December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Caverns of the Curse of Greed

by Espyo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super quick intro: Collect *one* jewel from each cave. Press Shift in-game for help. Press R to restart level. The rest should be self-explanatory.

Here it is, my first entry on Ludum Dare! In this game, you're an amateur cave explorer, and your goal is to obtain one jewel from every cave. These caves, however, punish those who are greedy: you only get one jewel. If you so much as even touch another one, you will die.
In addition, all you know about these caves comes from hints left behind by the previous explorers. So you only know what tools to bring, not the amount. But you're such an awesome explorer that you only really bring one of each type.

Controls are shown by pressing H on the main menu.

Bonus: https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?code=XZV5jqZjDokQiaLaVyOtr1pnxSXvR6IRI5X a log of my journey. I'll try to make a piechart of how much time was spent doing what soon.

Also, small note: On level 8, the last one, when you have to deploy the ladder, try not to be too close to the leftmost wall, it kinda doesn't work right.

Even though all of the content was made by me, I suppose I should point out the following:
*A slight part of the mechanics were inspired by Lemmings, and some of the items you can use come from Lemmings 2.
*The font I used is just Trebuchet MS Bold, but with a gradient added.

Linux version is too hard to port :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#230Theme3.37
#352Fun3.07
#465Overall3.04
#556Innovation2.82
#575Graphics2.78
#629Humor1.95
#677Mood2.50
#766Audio1.38

Comments

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:15pm

some things are unclear with the items on times although the character does move well. Also as a side note, many people will be put off with the 7zip format as you have to download extra software to extract for many computers.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Nice, cool game! Definitely reminded me of lemmings. I would put the hint about only getting one jewel on the first level because I was confused as to why it kept going back to level 1 ( I started the game without reading much of the description.) Other than that I thought it was pretty good and the powers from the tools were pretty cool. Good job!

Espyo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:37pm

@sahoskins1 Good thinking. I'm just too used to using 7-zip to make everything as squashed as possible.

@handCraftedRadio You're not the first one to be confused by that, I'm afraid!... I wanted to make death more obvious, but time restrains...

I really should've made the whole item thing more clear, or at least point out some more in-game about the fact that Shift gives item help.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:01pm

The dropbox link showed error (404) for me.
I'll check back again later!

bitowl says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Dropbox link is down? screenshots look nice. can't wait to play&rate it

Eskoala says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:20pm

404 for me too.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:21pm

404 on the link.

sam1373 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:37pm

404

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:42pm

404, but if you get it fixed can you leave a message on my page? This looks worth playing.

multikorv says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:18pm

404

Espyo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:27am

Drat! As per my reply to sahoskins1, I decided to compress the game into .zip format, but I never updated the links! Should be good now.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:51am

Nice one man, I really enjoy the variety of tools, and how you can experiment with them but still win. Interesting entry!

I didn't figure out how to use a couple of them though. Like the one that looks like a spear I guess? (Diagonal bottom left to top right with a silver bit on it?) and the green kinda.. pneumatic drill looking thing?

I'd make it more clear you can only collect one gem on level 1 as well. I didn't read the blurb or help section and had to come back and look here :P .

But yeah, otherwise great game, especially for a first time. Hope you take part in more LDs!

Espyo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:27pm

@Alex Rose Thanks! The spear looking thing is a zipline. You have to be close to a wall, aim towards another wall, and use it. The drill is a jackhammer meant to destroy blocks above you. I /really/ had to point out the function of the Shift key more... Too late now.

StMatn says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Great game!
At first I thought the game would be unfinished, because I have beaten level 1 after ~10 times collecting both gems :D
I really like the multiple tools you get.
Keep on the good work!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Awesome, awesome puzzle levels!
I am pretty stuck on level 6 right now where the block of dirt is blocking my zipline. I tried to cannon myself across the spikes but I just get shot into the roof.. Still got to think about this one!
The level design and mechanics are just awesome. Great work!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Some music would have been nice, and I think the controls could be improved a little, e.g. that pressing a number key "selects" a weapon and shows the hint (instead of pressing Shift) and there's an extra action key to use the selected weapon. At least I personally would probably prefer that scheme.
However, the game works really well nonetheless, the level design is pretty good and I was surprised by the variety of tools you get. I'm currently stuck in level ~6 or so, the first one with a lot of spikes, where you get the crate for the first time. I assume I'm relatively close to the solution, but couln't make it back from the jewel. :/

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:17pm

So much content for 48h! I love all the tools, it was really exciting and rewarding seeing what each one did. That glorious fling on L5 ... Nicely thought out levels and decent graphics and controls. I would have preferred stronger gravity as it felt a little too floaty to me, and of course sound would have been awesome, but this is an excellent entry

Muciojad says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Interesting game, I'm really enjoyed game's mechanic.
But there isn't any music, unfortunately.:/
Anyway - nice!

stefan says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Nice game. You included many tools and levels, given that you only had 48h. Thats very impressive!

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:23pm

idk what happened but i cant move from level 1 when i collect the 2 diamonds ):... Interesting idea :D great work! :D

Rother Games says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:23pm

It´s not clear that you only have to get one gem.
The game is ok.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:01pm

I enjoyed the game, the variety of tools available was a nice addition.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]