December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ballad of the Falling Warrior

by pet_snake - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first LD entry as well as my first finished game. Was pretty fun to make it took around 35 of the 48 hours to make.

Instructions are on the starting for when you play. The idea behind the theme for the game was that you'd only get one power up. In the end I didn't like it too much and ended up giving you three, but you only get one use of each.

I hope you guys enjoy it.

Some helpful Reviews!
"It's ok" - Stratovarius
"Well, it works I guess" - Cazum!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#241Fun3.27
#301Humor2.75
#329Theme3.18
#354Overall3.18
#438Mood2.85
#475Innovation2.95
#537Graphics2.86
#568Audio2.37
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

Congrats on your first LD entry! There's a typo on the title screen; "because" is repeated twice. Otherwise, nice game.

loggs2 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:13am

The game was fun and I liked the different abilities. It seemed like some of the bullets would hit me no matter what I did though and it was pretty frequent.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:13am

Very fun! The bullets were a bit hard to dodge, but I like the design overall. Unique mechanic, interesting powers, good use of theme. Well done!

pet_snake says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:35am

Thanks guys! Fun tip for the bullets: The closer you get to the guys shooting them the slower the bullets go.

Dyn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:10am

Congrats!
Very good for the first one.

Sylence says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:35am

Loved the graphics :)

Threef says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:13pm

HUD is nice. Gameplay is simple but good. Powers are good too.
One bug is that when I restart game music starts playing twice.

tobbez says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Interesting game, the music started playing double after restart. Some of the abilities could use some work. After finishing a ghost walk we need time to avoid blocks.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Hilarious how the little guy had its hair. The music is ok, but when you go to the main screen and play again there's an additional track playing over the original one. After 3-4 plays the music becomes an aural mess. Jusy sayin'

Azzar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Moving up is a bit hard (and bad for my Up arrow key's health).
Other than that, a nice concept and really enjoyable.

pet_snake says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:59pm

@Sound issue: since it's not game breaking, I don't think I'd be allowed to re-upload.

@Powerup Phase: the point though is that it's a bit of a gamble on saving your butt now to potentially put you in harms way for whats coming up.

@moving up: You're falling, gaining height is a lot harder than moving down in terms of that.

Other than that, thanks again for playing it! I'm glad you guys are enjoying it.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Simple cool game. Nice job! I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/IHhkgdPuakc

Poxymyr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Really good concept :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]