December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tsuba

by Daveloper - Jam Entry

Tsuba:
------

You get only one chance, one life, one destiny.

A command driven sword fighting game, inspired by retro martial arts movies.

-----------------------------------------------

Controls:
---------

up,down,left & right directional keys

-----------------------------------------------

Instructions:
-------------

During defense mode, blank button commands will scroll from right to left. As the
button command nears the action line on the left of the screen, a direction will be displayed on the button. command.
As the button command reaches the action line, you must press the corresponding
directional key; blocking an attack.
One failure, and you are slain. Success, and you enter attack mode.

In Attack mode, you must memorize the attack combo you are presented with, and press
the respective directional keys in the correct order, as the blank button commands
reaches the action line.
If you fail this task, you re-enter defense mode and continue. Suceed, and you leave
your foe lying in a fountain of crimson.

-----------------------------------------------

Credits:
--------

Created in 72 hours for Ludum Dare 2013 by:

Graphics: Tuuka @mysterioustuuka

Coding: Dave van Bale @daveloper

Audio: Joonas Turner @kissakolme

If you want to get in touch with bug reports, feedback or hate mail. Send an email
over to: mysterioustuukalives@gmail.com

NOTE: Game is subject to updates, provided subsequent to ludum dare. Bear with us!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#90Audio(Jam)3.48
#106Mood(Jam)3.45
#115Overall(Jam)3.47
#118Fun(Jam)3.31
#156Graphics(Jam)3.73
#283Humor(Jam)2.29
#299Innovation(Jam)2.76
#363Theme(Jam)2.47

Comments

btwj says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:38am

Oh wow this game's kinda like mine, ninjas, die in one hit, etc. I like your's better than mine though hahaha. I love the sound effects especially the one when you die, really funny. Great work, maybe you can turn it into a semi rhythm game where the commands come in time to music.

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Great Game, i like it and the music and effects are perfect.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:00am

Simple, but very well executed! :D

JALgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Very difficult, but your graphics are awesome!

dudsen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Cool mechanic. Didn't get it at first while reading the instructions, but when I saw it in action it was pretty self explaining.

Buttons fading in short before the button line is cool, spices up the reaction.
After understanding the behavior it becomes pretty easy though.

With more art assets and animations (and enemy levels?) this would be twice as good! I demand more bloooooood >.<

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:40pm

You sure have put a lot of thought into the gameplay! The graphics are really fancy too!

Zener says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Nice gfx, audio and playability, it has it all, even ninjas. Congrats!

Harsay says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:12pm

I hope to see next versions :D

bodsey says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Hey this is a really fine game, congrats

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Fantastic atmosphere, amazing graphics and really compelling concept! Excellent difficulty curve and deeply satisfying play … the sounds simply makes it. Would have liked some kind of "progress ladder" to motivate me to carry on for the "big boss"

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I feel like this could've used some more visual feedback - a screen flash would've been very fitting with the genre. I would've liked some animation too. Seems like a solid mechanic though not terribly unique. Good sound and music.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:52pm

oh god oh god oh dear lord satan and cthulhu how much I don't like qte-based fighting systems. very nice visuals though.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Nice game. reminds me of the good old International Karate for C64, at least the graphics :P - I liked it, and the sound effects are just right! Good job!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:04pm

That felt very old school samurai movie. Good job.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Good game! Only criticism is that the memorize section didn't get longer as we played (as far as we could tell).

psc1997 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Interesting idea, great mood ;)

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Great mood :)

Jerre says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Nice graphics, found the game very difficult though

Moosefly says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Very stylish game audiovisually, but the gameplay wasn't the most compelling.

glovecat says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Good job! Love graphics and music :D

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:12pm

I like the (pixel)art style, I sucks at that kind of game play, but it's well done !

mystakin says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:44am

I imagine this is what the Kirby Superstar mini-game, Samurai Kirby, would be if someone were to expand on it. I love the idea and implementation, though I would have killed for more animations when attacking and defending. Great work!

NekoD says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Pretty good! Sound design and animations are really good. I love the theme and the increasing difficulty.

Would be cool if you had less time to memorize when you got further, though.

lowcade says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Nice game. The graphics and style remember me classic 16 bits games. Congratulations! I like it.

samooJAM says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Very nice for all cyber ninjas who want to keep their reflexes and memory sharp. Looks and sounds good!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]