December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Troika

by Fractal Fox - Jam Entry

Troika is a game about finding a lost one - travel your environment and overcome enemies with the forces of fire, the power of toggle blocks, or the raw energies of gravity itself to find Zwei!

But, as the theme implies, you only get one power at a time!

Plays in any browser, click the link below!

************************************

Credits ::
Summer Howard - Programmer, artist
Anthony Cloudy - Programmer

A special thanks to all those who joined the Google Hangout helped or suggested ideas. You know who you are.

Programmed with ImpactJS using Webstorm IDE
Art done in Photoshop CS2
Hosted with Amazon Cloud Services
Used Git for Source Control
Conversed and planned using Google Hangouts

************************************

We had a BLAST making this game and are already itching for the next Ludum Dare! Well, after some sleep, perhaps... hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Fun(Jam)3.42
#129Overall(Jam)3.42
#145Graphics(Jam)3.77
#154Theme(Jam)3.15
#167Innovation(Jam)3.15
#259Mood(Jam)2.90
#1571Coolness22%

Comments

bspa says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Nice game mechanics! Enjoyed playing it. Could do with a soundtrack, but other than that the game is pretty tight.

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:14am

Graphics are perfect. Hard to get into the switch-power mechanic, but once you get it is very good, it's also very original.

btwj says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:32am

The character design is very nice. Although a sound effect when you change orb will be good, or maybe make the statue glow, because at first I didn't know what 'X' did. Very good job on the concept and mechanics, would love to see more

Niqle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Figured I'd take another stab at it and realized that besides the first wall obstacle, the game can be beat without using any orbs. hehehe.

AHerdOfCats says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:49am

Niqle, oh you glutton for punishment, you ;)

How long did it take for you to do that, however? Please say you died a FEW times, har har~

triforcespark says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:49am

Nice use of theme here :)

Niqle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:36am

Not long at all really. Those wings are mighty useful.

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:39am

1. Got to say, when I saw those trees move for the first time, I knew it was going to be a beautiful game. The dull blues against that yellow golden sky really bring out the silhouettes.
2. Sprites were beautifully drawn, just could've done with a consistent death animation to accompany.
3. Enjoyed the depth of the puzzles - the variety of powers allowed for multiple routes through the level, many times killing myself just so I could go back and experience the other 2.
4. I'm a slight hypocrite for saying it (considering my game lacked this) but some sound I feel would've added atmosphere and depending on sound effects, scale to the scene.
5. I would've liked something to collect in the level, especially since it was so much fun to fly around by alternating quickly the black orb power that something to gather would be the cherry on the cake.

Thanks for making this and will look into your other work to see what else you've made!

AHerdOfCats says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:19pm

AlexVsCoding - thank you SO MUCH for your in depth review. I agre - we should have some sort of reward for following the best path, like coins or something. And I wish we could of had music as well, believe me!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:16am

Really enjoyed the use of multiple game mechanics in this one, great graphics as well as a lot of fun. Great job.

neekobus says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:18am

Interesting !
Reverse gravity is fun.
Like the others says : more animation (dead monster, collect orb...) !

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:57am

Really cool artwork! the gameplay is also superb.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Cool character design. The powers were really interesting. Especially gravity and the toggle blocks. Could spawn some really interesting stuff.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Great game but, Music and sound please

Moosefly says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Looks mighty good and some audio would've made the whole experience even better.

The game could've been built around the mechanics a bit more. I think that right now the gravity orb is way better than the other orbs, since the game doesn't really offer many situations were the orbs come in handy.

Nice game despite all that whining, good job!

Macroz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:21pm

With more work and tuning you could make it into a nice game!

greytram says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:39pm

The choice between 3 powers is a really interesting idea, making the game fun to play. Graphics are not bad but I regret the lack of music or sound effect.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Nice take on the theme, I really liked the use of the elements

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]