December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lobo

by BluMist - Jam Entry

This is a top down maze game.

The original concept was that you only get one sense to use at a time to escape a mad Doctors laboratory, but it's much more simple than that. Now it's all about running from brains.

The current state is using Python 2.7.6 and Pygame. We are currently working on making a file that won't require those to be installed, but are running into difficulties.

Thanks for a great first Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#336Audio(Jam)2.62
#363Humor(Jam)2.00
#457Mood(Jam)2.26
#481Graphics(Jam)2.30
#490Theme(Jam)2.05
#527Innovation(Jam)1.95
#529Fun(Jam)1.77
#534Overall(Jam)2.09
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Dikkop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:18pm

The brains with their tiny legs looked like fun. Not much to say about the game. The engine looks solid but there is a bit of an absense of gameplay.

Concept sounds fun. Time is a bitch though.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:04am

I like the music very much.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:59am

The original idea sounds exciting, but yeah, as stated, it's lacking in the game play capacity

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:26pm

There seems to be no gameplay. Try adding some gameplay to make it a better game.

jprogman says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:50am

The window resolution isn't friendly on my computer. I'm using 1024x768, but the game is 1,032px x 1,056px. I don't get why the vertical is longer than the horizontal, but I'm not against that idea in general. I am, however, against the size of the screen to fit the game inside.

LukuluK says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:45pm

I would like to have seen what could be done with the senses !
Like everyone, there is no objective, and the brains run always in the same direction. Perhaps could they go in another direction when they bump against a wall ! And about the change of color, it was aimed for switching of senses ? There could be enemies which are only visible with certain senses. With some balance, you could reach the start for a good gameplay

Espyo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:13pm

From the description, I can see this was meant to be something very different from what it is. But as it is now, I'm afraid it looks like an incomplete game, and with quite a few flaws.
Few screens will ever be able to display this correctly, due to its huge vertical size. The settings didn't seem to do anything, they just took me to an empty maze. The game doesn't match the theme whatsoever, though, again, I can see from the description that the original plans did match.
As for the gameplay, the collisions need some work, and it should be clearer as to what you're doing. As stated before, the brains could be a bit more dynamic in their movement.

Some positive points I can point out include the graphics (is the main character using a sprite from a Final Fantasy game, though?) and the nice music at the start.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:17am

The music was amazing O.O!!! the game is fun and the graphics look nice, but the game movement feels kind of hard but its ok :D Excellent work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]