December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Unibrow

by ViliX - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**THE GAME HAS BEEN LOST, HENCE NO LINKS**

One word: multidimensional.
Anyway, it is a simple adventure but with one special thing. Dimensional shifter! The whole gameplay lasts about 15 mins with nice bonus level at the end.

Basics of this game: First, the player has to acquire dimensional shifter, which allows him to make his way to the end of the map.
Connection to the theme (you can pick): You have only one.. hour to get to work OR You have only one.. battery.
(You will understand why I mention batteries, when you play the game)

What I have done in the new version already:
- Performance (so it could be ported to Flash instead of Unity Web Player)
- Inner game structure (The game I wrote in 48 hours was complete mess. I wrote like 75% of all game mechanics in one script) >> (cleanig up this should help me developing the game in the future)
- Time & coin concept were removed
- Battery is no longer needed for dimensional shifting
- Some fading effect (when you switch between 2D/3D)
- About 15 levels and still creating

What I am working on right now:
- Graphic models (some of the sprites could be 3D, when you switch to 3D World)
- Some animations (when the main character moves backward/forwars, he kind of 'teleports' himself, and I don't like that)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#87Innovation3.69
#87Overall3.69
#123Fun3.50
#141Audio3.29
#186Mood3.31
#245Humor2.93
#421Graphics3.07
#723Theme2.47

Comments

Blupsy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32am

Really liked the mechanic. It was just interesting enough to keep me waiting to see how you were going to use it next.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

Nice implementation of perspective changing. Got to some jumping puzzles that were just a little too frustrating to go on with. A great start to something that could be taken much further.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:36am

Very cool main mechanic. Would've been nice to see something more theme-oriented, but I had fun with the game regardless.

tiffi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39am

Cool game, worked just fine. Enjoyed it!

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39am

Cool mechanic, and great job for the time limit! Would love to see this expanded on!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39am

Wow this is really really cool! I loved the mechanic. When flipping through the screenshots I thought it looked "gimic"-ey but you really made it work :)

Cherno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40am

Love those perspective switching games. Good job!

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42am

The dimension shifting thing was cool. Some of the instructions were a bit hard to read (didn't completely fit on the screen), but I enjoyed my time playing anyway :)

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

great mechanic, I had fun with this one.

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

My mind was blown when it moved between 2D & 3D. The controls are surprisingly intuitive and it was a very interesting to see the different puzzles you could create with it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47am

Great music and atmosphere. The puzzles are cool. I like the writing - I never felt confused.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48am

pretty good! very interesting concept.

ViliX says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50am

If you find any bugs/features you would like to see fixed/added in Post Compo, just let me know :)

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:52am

This is awesome! It has everything from pickles to unibrows to interesting mechanics! Yay!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

Fun, engaging. Innovative perspective mechanics!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54am

Nice! Reminds me a bit of Fez with the dimensional shifting, and it was fun to play!

lparker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

This has some really good potential, and is very fun to play. I look forward to seeing how this this could be expanded.

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58am

Loved it, awesome mechanics, and its crazy how much stuff you got done in such little time. Like the other person said, not a great usage of the theme, but still, awesome job.

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58am

I really like the core mechanic, but I wish there were more reasons to switch back.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:59am

Pretty cool game! I love it :)
The graphics are a tad repetitive, but great nevertheless!
Gameplay is great :)
Very nice

onemoar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00am

Lovely <3

Colorvade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04am

Liked it. Great music, amusing sprites, and the mechanic was put to good use.

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:11am

Nice game, the only issue I had was sometimes it's a bit hard to see which plane the items were on, perhaps separating them more would make this easier. I also noticed I can get negative coins and negative minutes remaining.

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13am

Very cool concept, reminds me a lot of Fez. The environment art is pretty bland, it could use some color! But gameplay wise, very nice!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:17am

Very well implemented mechanics!
Got me playing to the end though I didn't make the conference..
The unreliable gamemaster is what I liked the most about this game!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26am

Awesome mechanics. I would have enjoyed it more if my spacebar wasn't sticking down T__T

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:16am

Love the time old classic of dimension swapping. Jumping could have been tighter.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43am

Game mechanic is really good. Such a simple thing, but yet so interestin. One concern i have is about graphics. Really stresses the eye to see all the same pattern repeat over and over.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31am

That was a fun mechanic to play with, nice work. Honestly can't think of anything to add to it.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Cool mechanic, I liked the 2D/3D as a mechanic for puzzle solving!

