December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Night at the Space Opera

by davekalina - Jam Entry

At the remote edge of the universe, a tyrannical dictator demands entertainment.
You have one chance to please the Emperor ... by giving the opera performance of a lifetime!

To play, toggle 'notes' on/off to match the sheet music.

One Night at the Space Opera is a LD48 Jam game by David Kalina, Sara Gross, Jason Rosenstock, and Ethan Frederick Greene. The game was created with Unity3D, 2DToolkit, Hexels, Photoshop, and Logic.

(NOTE: the crash bug during actor selection has been fixed)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.37
Coolness53%
#5Graphics(Jam)4.70
#6Mood(Jam)4.25
#15Innovation(Jam)3.89
#21Humor(Jam)3.86
#79Overall(Jam)3.63
#143Fun(Jam)3.22
#321Theme(Jam)2.63

Comments

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Banished! Good job on the art & new symbols.

YellowLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Is the Emperor never pleased?

Incredible graphics, sound and mood.

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:06pm

fun game, fun music, fun art, fun style

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Oh noes! The web version crashes on OS/X 10.7.5 after adding a cast member. THIS GAME IS BEAUTIFUL I MUST PLAAAAY

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Nice artwork and a fun semi-rhythm game style. Nice work.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:37pm

I will never be able to sleep again.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Great graphics. Very funny dialogue, artwork, and theme. Great audio too. I'd like it more if there was a line or timer to indicate when the next set of symbols arrives, and if the symbols deselected at that time - or you queue up your selections that play when the time is up. Nice game!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Best graphics I have seen yet!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:22pm

I really dig the art style and the tone of the game greatly. Great job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29am

Wow this was aweeesome! :D Did you use Hexels for the graphics? That's so cool! :D

dray says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Awesome, the emperor was despleased by my poor representation :( the mood of the game with the art and music is so cool, i want a full space adventure about my opera singers!

Tuuka says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Interesting concept, well presented with excellent art. Great work!

madameberry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I wasn't really sure how to play for a while, I feel like some in-game instructions would help. Also the game doesn't scale to different screen sizes. It was too tall for my screen.

NuSan says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Realy great, unique graphic style, audio is pretty interesting as well. I like the setting, specialy the multiple endings space monsters. Keep up the good work

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Incredible art (did you use hexels for this?) and the sound for the opera singers was unique and interesting. In light of the other incredible features the actually game falls a bit more on it's face then it should. It wasn't clear to me until the 2nd try what I was supposed to do. communicating my possible actions would've fixed a lot in presenting this intersting gameplay idea.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:56am

Superb production values. Love the triangular graphical style - really stands out from the crowd. The characters are brilliant as well and I love the way the different voices all sing in harmony (sort of) - rather difficult game but I enjoyed it and the story aspect really adds to the mood

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]