December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pilot's Last Stand

by phi6 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I created this game for LD because I absolutely love the old Wing Commander series, and also I wanted to get more experience in low poly 3D modelling (I'm a programmer!)

In Pilot's Last Stand, you control a fighter on a mission to destroy a hostile mothership. You only get one cruise missile for the job, and the mothership cannot be damaged by lasers alone.

The twist is that you must traverse through a dense asteroid belt before you are able to reach your target. Crashing into an asteroid will cause your ship to spin out of control. By the time you get out of the cluster, you will be struggling to re-orient yourself in order to get a clear shot at the mothership.

Technically, the game uses full Newtonian physics, so you are able to rotate the ship independently of its movement. However in this case I've kept it casual, the ship's velocity is fixed so the focus is on aiming and timing that perfectly executed shot at the end.

To be honest I'm not 100% sold on the gameplay, but I did enjoy creating a game with as much production value as possible in the 48 hours.

Apart from the voice acting, everything I did solo, including the art and code.

Voice acting credits:
Kathryn MacColl - Flight Computer
John Dick - Command

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#24Audio3.79
#117Overall3.60
#122Graphics3.82
#146Mood3.39
#178Fun3.39
#356Humor2.58
#386Theme3.10
#488Innovation2.94

Comments

Lyje says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45am

Love the graphics, sound and concept. Controls are a little tough to get a handle on, but overall really nice.

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:50am

Great production value! Loved the quality audio.
Ship damage was really effective and made staying on course difficult.
Great graphics also.

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:01pm

So intense!! Love spinning out of control :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Wow nice game ! I kinda failed the mission, I made it to the station but yeah, I was not in possession of that big missile anymore ;)

Really cool game, the graphics are excellent, good sounds, great playability. Awesome job !

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40pm

That felt so good! Trying to maintain control in a asteroid field while fighting others. A real suicide mission. And it had voice-acting! Sweet baby Jesus :)

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Wow, I am amazed at the fact that you managed to do this in 48h. Really cool!

skarab says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Nice action game!

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Great sound and graphics, controls were a little difficult, but it was fun!

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Wait- What's going on? I'm spinning- AAARGH!

Really nice game. The controls were a bit non-intuitive at first, but I became accustomed to them fairly quickly. It was very hard not to spin out a lot of the time :P.
Voice acting was spot on as well. Good job.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33pm

The way you do engine damage is cool, it's very disorienting.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Wow this was actually really fun! Satisfying amount of time was spent trying to learn how to control. Engine failures and trying to get it back undercontrol was fun.

Gazpachogames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Awesome game. It's pretty hard control the ship but that make the game really fun!

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Nice concept, I love space themed games ! Controls are kindda hard though. Nice voiceover too !

(Oh and btw you commented on my game, WarpRunner, that the walls don't kill you, you should try the next levels, cause there are ennemies that do kill you, and it's pretty hard to beat at the end !)

Dynad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Really cool concept, controls are somehow not very easy to avoid those asteroids. The general guy speaking is very well done. Overall great work!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Bwhaha loved that voice acting man, so funny. And not that bad either!
The game itself was pretty good. Couldn't wait to pull that trigger - so I did - and once again the voice acting got me giggling. 5 on humor. Good entry man!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Took me a couple tries to beat it, but that was rather intense. Losing parts of your controls on collisions as well as the voice acting were both nice touches. Adding some yaw controls would be very much appreciated. Great job!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Wing Commander rulez! Great execution and the voice action really topped the mood to 100%! The great thing with WC though is, that it does not have 'roll' controls ;)

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Awesome game, reminds me a bit of the Descent-series.
Nice idea to include voice instructions, fitting perfectly.
Too bad that there's no audio for hitting the mothership, I almost was sad not to hear Command's voice after completing the mission ^_^

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Great game, you played my game which is suprisingly similar. Most of the fun of your game is mastering the controls, got sucked into it quite quickly! Nice job, and also great voice acting!

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Absolutely fantastic! Really enjoyed this a lot. Was only sad that it isn't longer! Only so much you can do in 48hrs though. Excellent job!

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:36pm

The voice acting - so nice! The controls - so bad. The visuals - brilliant. If that had Frontier or Privateer mechanics - I would love it.

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:10am

Very effective with the voice acting (HUD); good call on bringing back the wing commander / Descent vibes. Like the graphics style and its 'minimal' explosions. Now all we need is oculus rift support and it's slammin!

