December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nent

by Zolmeister - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires WebGL
Game: http://nent.zolmeister.com/
Source: https://github.com/Zolmeister/Nent

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#152Graphics3.74
#256Fun3.24
#379Overall3.16
#499Innovation2.92
#540Audio2.41
#611Mood2.61
#737Theme2.45
#756Humor1.58

Comments

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:24am

I love the graphics style of this. Took me a bit to realize I was supposed to be powering up, but by then it was too late.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

Really liked the style. Didn't realise you could upgrade things until it was too late. Nice gameplay though. I did encounter a bug where I didn't die, instead my btc went into the minuses. Other than that, nice work.

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

Very fun game! I really like the lighting and the art style. Hard to tell what all the different options on the left were for in the heat of the game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05am

The merging effect is neat to watch. Cool music track. I wish the control had a faster start rotation speed.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12am

Yeah, this is a strong entry! The way the circles melded was quite mesmerizing - I would have loved it to have a positive effect so I could have done it more intentionally. I played three times - the first time figuring out what I could do, and ending up with a score somewhere around -10,000. The third time, I almost broke even at -150.

Would have loved hotkeys for the powerups - both my hands were involved with dodging and shooting.

You've got an interesting feedback loop going on - the game is both ambient and terribly punishing. It reminds me a little bit like Dustforce (on Steam) - there's no lose condition, but the game grades you harshly. In this game its a little more frustrating because you want the upgrades and you can see them being taken away from you, but it's not bad. With a little tweaking to the base design, I think you could end up with a game that could really appeal to both casual and hardcore players.

Nice work!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16am

The art style is pretty cool. The metaballs effect (which I assume is what this is) looks nice. Speed upgrade could be better, considering getting hit is such a big punishment. It's also kinda really hard to come out with a positive score in the end. ;_;

And for whatever reason the song reminded me of this: http://www.southparkstudios.com/clips/165193/what-what-in-the-butt

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

The graphics are awesome. The upgrading was a little hard though, I wish there was a keyboard shortcut for each one instead. This a very well-rounded and though out game, nice job.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:07am

Looks very nice and plays smoothly.

I don't really see how it ties in to the theme though.

Cherno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09am

Cool game, but upgrading was really frustrating; you have to have hotkeys! :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09am

Wow, the blending is pretty awesome!
And the music is awesomely upbeat! Very nice!

xel says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09am

Great concept & fun to play. I agree with funselektor though, wish the upgrades were bound to the keyboard keys.

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:36am

The core game is really good, but the controls are really bad for people that don't have three hands. Also, the max speed upgrade doesn't even allow you to outrun enemies which makes it rather ineffective.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:56pm

The graphics look really good, the only problem that you play with both hands so it's a bit annoying to upgrade. Good job.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Absolutely amazing game!

FrostPhoenix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Really awesome! It think the same things of those before me: very smooth, very fun and I just love the blending. Very good job!

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18pm

ratboy2713: "I love the graphics style of this. Took me a bit to realize I was supposed to be powering up,"

me: "I can power UP??!? @_@"

Powering up ensued. Agree with JoeProgram, some hotkeys would be pretty swank!

OH and sweet beats, yo.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:49pm

This is a very polished entry! :-)
I love the meta-ball style! The only think I wished for is a mouse controller, since it's a little bit counter intuitive to rotate with keys in that way!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Interesting game, nice visuals. Really liked the merging effect.

adamwfindlay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Love the merge effect! Interesting visuals.

MaxguN says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Overall I liked your game but it feeled a bit unbalanced with the low speed of movement. Also, controls were quite hard, already two hands on the keyboard, you need a third hand to upgrade.

ANyway, overall, good job ;)

Erkberg says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:51am

Overall a nice game. Clean artstyle and good mechanics. The controls however did not really work for me. Switching between mouse and keyboard, I ended up trying not to spin at all to be able to use my right hand to buy upgrades. I suggest either adding hotkeys for the upgrades or using the mouse to spin.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]