December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

SchrotBeton

by runvs - Jam Entry

You only got on die. This is the basic rule for SchrotBeton. Every action is decided by a w6 roll.

On your epic quest you hunt a goblin tribe and its master - the mighty headless goblin - throughout the country.
We got a decent battlesystem implemented as well as a really nice system for items (up to 1111 items can be randomly generated) and a small plot with some quests.

Controls:
WASD or arrows for movement
Space: attack
LCtrl: block
LShift: spell
L: Quest log
E: Pickup/interact(houses)

For Windows you need .NET Framework 4.0.
The game will run under Linux/Wine too using Mono!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#260Audio(Jam)2.89
#279Fun(Jam)2.81
#333Humor(Jam)2.10
#355Mood(Jam)2.67
#364Overall(Jam)2.87
#400Graphics(Jam)2.70
#467Theme(Jam)2.14
#490Innovation(Jam)2.17

Comments

pusheax says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:20pm

I like music. Game, it seems, should be turn based, otherwise it should be hack&slash with specific fighting strategies.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Nice work! Had fun playing. Magic seemed a bit too powerfull.

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Seemed clunky.

supremefist says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Good fun :)

tchem says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20pm

great job

euske says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:19pm

The game had really nice atmosphere overall, but the battle system was hard to understand to me.

lennaert says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:07am

I enjoyed playing, though I feel the controls were somewhat clunky. I'd like to see stat alterations based on what kind of square I'm standing on or an inventory screen. I like that you randomly generated loot.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Nice plot. I enjoyed it :D

ZYXer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Nice little RPG! Though I must agree with the other comments that the controls need a bit of polishing, magic is too powerful, while melee is nearly useless.

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I really liked the style of the game's presentation-- it reminded me of some computer games I played as a kid. It's surprisingly deep and very fun to play! Nice work!

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Nice game, good work !

Sanguine says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:35am

Melee combat felt a bit underpowered compared to the magic and the enemies never really attacked me when I used magic on them. Also, it seemed like I could keep picking up new items even though my inventory/equipment was full. I liked how extensive the game was and the story was cool as well.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:45pm

controls seem over-complicated and it probably would work better in classical turn-based. otherwise, a perfectly nice crawler.

foumart says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:03am

Nice rpg with oldschool feel, reminded me of the early Ultima. It was too easy, did not realized when I killed the headless.. At first hitted ESC intuitively while in a tavern :/ But it was fun :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:41am

too much controls though ))
but, I like this graphics style! )

jomomomo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:14am

Web/Mac version would be nice.

runvs says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:59pm

@jomomomo: If you want to run it on a Mac, you can try monomac. We can't test this on our PCs.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]