Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

To That Sect

by gamesbyangelina - Jam Entry

-----------
CONTROLS
-----------

WASD - Move
Mouse to look
Spacebar - Jump

This is a game about a disgruntled child. A Founder. The game only has one level, and the objective is to reach the exit (the yellow cylinder). Along the way, you must avoid the Tomb as they kill you, and collect the Ship.

I use some sound effects from FreeSound, like the sound of Ship. Using Google and a tool called Metaphor Magnet, I discovered that people feel charmed by Founder sometimes. So I chose a unnerving piece of music from Kevin Macleod's Incompetech website to complement the game's mood.

Let me know what you think. In future I'll put more levels into my games, and also make the mechanics more interesting.

--------------------------------
IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT THIS GAME
--------------------------------

This game was made by ANGELINA, a piece of software developed by me, Mike Cook. I designed ANGELINA as part of my PhD research into computational creativity at Goldsmiths College in London. ANGELINA is designed to make games based on simple theme inputs, and this is what it made for Ludum Dare 28's theme.

The commentary above is ANGELINA's description of the game. It's based on a template, but the specifics (about the disgruntled child, the music and so on) are all genuine and filled in by the software as it designs.

Please rate this game as you would any other Ludum Dare game. ANGELINA will hopefully improve and enter many more Ludum Dares in the future!

For more information on the project: http://www.gamesbyangelina.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#180Mood(Jam)3.15
#211Audio(Jam)3.06
#282Innovation(Jam)2.80
#403Humor(Jam)1.81
#441Graphics(Jam)2.53
#500Overall(Jam)2.37
#515Fun(Jam)1.92
#533Theme(Jam)1.75

Comments

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:29am

Well that was...interesting. Can't see where/how Angelina used the theme at all. Quite simple game, liked the choice of music, and I really want to know who that guy is that got placed everywhere.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Angelina makes some bizarre, creepy games.

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Not particularly interesting in its own right, but fascinating to read that this was somehow generated from thematic inputs.

evilDan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:50pm

That was actually surprisingly fun considering that it was a simple collect-the-boat game!

Definitely kinda weird and I enjoyed the moment or two of exploring.

Striwx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Love the mood, the fact you must avoid flyng statues is disturbing but cool for the mood.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:30pm

well done man.. angelina sounds interesting :) i dont know why tho but every unity fps i try the mouse sensitivity is ridiculously high..even with my mouse on lowest dpi hmm

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Thanks to everyone who has played or rated so far! I'm trying not to respond to anything specific until rating is over, but I can answer your questions then for sure :)

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Creepy and...kind of weird. Enjoyed it, for what it was.

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09pm

I'm very much intrigued by the fact that it is a computer generated game (if I understand correctly). Sadly the game itself is not very interesting

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Since when does Angelina work in 3D? Also, it's creepy that your robot is making games about bizarre flying statues under a black sky.

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:26pm

It's got a weird little unsettling vibe going on.


The...Tomb? I guess? are pretty creepy. I want to blame it on knowing that it was algorithmically generated, but I didn't realize that it had been made by ANGELINA until after I played it.

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27pm

I rated it before I realized, BTW. I think I stand by what I picked, too.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:57pm

very simple and creepy. Nice job.

ocmu says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:00am

Don't give ANGELINA drugs before game jams ;) Great phd project, I'm excited to see how it progresses. Good luck!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:19pm

I have no experience with creating a program to create your game, but it's certainly not something you see every day. On that front alone, this gets a lot of points for innovation. The graphics are good, and while the sound isn't original, you use it in a very atmospheric way. The plot is cryptic and interesting.

The actual gameplay isn't anything new, but the game holds together to the end.

Very interesting entry and strongly recommended.

fizzhog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Fascinating idea. Bookmarked your webpage to explore further.

McFunkypants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Such an awesome accomplishment.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:53am

It creeped the hell out of me, but I guess it's one of the most innovative games out here.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:27am

Nice creepy moody atmosphere

mmickyman says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:43pm

It's definitely a surreal experience.

van noctar says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Good graphics

jimmypaulin says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Amazing achievement, I saw some writing about your research a while ago with a Christmas based puzzler platformer iirc - although the resulting game here is straightforward, the fact that it was "composed" (?) by a creative algorithm is fantastic, it must have been a very satisfying process for you! Maximum innovation and I think Ludum Dare will appreciate seeing more from ANGELINA in the future...

local minimum says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Angelina seems really good at creating an atmosphere with both sound and visuals. But the game part of it seems a bit lacking still.

Sebastian says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Fascinating project! I'd imagine it's quite a ways off from competing with humans, but very exciting nonetheless.

Harsay says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:57pm

So that's the future of game developers... ;)

mcapraro says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:58am

very very interesting project and it sounds super fascinating. wow, AI will soon beat us all in making games for game jams ;)

Jan 3, 2014 @ 8:58am

Angelina is very interesting project! The game itself is too simple. It seem the AI got the mood, but not the play. If it have added shooting at the statues that you must avoid and a goal how much ships you have to collect, it would have been better. It felt like playing "art-message" type of game, which is kind of strange for programmatic result when you think about it. But hey, you've made an AI artist - congratulations! :)

loxo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Simple and easy to solve game. I'm surprised, that a generated game has only one level, because I would think it must be easy to add more. I think the game itself would be more interesting, if you had to collect a specific number of ships before you can leave the level.

Of course, the really fascinating thing about your entry is the game generation part. I wonder what's the goal behind it. Is it to create really fast a large number of games? Is it to improve games? Or is the game creation process only an example area for the development of a creative ai? Very interesting area of research.

Alex Higgins says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Not super fun, but it's really impressive how well the level design works - Angelina didn't accidentally generate unwinnable scenarios, which is really freaking cool.

finefin says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:09pm

the fact that this was made by an AI is staggering. it lacks in depth and creativity, tho. the funny thing is, that this is better than some of the games I have tested for this ludum dare :)

Several says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:55am

I suspect a human that produced this would probably be received as maybe clever and definitely weird (in a 'your brain doesn't work like ours' way) and possibly pretentious (in a 'oh, you're just making things weird and awkward for attention, you don't really have anything meaningful to say' way).

I'm very fond of the blog, by the way. Found it through Gamasutra. Exciting, inspiring stuff.

supremefist says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:27am

Freaky stuff!

epb9000 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Kind of impressive given it was created by an AI. Super freakin' creepy earns it high marks on mood.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Just as I'm starting to enjoy making games I have become obsolete. Pfft, humans, who needs them.
Very interesting research, and an unnerving mood.

smilingrob says ...
Jan 13, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Angelina could use Screen.lockCursor, because mouselooking will make the cursor move outside the client bounds unless Screen.lockCursor == true. And of course, releasing the cursor when Escape is pressed.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]