December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Diner Devil!

by voidqk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Oh crap!

Doctors have informed you your snare arm has suffered extreme damage! You'll never be able to drum again!

Well, what do doctors know anyways?!

While it heals, you'll need some extra cash. Cooking seems appropriate!

Of course, you only get one arm... but no big deal! Rack up the cash and party hard!

PLEASE USE GOOGLE CHROME.

If I had more time, I could make it work better on Firefox. Just use chrome, please!

Live-blog with previous releases and different art: http://smashware.com/articles/2013/12/12/ludum-dare-28-live-blog

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#267Fun3.22
#343Humor2.61
#371Graphics3.17
#399Overall3.13
#427Innovation3.00
#464Mood2.81
#867Theme2.14
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

BoppreH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52am

Good game. Nice items are hard to handle, like the spatula, because it's not immediately clear where the actual cursor is. Nice difficulty, really made me feel like an one armed chef in a busy day.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23am

Wow you did awesome with the graphics! This feels way too much like job though... D:
I would consider placing more emphasis on reward and satisfaction over challenge and difficulty... But that's just my theory anyway :3

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

Great graphics, a little hard to control and a lot to remember, but I guess that IS sort of the point of the game. Still, very solid! I could see this being expanded quite easily.

nickworks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

Great start! It's hard having to memorize a bunch of arbitrary colors. Perhaps you could actually include text along with the progress bars so that the player can learn what each color means.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

It seemed like a great idea, but the controls are a bit confusing and unintuitive : / the learning curve was so steep! But I liked it :)

pjchardt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55am

Well I worked for a year in a restaurant that only served breakfast and lunch. Your game fairly accurately captured the feeling of a rush. I don't know if that is a good thing or not :p In all seriousness, I liked the fast paced gameplay, but I had a hard time putting down my spatula and knife sometimes which was really frustrating.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:50am

Quite difficult! But found it very enjoyable. Nice work!

voidqk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:23pm

thanks for the feedback everyone!

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:13pm

I think this game would vastly benefit from a touch input. Idea and style of the game is good and I like the comments of the customers afterwards. Fitting sound effects would have been great, to enhance the atmosphere.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57am

Nice, game is fun and controls are slick.

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:17am

Nice Job!

hnjslater says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:23am

I like it but drag and drop would've made it a lot more intuitive. Also I wasn't sure how to make French toast - over in these parts it's more often called eggy bread!

alcorrius says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:47pm

I need more recipes. With your game I will learn to cook!))

Zenkerdus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Feels like alot of content and playtime in such a short dev time! Like the graphic style you went for too. Neat!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Puts into mood of having one hand very well. I felt happy for having 2 hands as I finished playing :)

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Very fun! I accidently threw good meal in the trash :D It's fun just to mess around and try to make something on your own, without reading how to play. Also cool story. Nice game length. Great job man!

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:58am

I want more recipes please :D

FMgames says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:40pm

<3 IT

PaulSB says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Nicely done! It was pretty tough meeting the orders quickly but I found I did get better at it as I progressed.

grifdail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I dont like this type of graphics, but that's probably just my opinion. I enjoyed the game !

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Good game, really impressed with the way it looks and plays. struggeling with the spatula and the knife and, the mouse clicks acted slowly but apart from that the control was good. Impressive amount of work done for 48 hours.

olafsworld98 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:58pm

It was a bit hard learning all the recipes by heart, but I got the hang of it. Taught me something

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]