December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cage Rage

by adamwfindlay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One life
One title shot
One minute to survive

The ultimate cage match! Wrestle your way to victory by surviving for only one minute to grab the belt and win in this hell in a cell experience.

- Arrow keys to move/jump

- Space to pickup enemies and space again to throw them

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#270Humor2.86
#357Fun3.06
#492Audio2.53
#523Graphics2.88
#657Overall2.81
#689Mood2.48
#730Innovation2.53
#813Theme2.29

Comments

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15am

Difficult, but fun and also funny. Pretty solid game overall.

drludos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35am

I like the graphics and music, the idea is cool, but the game could be improved. Throwing out enemies is fun, but it's very hard to avoid them, so the game lasts usually a few seconds for me.

Anyway, congratulations for completing a nice and working game in 48h!

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Pretty simple but fun for a while. Good job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:47pm

This is hilarious. At first it seems unforgiving though, maybe if your character could take a few hits I dunno. Once you get past the super easy dieing throwing guys makes up for everything. I found that I could throw multiple doods if I timed it right. I hope that more people see this as its a lot of fun.

97%Awesome says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:13pm

difficult, fells awesome to throw enemies at each other

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:32pm

With the right strategy, the game is actually pretty easy! But nice work! The art is fun and I like how you can hit other guys by throwing them xD

302_Dave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I really like the character designs. It was a little difficult to figure out what was acceptable as a grab, and what would get you killed. Overall, though, pretty fun.

Infin8 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:20am

Solid and fun mechanics. I guess I was supposed to be playing as hulk hogan :). The grab miss insta-kill was a pain.

madlee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:20am

Good job! I had to cheat a little to win, I stood in the top left corner, where no enemies ever went except the 3-4 that spawned there. By the time the minute was up, all of the enemies had gotten stuck on the edge of the ring, so it was really easy to walk down and grab the belt :P

Several says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:15am

Hah. That is one long minute.

zatyka says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Picking up and throwing people was quite satisfying. After dying a few times, I found that staying to one side in the mid-level made the game a whole lot easier. Enemies tended to get stuck on the right side of the ring.

It was fun, and I enjoyed it, but probably would have gotten bored had it gone on any longer.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Simple but still pretty enjoyable. The mechanics were solid and the graphics and audio worked really well together.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Hahaha interesting idea, was funny the idea of grabbing and throwing the guys xD Great work! :D

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:46am

Loved the aesthetic. I really liked how the hair flew up when you jumped :)!

Pyro says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:06pm

I like the graphics and music. Fun idea with the wrestlers, but could use more animations.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]