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:35am

Fantastic voice overs, and the gameplay was great too -Excellent work!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13am

It was pretty challenging to hit the mothership, very fun game.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:30pm

This is amazing!
"Who authorized that!?"
Made me feel like I was really in there and being a noob.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07pm

I don't know why they ever gave me the missle! I fly like I'm coming out of a comma. There is so much right going on in this game, so the down sides are that much more stark. I wish I could see more of the environment and not just the inside of the ship. I also found the control frustrating. I guess I'm a inverted guy. Still, really impressive!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Controls are rather difficult but the game is well finished et very moody. A very good 48h entry :)

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:00pm

I really like it! Great audio. I lost control so much that to the last second I didn't thought I will manage to shoot the target!

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:11pm

There appears to be 50% of people who hate my controls, and 50% who love spinning out of control. I guess without this it would just be another shooting game, I really wanted to make it really hard to target the mothership/station at the end. Based on the feedback though, I'm not sure if I totally succeeded there!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Very nicely done an interesting take on the one shot concept. Well polished and well done!

Manou says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Man, this is wonderful, 5 stars.

Shigor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22pm

I see you're still playing with the lowpoly :D (noticed some of the stuff you posted on the facebook IndeGameDev).
As a lover of good old space sims I approve.

alcorrius says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Hard and fast! I lose but I like it!)
Nice graphics style.

Yaguar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Awesome, loved the voices adding that extra level of polish.
Low poly was nice and all the little extra's going on added some nice depth.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Reminded me of Starfox, well done. :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:43pm

really well done for 48hours :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:50pm

I really like the simple color pallette and the low poly graphics. I truly felt ashamed when I shot the missile too early.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Awesome voice acting. I'm really bad at this game. But somehow I still managed to hit the mothership on my second try.

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Great voice acting! The controls were frustrating, I quickly felt fairly claustrophobic in the ship - but then again that got across a certain aesthetic very effectively.. The missle launching/unauthorized launch concept was a little unclear...

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Low poly space game? Going straight for the <3 with this one! I think the cockpit took up a little bit too much of the screen but I had fun! First run I just let the missile off and got berated for it, which made me laugh! The voiceacting is an appreciated touch :D

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33pm

I really like it, the controls are a little off but you definitely start to panic when you get hit by an astroid :3

I love the narration as well :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:11am

Controls a tad fiddly, but cool nonetheless! Very nice game! I like the graphics choice!

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:08am

It was a bit hard to get my head around the controls, but once I got used to it I liked this game very much.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:06am

Voice acting! :3
The ship was kinda hard to control though, but overall, fun game!

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Wow! Very moody game, I like its vibe. Speech is very cool too. And the spinning. :)

Gungnir says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Very nice presentation. Real VO - and good lines/drama. I'm sure I could have more success with the controls over time, but it really felt as if I was fighting them. Definitely takes me back to WC, Tie Fighter, etc.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:33pm

The cockpit takes a lot of room from the screen sadly and the controls don't really work that well. But: SPACEGAMEZ!!!

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Controls were a bit difficult but the game was good.

funselektor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:24am

Nice, it was a blast to the past, reminded me of Descent.

The damage of the ship was implemented well, it would have been great if we could destroy asteroids, or at least push them away by shooting.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:04pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uh7DCpeWczU
My first impressions on the game :)

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Amazing! That was quite an experience :)

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:00am

Great job! Reminded me of the rogue squadron games. I will never hit that space station!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:21am

Really solid stuff. I'm a huge fan of shooters.

Kohijin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:50am

Yay, made it on my 2nd try ;) (compo version)

Great setting, but the controls were a bit infuriating... reminded me on playing all those space combat sims with the arrowkeyes when you were really supposed to use a joystick

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:20am

Wow I'm so proud I did it in my first try, even after hitting asteroids twice and loosing a good portion of my control! But I felt the power and took the shot!

It definately carries the theme. My only complaint is the size of the screen, I wish it was larger. It was difficult to distinct the asteroids from eachother. I could reduce my desktop resolution I guess :)

Good little game, and don't worry, gameplay is good. It just needs a couple more levels and difficulty settings I think :)

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:51am

Pretty well done! Good job getting some decent voice work in there.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Loved some of the audio, but I was expecting something more menacing for the shots.
The voice are very well made and really was a nice touch.
The controls, I miss being with mouse, but maybe you wanted to be with keyboard, so may be just my taste.
Great job!

Freel4tte says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Loveley! Absolutely loveley! Controls are easy to use and gameplay is really fun. I really like how you sway when you hit stuff. Sound is perfect. This nostalgia!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Cool game, was really hard to control once you started to spin though. Nice game for 48 hours!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Great simulator! I like the voices!

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Woo very difficult! I like this game :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]