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

I really like the story :)

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Cool game. I'm impressed with how well you implemented the perspective mechanic and built the puzzles so that they utilized the various mechanics in interesting ways. Very enjoyable.

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26pm

cool game!

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Clever idea and well made. I like the game. You should take this further and polish it up. it could be great.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Very intresting mechanic, good job.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Amazing. I love everything about this. Fantastic game you've created here.

dementor561 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48pm

i like the concept

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:20pm

AMAZING. Very addicting

marccspro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Very cool game :D

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:14pm

This game is excellent at teaching the game mechanics, something you don't see often in game jam entries.

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Cool. The mechanic is a nice play on "you only get one"

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:16am

Really liked the perspective mechanic. The piano in the background was a nice touch.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:38am

that was extremely clever. I am highly amused. great work. :-)

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:22am

Very nice job! Would love gamepad support!!

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50am

Very nice homage to Paper Mario. The music was great too. I noticed a typo or two, but can't remember specifically where...

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:27am

One of the best so far. Solid story, mechanics. Kept me entertained and engaged from start to finish, which took some while.

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:04am

Nice perspective, funny too, you can't just jump on your enemies and expect something to happen :)

dqmhose says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:48am

So cool! Definitely worth a try, such a cool mechanic.

bitserum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:08am

I enjoyed this, the mechanic was fun and would be nice to see it fleshed out into a full more complex and polished game.
I like the story too, but it was hard to read at times so text formatting could use work.
Also the soundtrack was really nice, it kept me playing.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Very nice gameplay, but I felt the difficulty curve was a little too steep. Those falling platforms were too frustrating for such an early point in the game in my opinion. Still one of the best games I've played in this Ludum Dare though :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Very cool concept and execution. Found it a little too long, but other than that I was quite satisfied with the game and the amount of different gameplay elements you managed to implement.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:03pm

my favourite so far :) all round good.. loved the mechanic and the music.. i duno how you managed to have the music so long without it loading for ages ;p

Striwx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Really love the mecanis, the music and the mood.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:37pm

This is a lot better than the screenshots imply... Good job!

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Great, especially levels.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Innovative and fun, though I couldn't get the connection to the theme... One hour?

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:28pm

great job, love the Fez/Paper mario style 2d/3d ideas

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Great mechanic - the switching from 2 to 3 dimensions really makes the game work! Like Piat, I eventually got to some puzzles that became a little too frustrating, but it's a great start. The theme music is really nicely done, great use of piano, especially with some of those low notes that hit around min8 or so. Nice!

Zhrack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Awesome game! Finished it and loved it!

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:58pm

What a cool mechanic, reminds me of FEZ

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Wow did not expect that kind of experience going into it. It was really well done and that was a very well executed idea you had there.

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:45am

Cool mechanic and mood. I wished the walking were slightly faster, he felt a bit sluggish, which eventually eroded my will to keep retrying, else I would probably have played even longer! Nice work.

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:00am

Awesome game! The dimensional switch was well made, as the puzzles that requires it! Paper Mario meets Flying Eyebrows!

ob6160 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:14am

Wow amazing game, the 2d to 3d thing works seamlessly :D

travislucia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:30am

Unique idea, I didn't see it coming.

Managore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:48am

You managed to squeeze a lot of interesting material into this game. :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:24am

Nice mechanic! Great game!

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:25am

Paper mario style ftw

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:43am

The music is amazing, the game is really nice, the 2d/3d view mechanic is a really good idea. Great job !

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:18am

Amazing game really fun! I would love having it on my smartphone to kill spare time!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:06am

I was very happily surprised to see it turn out to be a multidimensional game. :D

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:05pm

This is a fantastic entry, well done.

JALgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Wow! Fantastic game! I didn't make it throgh the level with the falling platmorms, but anyway: very nice!

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:31pm

I've seen this mechanic before but I love what you did with it. You should be extremely proud of this. Great entry.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:11am

Had great fun playing, unfortunately I clipped through the moving platform on the 'the key is up there I'm not lying this time' and couldn't continue :( Anyway one of the best entries I've played so far :)

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:51am

Great music and entry! Well done!

fysx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:56pm

I had very good times playing it. Thank you for making it!

Joao Kucera says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Awesome!

van noctar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:34pm

I like the transition between 2d/3D!!! Good job!

