December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Sword

by daviwil - Jam Entry


PLAY HERE: http://daviwil.github.io/ld28
Source code here: http://github.com/daviwil/ld28

Concept
------------
You've got one chance to save the maiden from being killed by the dragon but you're at a bridge high above the ground. What can you do? Drop your sword and hope to behead the dragon before he eats her! It won't be an easy job with all of the dragon's goons around, but your enchanted sword will allow you to control it's motion from afar to slay the goons and ultimately kill the dragon!

Credits
------
Art: Steve Seator (@st0ven)
Code and music: David Wilson (@daviwil)

Tools
------------
Phaser HTML5 game library - http://phaser.io
Box2dWeb physics library - https://code.google.com/p/box2dweb/

Platforms
------------
Tested on:
- Windows 8.1 and Mac OS X Mavericks
- Firefox 25
- Chrome 31
- Safari 7.0 (some stutter when processing physics)
- Internet Explorer 11 (weird graphics lightness, but everything seems fine)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Graphics(Jam)4.70
#22Theme(Jam)3.91
#161Audio(Jam)3.23
#188Overall(Jam)3.26
#194Mood(Jam)3.11
#245Innovation(Jam)2.91
#268Fun(Jam)2.83
#270Humor(Jam)2.33
#1639Coolness17%

Comments

Royal Railway says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39am

Hahaha. Wonderful! Cannot say I felt like I was influencing the sword's direction with the arrow keys, though. Simple soundtrack, but fitting. Tense. The main attraction, however, is obviously the graphics. Gorgeous.

sanojian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:28am

Graphics are stunning. It was a little too easy. I won on first try even though I didn't really know what I was doing.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Looks and sounds great.
Got a little frustrated when the sword bounced off to the side of the screen every time it hit a dragon and I just managed to get it back in the middle. Was expecting to actually cut off the dragons head.

anvoz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Really cool game. Beautiful artwork and nice sound.

daviwil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Xeke_Death: Yeah, I wanted to do that, but didn't end up having enough time :)

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Nice job, graphics are cool. Atmosphere reminds me of Dark Souls or and some comics from the 80s. Having a different graphic for hitting the maiden or the dragon would have been cool but it was still fun to slay winged horrors.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Great art. I managed to win through pure luck.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Fun game. Very unique, that's for sure.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Very basic game, but it looks absolutely fantastic.
So easy though, I managed to kill the maiden on my first try!

...oh... wait...

Also, that's the highest bridge I've ever seen.

embero says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:41am

Really cool. Graphics and Sounds are great!
The sword is a bit hard to control.

antila says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Great artwork!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Nice graphics and funny idea!

Miltage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:16pm

I love the concept. The graphics and music are great, but the game could certainly benefit from having some way to restart.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Wow very awesome artwork man. But I've killed maiden ;) Is it the goal of the game ^^ ... cool soundtrack too. Enjoyed it!

drkrunk says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:47am

The art in this game is pretty amazing, kind of reminds me of old paintings. Very nice. It was fun. Good job!

Shigor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Good, great dragon's art, I enjoyed it although the game controls seemed almost random.

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:35am

Funny idea: seems the proverbial Knight In Armor That Save The Maiden In Distress can sometimes get a bit lazy or in a hurry :-)
Graphics are just great and soundtrack fits well the heroic fantasy theme of the game! Lacks a few sound FX for slashed monsters though.

jerombd says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 10:01am

Epic! Great art but it's too random to my taste :/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]