December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Torch Quest

by qbicfeet - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You Only Get One Torch.

Torch Quest is a Twin-Stick Shooter-ish Dungeon Crawler with emphasis on risk/reward where you only get one torch and one hitpoint.

Explore the procedurally generated dungeons, collect loot and avoid/kill enemies. The torch only lasts for a couple of minutes and once it burns out everything will go pitch black; make sure you return to the dungeon entrance before this happens! Will you successfully escape with the loot or will you die on your way back?

Use WASD to move and the arrow keys to shoot fireballs. Shooting fireballs will drain a small amount of your torch's life, so don't overdo it.

Torch Quest was made in Game Maker. Art assets were made with GIMP, and sound effects were made with FamiTracker.

Thanks for taking the time to check out my entry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#34Graphics4.21
#46Fun3.73
#67Mood3.67
#90Overall3.68
#151Theme3.53
#293Audio2.91
#339Humor2.62
#455Innovation2.97

Comments

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:06am

Looks amazing and the concept and atmosphere are great. I'd play the hell out of it if there was some kind of progression mechanism to give a sense of achievement, and add peril when the torch goes out.

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:39am

Brilliant! If there was only some sort of way to add variety each time and have more goals, it'd be perfect!

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59am

Love that style. Great work!

Killswitch says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Easy and simple but fun! :P

LevelUpJordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:21pm

This is awesome. That is all :)

marccspro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:36pm

I realy like the game and it's fun to play :)

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:41pm

I loved it! It was a really nice spin on the theme, and the fact that attacking decreases your time left on the clock made it all the more compelling!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Very nice! I love the effect how the light gets weaker and than finally it gets all dark and all you see is eyes...

And I use the same w/a/s/d/arrow key mechanics in my game. :)
Just one critic: gameplay would feel much more smooth if you don't stop everytime you shoot.

mortus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Great mood and great graphics. Too bad the game doesn't show your final score, second part of "risk/reward" kinda fades because of that and that's a shame. Nevertheless, this is one of the most fun games I've played yet, congratulations!

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:00pm

I was in a rush and cheaped out on the victory screen, sorry about that. You should be able to see your score in the title bar of the game window, however :)

ezolotko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Gnomes

TheCams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Simple and effective ! The pixel graphics are nice :)

aneeslol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:53pm

The lighting effect was really neat. Well done!

turnip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Nice idea and nicely executed. Well done!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:14pm

This is awesome!
The only problem I've had with it is how the character stops when firing. Other than that, it's great!
Hoping to see you develop this further.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Way way way too difficult. You get swarmed off of spawn, you can never get more then 2 gems before getting completely owned.. I love the art style though.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:40pm

FINAL SCORE: a lot
This single joke owned you extra star ;-)

Very fun game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02pm

No osx version? Too bad, it looks amazing! :/

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Love the graphics and audio here! The concept is really nice too - is the level procedural? I didn't opt to retry!

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17pm

@Linus Lindberg: Yeah, I'm super sorry about that. I'm not a Mac owner so I can't export it to OSX... :(

@mtrc: Yep, the levels are procedurally generated! I use an algorithm called "Drunkard Walk", which is extremely simple but produces fairly nice results.

pusheax says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Great graphics. Many things are straightforward and become apparent after a while. I guess roguelike's variation of items/enemies would help in this case. But limited time points to other varations on roguelike theme.

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:10am

Love the concept! The gameplay is nice and simple but addicting. I really like the graphics as well. Definitely added to my list of favorite Ludum Dare 28 games!

kutullu says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:46am

Really cool game given the time contraint. Liked it very much! :)

Cheers, Marcus

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:59am

Nice idea. cool pixel arts.. very roguelike... love that kind of games a lot. made a roguelike game too... would be cool to hear you word ^^ You should defenitly implement the highscore ;) I like the dwarfs ^^

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]