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:51pm

One of the best entries I've rated so far.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:05am

Very cute and inviting graphics. Interesting game through and through.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Great work on this, enjoyed it greatly! Nice mood and mechanic, I can feel the influences from elsewhere but it's packaged nicely in to something original

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Nice mechanics, good game. Good game. And my comments are very repetitive

zkenshin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Game had a good progression, nice entry. :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Wow, nice twist with the camera change. But I was ages to late at work :-(

The narrator seems to have been GLaDOS's student. He/She should have mentioned and promised cake!

Wonderful game!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:07am

Now this is proper use of Unity3d in 2d! Nice mechanic, but i'm not sure if limiting the "dimensional jumps" the player has is the way to go with such a nice concept - i would think it's best to let the player explore. The length of the game is quite impressive though - that's quite some content!

ViliX says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:00am

I am writing down all your suggestion and working on Post-Compo game :)

ViliX says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:14am

Right now, I am working on:
- Performance (so it could be ported to Flash instead of Unity Web Player)
- Polished level design
- Inner game structure (The game I wrote in 48 hours was complete mess. I wrote like 75% of all game mechanics in one script) >> (cleanig up this should help me developing the game in the future)

Zuige says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Really nice idea! Sometimes the jump button was blocked and it was ridiculously hard to dodge some creeps :o

henrykun says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:00pm

This is very cool! I like the mechanics and graphics too. Really nice, great work!.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Neat game, it reminded me a lot of Paper Mario.

ViliX says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Is that so because of the note: "No, this isn't like mario. You can't just jump on them and expect things to happen." ?

Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Lots of content, lovely mechanic, soothing music. Would like to see more of this - but with less deceit! =)

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:52pm

The narrative sass really brings the game to life :)

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:28am

As I said, I am working on post-compo version :)
(I don't say anything about deceit!)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:10am

A very interesting and lovely game. Loved the switching between dimensions. And lol, the traps and lies! Very intriguing atmosphere and music.

OneDee says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:01am

Great idea! Platforming was a little floaty though. Good job!

yosh says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:04am

Awesome work given the 48h deadline!
The concept is really great, though it doesn't for sure fit the theme... I also like the music itself, which puts the player in quiet and relaxing mood.
Weak points would be: Level design (kind of approximative), and gameplay: the battery thing is kind of useless and a pain...

Great job!

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:57am

Allright. I am removing the battery concept from my game right now! Hurray!!

Zener says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:15pm

This game is really cool! The controls, the mechanic, the narrative, everything is great. Congrats!

Kvisle says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I was two minutes late to the conference! D:

A lot of good mechanics here, and I'd love to see more of this game. However, some parts of the game were a bit mean; The parts where you lie to the player is mean in a way which differs from KPs deception game - as it's not obvious to me that it's a part of the core mechanic here. But you can still get away with it, since you don't lose a lot of time when it happens.

I'd like to see a post compo version of this.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Amazing game. I love the mechanic. Congratulations.

bentog says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I like the Paper Mario puzzle style. This is a very enjoyable game. The mood is great, although I don't see why it must be so sad :( (music is great, but sad, too...)

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:22pm

@Kvisle, there is and I am developing it right now :)

pele says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Great mechanic. I really liked the puzzles involving dimension-changing! Great job =)

Alink says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:01pm

A lot of contents and variety. The battery limits were a bit annoying but I the dimension idea was well done

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:13pm

@Alink, I have already removed the battery limit

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:47pm

nice game, a bit too many text items on screen at some points but overall I enjoyed.

Kroltan says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Nice game! Reminds me of Fez. The puzzles could be a bit more intrincate, though

glennbjr says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:31am

Reminds me of paper mario. Nice use of obstacles and perspective.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:14am

very cool game loved it

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:05am

awesomee haha

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:52am

i love the dimension shift aspect of this game. great concept!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:17am

Really original concept, I just didn't like the graphisms, they were too repetitive and you could have added some colors. But anyway, really nice mechanics, I enjoyed playing it! :)

Thijsku says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:28pm

The switching between 3D/2D was interesting and fun. I didn't know how to shoot (perhaps I just missed that part of the tutorial?) Sometimes the texts are hard to read.

Overall a fun game!

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Basically Paper Mario done during the Ludum Dare :)

Nice realization. Graphics could have been better and controls need much more polish, but in general the game works.

The idea is not really fitting that well with the theme though.

goerp says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Wow, all this in 48 hours? I am deeply impressed. Lots of content.
I like the music (maybe just a bit too sad for the light tone of the game, but nice nonetheless).
The puzzles were nice, good mixture of puzzle and platformer.
You have thought about a lot of improvements, like the removal of the batteries. I think that's a good idea. The battery AND the time limit AND the coins were a bit much. I would get rid of the coins (and maybe the time). The battery cab have a function because you can use it to recharge and shoot and maybe more. I don't think people play puzzle platformers to get a highscore, but to make it to the last level.

