but as expected, I lacked the time.

Thank you if you take your time to play the game.
Music was made with Abundant-music.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#331Innovation3.15
#451Theme2.97
#505Audio2.50
#693Humor1.81
#817Mood2.26
#824Fun2.36
#908Overall2.44
#937Graphics1.90

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

interesting concept! got 1160 first try. nice job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

This game could use better explanation of mechanics.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

Simple but nice.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58am

Don't take this the wrong way, but with some better art and some animations this could have been a really great game. I though it was just going to be fighting, but the timed purchases and inn visits worked pretty well.

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:03am

At start it was quite weird and I didn't get it, but when I did, it became quite fun, actually. I got about 900 points I think.

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:00am

This is a clever idea that was a bit confusing to start with but then became clearer. I like the simplicity of a Yes/No response to every event. The upcoming event text should be larger and more prominent and the stats display is also a bit small. A good fun game when you get into it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:09am

Wording could be condensed on the events, i.e. " -X HP, +Y Gold" otherwise an interesting concept. Not super exciting in its current iteration, seems a bit slow paced.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Clever, love the concept. Art and sound were basic, but it was an interestingly cookie-clicker esque slip into flow.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Simple but interesting. It was fun for a short period of time, then it got boring quite fast due to the lack of content. Furthermore I think you did a great job as it was your first time using Unity.. *applauds* Good job on that man!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36am

Hmmm, haha, a little confusing to start out. And perhaps not the most dynamic game in the lot, but it kept my attention longer than most. Great music!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38am

Given that there is only one input, there could be some consequence on clicking during certain parts, or benefits for clicking earlier/later on others. Overall a decent game, good job!

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:39am

Concept is very good ! UI design is not so good, I didn't get the point of the game at the beginning. You should consider placing the event text in the middle of the screen with a decreasing bar to see how much time left you have to decide ! The game would be awesome then !

clearlyspam23 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:14am

It's already been said, but I feel adding animations would have really made this game. Still a fun experience though.

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I just sat there left clicking and things just happened... lol.. But overall, could be a good game if you keep on working on it! ;)

kbake says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:22am

Considering you had to learn not only Unity but also C#, this was nice! With a little more work and polish, I think it'd be very interesting to play. Well done!

johnfn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:26am

Nice job! The gameplay is currently quite linear, but with a few twists (shops perhaps?) it could be really good. I already like the take on the theme.

Berzee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:26am

I had lots of fun with this. It's a good blend of stat balancing and blind guessing / luck-pushing. Here's hoping I see more one-button games revolving around life-or-death impulse purchases, in the future. :D

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:46am

Haha nice, I love the idea of a one-button rpg!

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:01am

The event information should have been in an easier place to read; I found I had to split my vision from reading to the view, which kept me confused for a short bit. Nice idea for a one-button game!

larb says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I like it. Good use of the theme. Nice entry.

x70x says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:52pm

The way the game is presented made it difficult for me to understand what I was doing. Interesting idea that could use a bit of polish.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:37pm

It will be interesting to see where you take this once you master Unity.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Only 985, but I love easy-to-play game :)
5/5 for fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]