December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Sea Mining Company

by loggs2 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Goal of game:
The goal of this game is to collect as many minerals by digging. There are five days of operation and for each operation you only get one minute to collect as much resources as possible. Each day there are operational costs and you must maintain profitability or the game will be over and the 'Deep Sea Mining Company' will be forced to cease operations.

Keyboard input and joypad inputs are supported.

Keyboard usage:
W or Up-Arrow = Move up
A or Left-Arrow = Move left
D or Right-Arrow = Move Right
S or Down-Arrow = Move Down
F4 quits the game.

Joypad usage:
Axis stick for movement
Any button can be used when asked to hit the keyboard 'Enter' key.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#198Mood3.27
#309Graphics3.29
#462Humor2.31
#528Overall2.97
#613Fun2.70
#673Innovation2.63
#816Theme2.28

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:29am

Loved the art style

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54am

Fun! I actually felt very relaxed while playing (even though there's a timer!) It would be great with some sounds and music. Drifting around mining the sea floor is an experience I never thought I'd enjoy, but I did!

rogerklotz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:01am

Getting an error when trying to run: The program can't start because MSVCP110.dll is missing from your computer

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:27am

This was fun it was so different and it just made me feel funny which is a good thing.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08pm

The art was really cool. Definitely the best part. This was a great start to a really cool game!

The only thing it needs now is to be a bit more dynamic, or maybe more than one way to win? The art is seriously great and the foundation is super solid :)

loggs2 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:24pm

If you hit the missing MSVCP110.dll error you can fix it by downloading the VC++ redistributable package from Microsoft: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30679. I should have included the DLL with the package itself, sorry!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Nice game! This submarine is too big to mine properly. ^^

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Best method I could find is to mine in 'rows'. A good game and I like the underwater theme. well done!

KEFIR says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:37am

Thank you for Linux version! It works perfectly. But with no sound. Or there is no sound? Anyway idea is very intersting

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41am

This was fun. Nice and simple but i soon learned you need to go for the more valuable metals. The different ways you can drill (one big hole, a long shallow hole etc) also adds a bit more strategy. Very good effort!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Decent graphics. Wish there was some kind of reward for the tedious gameplay, like drill upgrades. Also, maybe you should restrict X/Y movement separately, that way you can slide along a surface even if you're pressing down/right at the same time, et.c.

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31am

nice art, but the game is kind of one dimensional. some other mechanics, a goal, or obstacles could have added a lot.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:45am

Certainly seems to payoff better if you drill with a singular focus, rather than dredging the seabed, haha! Loved the graphics! A nice concept that was well executed, just need some sound and marine life to fill out the space.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:47am

Reminds me of the old Jaws NES game:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jaws_%28video_game%29

Radnen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:40am

A great mining game, made better by the fact you have to think about how and where you drill.

koe415 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:56am

Cool art style and fun gameplay. The only things I would add would be some sounds and a visual for how much you were getting for each mineral type.

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:12am

Fun little game. Some simple audio would have really set this game on a higher level.

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:02pm

I like how the game takes place under water. I think having a game that takes place underwater was a good idea. And I like the art.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Cool graphics style, and cool game mechanics. It was fun when the time run out and you saw some more minerals down below, and you were thinking "MINE FASTER!! MINE!"
Gets a little bit repetetive after a while.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]