All in all: well done!

ViliX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:05pm

I have removed the battery concept for dimensional shifting, but kept it for box activation. Coins and time were also removed. I am working on brand new level designs and story (this one was bit too much). I am also working on new graphic design.
See there: https://www.dropbox.com/s/sgako7klpdv9wf3/Dim.png

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Good. Very good. Reminds me a little of Paper Mario, and that's no bad thing.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:41am

An excellent game, very novel concept and well polished. 5 stars well done vilix!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:59am

Brilliant game. However, the depth perception was difficult to perceive. This game would work well on Nintendo 3DS.

paras238 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:46am

Nice game with good progression!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:35am

So random...did I just get trolled?

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:03am

Great game !

ViliX says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:16am

I am open for any ideas for the brand new post-compo version :)

timothyolt says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:42pm

The perspective mechanic was really cool. At times though it was had to determine where an object was, but it was fun anyways.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Really awesome, unique and well executed gameplay mechanics here! Nice work. :)

gene-z says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Good game, Nice game Work,,,

30dogs says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Super job. You obviously put a ton of passion and time into this submission. My only criticism is that I wish there was more gameplay involving the perspective shift. It felt like by the end of the game (which was enjoyable to play to) you had introduced almost too many features that they detracted from the coolest feature.

Threef says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:04pm

You Only Get TWO dimensions!

anvoz says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Very innovative and entertaining. Cool mechanic. I really love the mix of 2D and 3D to solve puzzle. The story was also really good. Great job!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:47pm

I enjoyed it and I made it to the conference (though pretty late!). The dimension shifting mechanic is cool, though there was hardly ever any penalty to having the third dimension available, so I always just did it as soon as I saw a battery. The respawning batteries made this pretty easy. The game ran pretty slow for me and the controls were a bit soft, which made some of the jumping needlessly hard. Did you know you can beat the final boss without heading to the left? Nice music, though it didn't seem to fit with the levity and graphical style to me?

Moosefly says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:44pm

A nice enjoyable game! Fun mechanic but a little underused! More levels and more use of the mechanic!

eskivor says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:33pm

The music is great, fucking liar :D

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:17am

The music is quite nice. Very good!

frogcheese says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Interesting mechanic, weird humor and moody music. Somehow it all came together really well! Not much of a challenge, but it was worth playing.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:53pm

As other says, cool mechanic, reminds me of SNES area games where there is platforms in a perspective display, so very hard to reach (look for Landstalker on MegaDrive/Genesis)

ViliX says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:27pm

If anyone is interested, here is the screenshot of new version: https://www.dropbox.com/s/9swrd71wrpq7wa0/Dim2.png
A lot of things has changed.
Play the first 5 levels here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/9swrd71wrpq7wa0/Dim2.png

somepx says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Ok, FEZ-like mechanics, excellent level design, lovely characters! A solid entry!! :D

local minimum says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Very nice game. I felt like for most stages the objective was to get the 3D view as soon as possible and that little could be gained by 2D. That was a bit of a pity. Would have been more fun to be strategic in the switching. Also in the battery discharging field where you have to jump for batteries I happened to press R. I said no to restart the game, but when I got back I couldn't get any battery power from jumping up and collecting them. Really a great start for a game that you could build on.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Great concept, nice execution! Felt guided along by the signposts and was excited to see where things went… That spike pit on L6 is impossible though?!!

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:22pm

It is possible, I can assure you :)
I just wanted to flustrate player.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Stuck on level 6 (I think) but this game was absolutely amazing. Had a lot of fun playing around with the dimension shifting mechanic.

Spierek says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:56pm

You should note that the Web link leads to a new, vastly updated post-compo version (which isn't the one that we should be judging here, right?).

I enjoyed the 48h version of the game; it looks worse, but it's more fun to play. (by the way, using "K" as the dimension-switching key is not ergonomic at all)

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:42pm

I am a bit confused with my ftp server, fixing it right now.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:46pm

It should be fixed now.

StMatn says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Cool game!
The mixture of 2D and 3D is really awesome! The parts where the game would set a "trap" weren't nice... It is ok, if a game lures you somewhere to just kill you, but you should be able to get some hints, that it would be a dumb idea to get that <whatever>. If you think "Ooooh...well, I could have seen this", traps are ok ;)
Besides that, the graphics look really nice. I like the beauty in the simplicity of the main character :)
Great work!

