December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Card Encounter!

by Mechatodzilla - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Card Encounter is my first solo entry. I tackled a card-based pseudo-RPG idea using GameJs, Brackets for Mac, and GIMP.

I wanted to make a more creative use of the theme so I explored the idea that, "you only get one," and the rest will be used against you. This in mind, each round of cards gives you one new card, but passes two to your opponents.

This game isn't exactly a technological feat but I wanted to develop in iterations leaving almost everything on a long enhancement list. This worked out well as we got house guests at about 6 PM on day 2. You see what made it in, here are a few things that didn't:
Audio (What are ya gonna do?)
Modifier cards (armor, weapons, etc.)
Animations and particle effects (something to space out the rapid flow of the game)
Introduction and instructions
A bit more fanfare upon victory or defeat

I had fun and I learned a lot. Please enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#464Innovation2.96
#545Theme2.79
#841Fun2.33
#843Graphics2.17
#846Overall2.54
#903Mood1.94
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Nice concept - it took me a while to find out what "choosing a card" actually meant for the game (when I started, I thought it would apply that damage directly^^)

Would be definitely nice to have more options in cards and such, but 48 hours isn't too much - good job!

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Agreed on all counts. Thanks for trying it out!

vinull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:01am

I took a few hands before I got what was going on - perhaps if my hand was always visible at the bottom and there were animations for the playing of cards it would be quicker to pick up. Very good idea and use of the theme!

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08am

Have you ever played the card game Biblios? It has a similar 'choose your card, the others go to your opponents' mechanic - though the impacts of that are less direct.

But yea, not a bad idea for a game. Maybe try turning it into a physical game?

FrederickK says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08am

I really liked the idea, but I think the biggest problem is that the mechanic doesn't work very well, I won just by always picking the lowest card.
Maybe it is just needing a little more to work better, but I think you is in the right direction!
Hope you keep going, good job!

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10am

I've always loved the idea of ending up with a physical game after something I started. Awesome. Thanks all.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:02am

Wow, I definitely liked this game. Like a lot. It was simple and well thought out and well executed. Couldn't really ask for more than that :) Very well done!

mystakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:59am

I appreciate games like this that have concepts I never would have dreamed of. It took me a bit to fully understand the rules of the game, but once I got it down I enjoyed the heck out of it. Red knight is such a jerk!

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:38am

It's a pity that you didn't have enough time to spend on planned things. Maybe on the next ludumDare contest :) Still a nice game

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:45am

It's a well thought game. It would help if you know what's going on, the log on the bottom left doesn't help much >.<

I keep increasing my health while they crush each other, muahahaha

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:51am

This game seems like it has a clever idea but I just can't figure the mechanics.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Nice game - some animation of the cards would help make the mechanics more obvious but I was able to get it after a couple of rounds.

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:24am

"Modifier cards (armor, weapons, etc.)"

This will be great. Right now the winning strategy seems to be picking the highest magnitude negative card, or positive (if there is a very high positive card). Even so, I can already feel an addictive card game in the making.

"Animations and particle effects (something to space out the rapid flow of the game)"

Animations will definitely help in showing that a card is being given to you versus what cards are being used against you. It took me a few games to see that played effects were being displayed at the bottom left, and cards on the screen were always going into my hand.

Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Like others have said, this has the makings of a great game. Heck, for being made in 48 hours, its already a really solid game. Some more mechanics and clearer explanation and I could see myself playing many many rounds.

michail says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:18pm

If you would add some weapons/armor cards as you have planned, it could be a really fine card game; but right now there is very little strategy in it.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Interesting take on the theme. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]