December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bomberanian

by chapachapa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control:
LEFT/RIGHT - Directions
UP - Jump
X/SPACE - Action (shoot, pickup, and throw)
R - Restart/Regenerate Level

combination of the action button and direction button will have an impact on how you throw the Bomberanian.


Description: You have 10 Bomberanians (that's Bomb + Pomeranian) but you only have ONE grenade. Lucky these Bomberanians do explode quite easily. Start the chain by firing your grenade launcher and start throwing Bomberanians until you have every last one of them Ka-boom-ed!

TL,DR: After shooting grenade, chain Bomberanians by throwing them.


Tools used:
- FlashDevelop
- Flixel
- Chirp Composer
- BFXR
- Aseprite
- Photoshop

YAY!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Audio3.14
#205Humor3.05
#209Graphics3.56
#267Fun3.22
#296Overall3.26
#299Theme3.23
#368Mood2.94
#411Innovation3.03
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

lofe09 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:37pm

I really like the art :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

Cute graphic ! Great implementation of the theme ;) Really nice art!

YsenGrimm says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:49am

Funny little game, a bit unpolished controls/collision though.

TheCams says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:25pm

I like the idea (I kinda had the same !)
The collisions are a bit strange sometimes though.

LeonLeon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:25am

Liked the music. Good idea but it was a bit confusing at first

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Wow! Such explode, much dog, very fire! :D

Sestren says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:20am

Took me awhile to beat a level until I realized you could pick them up and throw them. :)

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Nice game style and good mechanics! Nice work! :D

mystakin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:05pm

I love the name and concept of this game! Trying to maintain the chain of explosions is a cool core gameplay mechanic.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:37am

Hands down one of the best names for anything ever. I like this game a lot and I think it deserves some expansion. The explosion animations are really cool. Nice work.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:41am

Cool concept, cute graphics and music. Had a lot of fun playing this, but just the same thing again and again felt repetitive, even though the level is randomly generated. Still, great work for the compo.

somepx says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:01am

So, good art style and gameplay - a nice entry overall!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Nice game but it needed just a little more time to get completed although I liked the game mechanics :)

mobyvb says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Very enjoyable :)

Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Took me a few tries to figure out how to do it, but I did manage to win. (It felt a bit weird not to be able to move the bomberanians before you fire the grenade, but I guess that would make it too easy). Cute idea, with good graphics and audio, and I like how you've made randomly generated levels. Not really my kind of game, but I won't hold that against it.

shard123 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Cool idea and great music but a little confusing. Nice entry!

Moosefly says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Bomberman? Pffttt, so last season. Bomberanian is where its at!

Nice little game, the gameplay could've been taken a lot further I think (flashy combo text WOOO!).

psc1997 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Nice little game ;-)

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:33pm

great art style and music!

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Pretty well done for a compo game.

AlexFili says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:20am

A bit too easy but a really fun game. I like the artwork, concept and characters. Any kind of puns just win me over really easily

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Love the name and the game. Well done! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/fUXvqevl8YI

uchiro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:07am

Cute kittens and nice game :)

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:37am

Excellent art: gfx and music. Congrats. A little too hard for me... but great game. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]