December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One For All & All For One

by BlazingFanfish - Jam Entry

============================================================

The ONE is an item in this game that control almost everything you do.
It can be used to attack enemies and heal allies.
But be careful as you use the ONE, you can exhaust it. And when you ran out of ONE, the game will be over.
Dont worry, as you beat enemies the ONEs power will replenish.
You cannot die normally in battle. When you die if there is still ONE left, you will be brought back to life. But as it told earlier, if you ran out of ONE the game will be over.

============================================================

credits to : Blackmage (programmer), midgarsormr (game designer), and cybersam (for input module) and finally RPGMAKERXP RTP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#103Theme(Jam)3.33
#201Humor(Jam)2.62
#228Audio(Jam)3.02
#346Graphics(Jam)2.94
#362Mood(Jam)2.65
#417Fun(Jam)2.46
#446Innovation(Jam)2.33
#446Overall(Jam)2.63

Comments

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:46am

Funny take on the theme! Nice music and artwork.

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:47am

Interesting, but highly confusing. I see what you're going for, though. I ran out of ONE and then got an error, something like "Unable to find file Graphics/Gameover".

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:53am

Long game, a lot of content. Some of the music and art is top tier. Combat system and 'ONE' quite confusing a concept for me.

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:54am

The amount of ONE almost hurts. Good job following the theme.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00am

Interesting game, combat seemed a bit too easy and I couldn't find a lot of depth in it, an intro to fighting might be useful.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:49am

Neat take on the theme

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:34am

About this error : "Unable to find file Graphics/Gameover"
We just forgot to put the gameover graphics. Just run the exe again, since the game should be over anyway :)

ryann says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:51am

I really love the artstyle. The combat is kind of confusing but also interesting, I like the idea of having to play an rpg where you only get 1hp.

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:24am

I love the character art, I found the combat a little simple if I'm honest though

anvoz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:06pm

That was cool! Great work!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Great concept and good job with the theme, you have surprised me ;-)

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Interesting concept, if a little confusing, some great sprites and a good effort.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:06am

Nice use of the theme!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:51am

Interesting idea. Ive seen many one hit games this ld but none with your take on it. well done

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:55am

Nice stuff. I've toyed around with RPG Maker a bit as well, but haven't really made anything big. Anyways this was a very silly take on the theme and was enjoyable.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:05am

I am also getting the gameover error. Interesting use of the theme with RPG Maker. The bandit is very hard to deal with.

Berzee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:40am

Weird in a good way (also weird in a weird way). =) Adding it to my list of games I'll need to have a second look at later -- I just got stuck wasting all my ONE on a bandit...maybe I was supposed to run for it.

(I felt like I should award this ONE star to keep with the theme, but then I thought better of it =P)

TaleLore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:44am

I got stuck in a battle with an immortal ghost.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:44am

That fricken ghost!

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:52am

Nice ONE game. There's ONE everywhere! Unfortunately I couldn't figure it out how to go to the ONE sky...

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:04am

Wow the art is awesome! the game was enjoyable :D very cool! the combat was kind of easy but sometimes boring :/ so i tryed to avoid fighting. The good thing about the fight part is the epic music and also when i win the fight! Great work on the game! :D

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:01am

Nice artwork (graphics and sounds)! Lot's of ONEs!

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Great!! This is really created in 3 days? :D Good job!!

Gerjj says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:02am

Fair to say you get 5/5 for following the theme! Good work

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:58am

I've seen a game similar to this... hm.
Well anyway, it' pretty cool and is very funny! xD Nice job!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:34am

Really cool rpg game ! Great job !

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:48am

Thanks for everyone that playing. Yeah, the battle system is a bit confusing, but once you get the gist of it, it'll become simple. Anyway, I've upload the bug fix version for the game :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:08am

You only get MacGuffin! I wasn't sure what happened when I got a game over, because I seem to just come back to life every time I died before that.

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:15pm

sorry, wine didn't manage to run this game :-(

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:07pm

To run game made with rpg maker on wine is tricky, and I can't provide a decent tutorial for it. Sorry for this inconvenience :(

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Works great in Windows 7 64 bits. Both songs are wonderful, and graphic are great! The idea of the theme in your game are so fricking gorgeous, use the ONE for everything, but in the other hand the combat are simples. I hope you improve the concept in a future full-game remake . Good work devs!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Great adventure game.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:30am

Interesting take on the theme.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:12pm

malkovich malkovich! hahahah

weird game man!

LevelUpJordan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:47pm

I really like this, great job :)

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:16pm

I really didn't get the philosophy of one and zero , but the game play was good ,the story had a good amount of surprises
, it seems that RPGMaker have great potentials as I see .

timothyolt says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Very cool! However also quite confusing.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Very strong use of them and excellent game overall. Good jam guys!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]