December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Byte Raider

by ReactorScram - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Are you ready for your first mining expedition, Commander?

We've sent a small team of 10 Byte Raiders to excavate this cavern and-

Oh, I'm sorry, there's been a mix-up in the logistics department.
Commander, YOU ONLY GET ONE Byte Raider.
Well, that's even easier, right?

Your mission is to excavate this cavern and collect 10 Crystals.

Your Byte Raider is equipped with a standard cordless drill. Good luck, Commander."

Press Q to quit and P to pause. WASD moves, arrow keys move, and mouse looks around. Click the mouse to do things.

Win32 2.0.3 download has a SHA1 of 0f4b05ffad3a0850052f19a0b82c81d20d687a3f

GNU / Linux x86_64 download has a SHA1 of fef511574d23a6ec397974fc24ea207debf9f4b6 and it has no libraries included.

Source code download has a SHA1 of fdd0091b715873a0b68051f2790b3b6345d47df3 and may be difficult to compile.

The code, including the Lua files shipped with the game, is under the AGPL3 license, except for external libraries such as SDL, PhysFS, Qt, GLEW, etc.

Donate bitcoins to me at: 14suW9icFsV7kkm467Tu9azbahhsAnxJzj

Donate dogecoins to me at: DKbBX5PG7gSpRP81pUXT1CaHQepxaG1bdy
thanks doge

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1435Coolness32%

Comments

lennaert says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:19am

I like the fact that I can change the terrain, but there wasn't a lot to hold interest beyond that. Controls are tight and easy to understand.

scoopsy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:20am

On OSX - a shame, as it looks neat to me.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:47am

Hmm.. Looked interesting.. sadly I find downloading libraries to be a real pain, especially if you have to hunt to find out which ones you need. I'm gonna have to pass on this one.

ReactorScram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:10am

Scipio: If you run "ldd" on the executable it will tell you which libraries you need. I might try to put together a with-libraries package later, but I can't guarantee it will work.

lando walters says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:16am

From a tech point of view, its pretty cool.
However, the gameplay get very repetative very quickly, and its not all that interesting.
Still, kudos.
When I tried it, it had no audio. This may or may not be intentional, so I didn't mark it.

Geti says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:18am

Kinda moody, though some sound would have really helped it remain engaging, as would some variation in the terrain you come across.

Felt like a reasonably engaging way to present a 3d dungeon crawler though, might have to explore that more in future :)

However, I feel kinda trolled, i dug out all of the initial area and still only 8/10 crystals :/

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:26am

It was cool because I know how hard it would be to create something like this in 48 hours, but it really did get very repetitive. Nice though!

hbocao says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:25pm

"Drill! Drill! Drill! FASTER!"
I wish I could buy some drill upgrades... Good entry, man!

Masadow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Windows link is dead ?

ReactorScram says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Masadow, it should be fixed now.

I'm trying to debug some high network usage on my server, and I moved HTTP to port 90. The new link should work.

rezil says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:18am

That was pretty cool!

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 17, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Very cool! good job :D What version of OpenGL did you use? Thanks! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]