December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Afterwife

by Bribz - Jam Entry

Follow the tale of a man, traversing the underworld to find his one true love...

--------------------------

Controls:
E to pick up ghost bride
Space to glide (when in air)
W,A,S,D or Up,Down,Left,Right to move.

--------------------------

Notes:
-Fixed a bug making the game unplayable.
-Fixed a bug making the first level unable to be played. Should be the last fix.
-I lied. Players can now ACTUALLY quit with Esc.
-Fixed link to OSX download.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#191Humor(Jam)2.67
#242Mood(Jam)2.95
#312Overall(Jam)3.00
#314Graphics(Jam)3.05
#340Audio(Jam)2.60
#414Innovation(Jam)2.42
#416Theme(Jam)2.32
#451Fun(Jam)2.33
#1217Coolness44%

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:03am

I get stuck in the about screen. The game forces me to go fullscreen. Esc doesn't quit.

burlapjack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:09am

The floating mechanic takes a little practice, but overall easy to control. My biggest gripe though is that there seems to be a lot of empty space and overly flat terrain.

Before Light says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:15am

I liked the music. The thing, that you have to start over from the begining is frustrated me.

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:16am

Pretty good platforming concept, but after I retrieve the bride I can't do the next obvious thing, so I was stuck. Also forces fullscreen, which is weird but not a big deal.

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23am

I quite like the atmosphere/graphics/music in this. Controls feel good too, I just wish those red-skull signs were checkpoints like I thought they were the first time I saw them. =)

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:30am

If not for time constraints, there would have been checkpoints. We thoroughly apologize for the frustrations!

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:43am

I enjoyed this! I thought the floating mechanic was quite unique (though that old man must sure be strong to generate that kind of lift). I do recommend rewriting it as "Tap Space" rather than "Press Space". "Press Space" makes me think you only need to do it once.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:46am

I got stuck at a cliff area and I can't figure out how to get over the ledge. Also the resolution wouldn't fit to my screen when it prompted me or only be in window. Cool mechanic. It's in interesting spin on platforming since you have to fall in order to jump.

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:02am

I only got as far as the second level, looks like a solid platformer but there is something strange about the 'glide' that doesn't feel right, I can't quite place exactly what it is, sorry. Ambi, I did not have that problem on windows.

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Even though it's sort of a platformer, it has very different mechanics for basic things, like the glide instead of the jump. I like that.

The pixel art is pretty neat.

The way the camera works when you're gliding down makes it really hard to know where you're going to land. If I was going to make one change, it'd be to have the camera go up when you fly up, and then drop way further down as you start falling down.

The walking speed is a bit slow, makes retrying huge parts of the levels painful. More checkpoints would help with this; if you want to go that route.

I got stuck on the second level. After the annoying jump up and the jump over the fire, I ended up in the pit on the other side of the fire, dropped down, pushed the ghost to the door...and then nothing. Seemed like it was just getting to the interesting part, too.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49pm

I started to love the game as soon as I saw its title =D

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Where is the advertised OS X version? I can't find it behind the link. =(

AaronGordon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:11pm

The title made me laugh. I liked the overall design of the level. I wish I could use the glide function whilst on the ground.

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Music and graphics were great and went well together.

The platforming mechanics were however very frustrating. Very steep learning curve on the gliding which I think most people would not be able to pick up very well. If I'm even understanding how it works, it behaves like a jump which can only be triggered in midair. Works well for falling and steering, but jumping gaps was very difficult and I found myself spamming Space and Up keys because that seemed the best way to ensure that the glide up would trigger.

After I picked up the ghost (which looked very cool btw) and went through the 2nd door, I appeared in the 3rd scene with no ghost, and a seemingly empty scene. I couldn't figure out how to progress from there, as all I could do was fall into emptiness.

occash says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:13pm

I also like the sound)but I had some problems with SPACE button..I don't know why, but it doesn't work...

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Aside from the occasional bug and somewhat frustrating mechanics, the game is well done and I had quite a bit of fun! Nice job!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Gameplay is okay, but the environment could use a lot of work.

Several says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:25pm

It seems a bit confusing to credit "pinecone" with the sound, and not provide any credits for the music. The first track in the game is "Come and Find Me," by Eric Skiff ( http://ericskiff.com/music/ ), which is under an attribution license (which means you should credit him; please do so as soon as you can). Be very careful about using things without crediting whoever made them--partly because the creators can sue you, and partly because it is ungentlemanly.

In addition to the other things people have mentioned (checkpoints, etc), I'd suggest clarifying the "glide" button prompt in-game (e.g. "tap [space] while in the air to glide), and either adding a prompt for picking up the "ghost-bride," or just doing away with the button and picking her up when you bump into her.

Bribz says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:51am

Credit was given to the author via his personal blog. Many of the audio files were created by sir Pinecone, although the bg music was by eric.
Under license, everything was given due credit, but I will remember to add more thanks to the comment.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Nice look and feel to it. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/ph4Rui-mL0k

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:29am

Camera issues make it hard to land safely after a jump. Starting over from the very beginning of a level after dying sucks. Gliding is interesting mechanically but requires a "leap of faith" and wasn't easy to get the hang of.

Jan 10, 2014 @ 4:07pm

I made a vid of the game here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=prpT3yuRBHE

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]