December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Roses.

by Halfire - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only ever get one true love ..

A deep story about the struggle of a young couple and in the wake of a tragic accident.

To follow the story, follow the petals, and don't be afraid to investigate.

Controls:
WASD - Move
Left Click - Look/Investigate
Escape - Quit
F9 - Screenshot

Made in Game Maker 8.0 (Exported to html5 using studio on the 18th December) in the time allocated. In my hastiness to upload i forgot my source, and gave the old version for friends to see. Correct version is there now. :D

Sound was intended, and i would have add it to the game, but ran out of time. Next time i need to dedicate more time to sound design as a whole.

Enjoy my first ever attempt at Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Mood3.17
#259Graphics3.42
#465Overall3.04
#489Theme2.88
#701Humor1.80
#814Innovation2.38
#938Fun2.05
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Xalder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Cute story, cliche ending but that's fine.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:18am

What a fantastic entry! Great use of the theme, art, and storytelling. Very well presented.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:28pm

That artwork :D Great :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Oh God..
Awesome...

Irelynn Skye says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26pm

I must say, this was visually appealing and I love how you used rose petals as a guide.

That plot twist...well done. :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Love the pixel art, and the story is really interesting. Nicely done. ^^

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:59pm

The pixelart is great!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Storytelling was very good... I just didn't hear any sound would improved the mood by far!

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Beautifull character's animation and a classy design.
Even if the game is a bit slow, it keeps our sight on each little details.
Good game ! =)

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Moving the mouse outside of the game window crashes the game (multi-monitor setup here). You could also investigate objects and have their descriptions appear in the letter screens.

Nice little story, even thought the gameplay itself wasn't all that compelling. Some music and/or sounds would've added a lot to this game.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Good job! Nice storytelling! Congrats ^^

Sylence says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Simply awesome

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Interesting idea, player movement was a little slow for me.

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:34pm

A bit too pretentious and sappy for my taste, but I enjoyed the art style, at least. Some audio would have definitely helped the experience, I think.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:17am

The storytelling is good. Thanks for making a game like this :)

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:43pm

That's a good storytelling game ! I really like the mood of the game ! Some sound could be very cool for this experience (like footsteps in the snow <3).
Just had an error at the end when I was reading the last letter :s

occash says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Very pretty story..but I don't understand what happens with Deanna? What does the light mean?) Did she die?

Halfire says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Spoilers for those who read this:
Deanna and Jacob were in a serious car crash, Jacob got out okay, but Deanna's injuries were more serious. Deanna was left in a coma (in which the game takes place) that doctors thought she would not return from. The letters are what Jacob is saying in the real world to Deanna, and explain the struggles he is going through without her there. The light represents her waking up again, saying Jacob's name.

I wanted to attempt to make a short story in the 48 hours i was given, and i hope i was able to pull it off.

garygreen says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:57pm

I loved the story (sad though!) & it was a clever way to guide the player through the game, the graphics were very atmospheric too - nice touches with the snow flakes too. Very original. Nice one. :-)

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I really like the flower petals.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]