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:48pm

This is pretty cool! I love the Paper Mario mechanic.

Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Great fun game

JohnDean says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Hey ViliX, I like your game. But! I find quite wrong to use someone's ideas. I did a little bit searching: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_TZFd_S25o&list=PLHPcpp4e3JVrhvssKEQiukFH2Crx_cf83. Mybringback channel does tutorials and these especially remind me your game. I am now spiky, but I would like to hear your explanation.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Yes, I have watched these tutorials, but if I looked at your game or your projects, I would see some ideas used from the books you read, or the professor, who taught you or the videos you watched. This is one of the way I have learned how to use Unity and yes, there might be some same ideas. In this world, where there is so much things, it is highly possible, that you will find someone, which work is similar to the next one's, even more, when he learned from him.

JohnDean says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:53pm

But these tutorials and professors gives you some kind of guides and patterns about how to do it. In your game you use features directly from mybringback's videos. As I have already said I like your game, but I think that in this competition is the most important to be original. Your game is made using toughts and ideas from other games and tutorials. But it is only my opinion.

Skoggy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Pretty good.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I can see your point, but can't see why do you stand for it. I have used the only basics I have know for my game. I have wrote my game on my own, but with the only knowledge, I have possesed. Maybe today I would do it different way and a month ago different way as well.

JohnDean says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:02pm

I don't think, that you were cheating, you just didn't use much invention.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:06pm

If you like to discuss it more, here is link to my fb profile: https://www.facebook.com/ViliX128 . I will gladly share my thoughts and ideas with you. (It is getting a bit late in my GTM, but I still have plenty of time to discuss it more with you)

JohnDean says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Thanks for your offer, but I just wanted to write about it. I didn't mean to argue with you.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:12pm

I did not meant it that way. I would rather thank you for noting about it. I will try to make my further projects more unique from the materials I have studied. Thank you :)

ACE says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:14am

thats awesome

GFM says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:17am

Fun mechanic. It could be further developed and made into a great game!

Good job.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Good game. I liked the 2d/3d mechanic. The batteries kinda seemed pointless to be honest.

piratefraser says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:05pm

GOOD GAME!!!!

piratefraser says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Thanks for checking out my game, yes cherno did teach me java and thanks for commenting hope you enjoyed playing it your game is good had fun playing. my game needs a lot of features added to it its still unfinished

Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

I felt like the game as a bit slow. I loved the messages along the way, but i felt like there was going to be a time where i was going to have to be let go. The mechanic, while interesting, didn't seem to be entirely useful in the sense that like bullet time in the "enter the matrix" game, you didn't see any need to not be in the "mechanic". all the puzzles seem to rely on being in '3-d', so any chance to make it 3d the answer was there. If there was a choice between when to use it or not, that might be more interesting. the graphics were supurb, and was that minecraft sand there in the middle? :D

jprogman says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:35am

Neat homage to Super Paper Mario!

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:20am

2d art is good, 3d still needs more polishing.

ViliX says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:17pm

In post-compo version, I am working on 3D models of objects. (Have a sneak-peak here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/bhneznxrybux0qk/Dim3.png)

x70x says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Pretty well-rounded experience. Well thought-out and fun to explore. Nice work.

oxysoft says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Very generic game, was a little fun at the beginning then it became really boring

sknoslo says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 6:35pm

I didn't make it in time by a long shot! ha. Fun game. I really enjoyed the mini-game at the end. nice work.

s73ph4n says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Really fun and great work, music, graphics,etc... I will play again for sure :)

Grafter says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Good game, like the different views!!

Harsay says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Enjoyed it alot

cappelnord says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Good level design. I kind of felt that jumps were to short/character was too slow.

jomomomo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:27am

Wow, cool mechanic and pretty good implementation.

CarbonCoder says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Nice mood!

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:55am

Great game. Congrats... I'd really liked the mechanics.. it reminded me 1bit Ninja

frogmaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Nice game, I really like the idea. Graphics and audio is OK. Some levels got repetitive but I enjoyed them. I can't see the theme though. Also I'm afraid you've put too many things in your game. At first I felt I'm playing a puzzle game, then it started to be a thrilling survival, in the end, finishing as a trapformer. It's ok but I felt a bit dizzy when every level looked like a different game...

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Good game!

The music didn't really feel appropriate IMO, and I feel like the theme wasn't all that integrated into the game, but I still had fun and liked it!

Kyle Mac says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Wait a second, I already played Fez.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]