December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pixelfall

by redhotvengeance - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pixelfall is a race to the bottom. Can you fall the furthest?

Pixelfall is a quasi-multiplayer game - the whole internet plays the exact same round at the exact same time, and then everyone sees how they ranked.

Can you fall the greatest amount of pixels? Give it your best shot - but watch out! There are white and black blocks that will come at you fast. You can break through the blocks if you are the same color as them (and even get a speed boost when you do), and you can change colors with ::spacebar::.

YOU ONLY GET ONE minute to fall as far as you can, and YOU ONLY GET ONE color at a time.

HTML5/WebGL/Canvas. Built on the Phaser framework. Music with autotracker.py. Sound effects with cfxr.

* You may see a grey screen while it loads - that's normal. Just give it a few seconds to finish loading. *

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#391Overall3.14
#411Innovation3.03
#447Audio2.63
#491Fun2.87
#629Humor1.95
#649Theme2.60
#677Mood2.50
#745Graphics2.43

Comments

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:38am

I couldn't seem to get it to run, it was just stuck on "Sigh" with the name thing (Even when I did fill in a name)

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:39am

After restart, filled in a name immediately, GO didn't do anything... :(

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:45am

It was really fun :) I really liked that you could see everyone elses score at the end of the match, it instantly sparked that competitive feeling! The graphics and audio where a bit lacking though. Overall it was really good

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:46am

Simple and fun game. It may be a bit too easy though, since every time after my first try I was able to make it the whole fall without hitting anything. Perhaps encouraging dangerous play would spice it up, giving boosts for smashing through the lines, encouraging players to switch colors more often in an attempt to get both white and black lines. All in all, it's a solid game, great work! Also, cool idea for temporary score boards.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:48am

I really liked how you could play against others online. Particals were a great addition to the game.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29am

Awesome game. The networking really made it come alive. If people are having trouble loading it, just try to give it time. Leave it for awhile. I think it waits for the next match to start you.

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:34pm

I love the gameplay difference between the white and the black bars. Also a nice mechanic that you don't die when you hit something, but rather get delayed in your fall. This keeps you playing during the entire online game, rather than getting bored and quitting.

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:46pm

I ran very slowly on my machine, or maybe it was my internet connection (HSDPA) at the moment. The mechanics seemed to be fun, though.

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37pm

nice work! very tidy, worked well for me!

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Well done for showing how a client-server design can really lift a game. Great idea. It's inspired me to add a server component to my next LD game. Nice clean art style. I scored this really high for innovation. Hurrah!

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:49am

Well, when I tried the game, there wasn't anyone else, so apparently one of the "funniest" aspect was missing.

As a "solo" game, the mechanics are missing a true challenge. The time spent when hitting a wrong platform is too long and cuts the "free falling" feeling.

The music and audio is pretty annoying and it's sad there's not a switch to cut it off.

Despite my critics, I reckon the technical aspect and congratulates you for doing a client/server game during the week-end.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:51pm

@Kyatric Good constructive critiques. I agree with them. The client/server aspect took most of my focus, and the game mechanics are missing some love. Oh, and I really wanted to add a mute button, but just ran out of time. Thanks for the feedback!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Simple falling game. The platforms are SUPER sticky -- maybe have the main character blink while input is locked so we can tell what's going on? Interesting that everyone plays together...

I didn't get the reason for the black/white platforms. Once I figured out I could smash my color it got easier, but didn't see a point.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:42pm

The first time didn't know what to do. Couldn't make the game to start. It was I needed to enter a name. The name input and the validation message should be different from the rest of the instructions somehow, different color, some visual effect, etc.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:32pm

It was OK, I guess... Very easy, you get bored too quickly.

garygreen says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:46pm

When the timer reached zero the game just kept going and I couldn't see how I ranked with others. Good fun though. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]