December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jim's Night At Work

by sahoskins1 - Jam Entry

No sound and limited gameplay due to time constraints. My first 3D attempt. (P key pauses for those who need to know).

The game is about a guy named Jim who is working late at the office. He starts finding strange notes left around and starts getting transported (via the office bathroom) into the past, future and alternate realities. Guided by these strange notes, this enables him to discover his true self.

*EDIT: First upload was missing a file, sorry to those who tried to run and couldn't. Should all run fine now.

**EDIT 2: There is a known bug where code locking movement is not running when reading notes. For now please stay near the note while reading in order to ensure you can clear the screen until a big fix is released.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#192Mood(Jam)3.12
#243Theme(Jam)2.82
#333Humor(Jam)2.10
#370Innovation(Jam)2.60
#431Graphics(Jam)2.57
#446Overall(Jam)2.63
#471Fun(Jam)2.23

Comments

mohammad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:49am

Doesnt even run. Im sorry.

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:10am

sorry, forgot to include the data file. please try again with the .zip

Rothens says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:34pm

I'm not really sure about this. I don't know what's all these notes mean. Anyway, the bathroom thing was great, there's only a small bug, if you enter the bathroom backwards, the camera will reset.

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Thanks for the comment :) . Yeah the notes were going to be a much bigger deal than they are but I had to cut corners due to time restrictions. The idea was too big for the timescale really but am considering taking the premise and making it into a bigger project like what it should have been. Thanks for the camera bug report too.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Very mysterious game. The atmosphere would multiply x10 with a bit of ambient sound. Good work!

jomomomo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Can't play windows games...

Kohijin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Was interesting enough to make me experience the whole thing, so good job ;) one thing: when i walk away while reading a note, i have to be in range to close it with space...

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:07pm

jomomomo do you use mac or linux? I can do you an untested build if you wish to try?

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Also thanks for the constructive feedback guys, much appreciated. Like I said, am considering developing this into a bigger project and taking the time over it so any bug reporting or helpful suggestions are good :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:35pm

I agree that this game needs some sound. But it was pretty cool little experience anyway!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Some of the notes would bug and remain on screen despite pressing Space.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Hmm, tried to play it but program is not responding. Anyone knows ehat the cause may be?

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Hi fullmontis did you make sure to unzip all of the contents first? What version of windows are you running?

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:10am

I didn't give this game a go because of the screenshot, kind of put me off with the very simple 3D graphics, but hey, it was actually interesting! Pretty weird and creepy, but fun! The ending was a bit anticlimactic and the story could've been a bit more interactive.

ReactorScram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:22am

It sounds like there could be some cool plot going on in the background. The 3D modelling work leaves something to be desired, but I like what you did with the bathroom.

I'm having the same problem as the other guy, where the notes don't clear from the screen.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:07pm

can't play, mac

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:22pm

just uploaded a mac build. Untested so if anyone tries please comment.

Snuti says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:02am

Was able to run it on Mac nicely. Nice game and liked the message, although it took me a few times to read all the notes before anything new happened. Music would have set the mood really nicely with the game as well but overall, good work :)

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Linux build now up and working. Remember to make its permissions executable if needs be

kibertoad says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:40pm

you wanted to create motivational a motivational take on The Stanley Parable? or is it a creepy horror game about death? kinda hard to decide.

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:50pm

@kibertoad it was kind of a combination of Stanley Parable style game mixed with the dark trip into different parts of a persons life that works such as the Dickens Christmas Carol book portrays. Unfortunately I didn't quite have the time to expand on that as much as I wanted but am glad that people are still able to get that sort of vibe from it

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:02am

Really neat idea and story. I liked getting the tidbits of specific details about his life

Novodantis says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:33am

A neat and rather ambitious concept; unfortunately I feel that the atmosphere does suffer for that lack of sound!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:58am

Very mysterious game. I like is!
I love mood and story. One Life :)
But I found two bugs... I can't close "note" when I not looking on it, and when I enter the bathroom, the camera will reset :c
Develop full game! With more things ;)

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Despite to missing sound I liked the atmosphere :)

tomc says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Not bad for a first 3d attempt during a jam!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

I liked this concept a lot. The notes, the story, the magic bathroom - the game felt very purposeful. I just wish you would have had more time to execute your ideas. But then again, it's a game jam, so we all make those sacrifices. ;)

You seem to want to develop this game further and are open to critique, so here are a few thoughts:

The story is good at hinting at something larger going on, and it seems to me that you're on the right track with it. Obviously you forced an ending in due to time constraints, but it seems like you've got a good instinct for where to go. Embrace the vague storytelling that you've started.

Currently the game feels very recognizably like a Unity game. The combination of textures, lighting, even the player controller have that feel (and especially the particle system), but I think there is a lot of potential to make the design your own. If you do continue development on this, I definitely think that it would be a good idea to start with a room and really build the feel of the game in just the one location. Work on polishing textures, take more time to model the furniture, tweak the lighting, etc... Don't make the game look like Unity made it, make the game look like YOU made it.

Harsay says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:40pm

It deserves a voice acting! Good job for first 3d attempt. Now do better post compo version! :D

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Nice take on the theme, nice environments, the rooms felt like real places which was cool. Sound would have been great as well as more things to do.

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Nice experience, I like the underlying message of it all ! For a jam a bit more polishing would have been great, but whatever :-)

sahoskins1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Thank you all for playing and giving good, constructive feedback. You've been of great help :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]