December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

4 Directions

by Dramentiaras - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare game, and I think it turned out good, however I do not know how true to the theme this is. Oh, well, I still think it's enjoyable.

Only one who knows the game for real can complete it(Or anyone who can press Skip Level).
I promise you, the game is beatable without pressing Skip Level once.

To run the game, extract the files inside the .zip folder and just double-click the .jar file.

If this doesn't work, open your console, navigate to the folder with the files and run

java -jar 4directions.jar

If THIS doesn't work you probably don't have java.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Theme3.80
#389Fun3.00
#1571Coolness22%

Comments

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:20am

A little frustrating trying to get the timing right. But it also feels slow to play. Clever use of the theme though. Good puzzles.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31am

Really nice take on the theme, I wish the player moved a bit faster, other than that, solid game! I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/EqAXn91dGLM

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

Nice use of the theme!

benjih says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:59am

Loved it, really interesting interpretation of the theme into a great little puzzle game.

My only complaint would of be that I kept dying and found it cumbersome to keep restarting. Automatic restarts or a pressing one key would of been nice.

carrymove says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:38am

It is pleasant to me - there is no right for a mistake

elcow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:20am

Seconding the request for a dedicated restart key. Especially since if I started pressing the next key before releasing the last key, I would just lose that key. Nice puzzles despite some usability issues.

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:34pm

I like the idea already saw a couple of games with the same mechanics, but I like how to transform-it into a puzzle.

Dramentiaras says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Hi everybody! I'm glad you like my game, and I didn't implement a automatic restart key since I wanted my game to frustrating :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Great idea on the theme but i feel little frustrating on the movement gamplay. Great work on the puzzles, they are good challenges.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Too bad it feels a bit slow paced and we have to hold the butoon, but it fits well with the theme tough.

_zulli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Great theme use! I've liked it and the puzzles were challenging. A little frustrating but as you said that was the intention!! :P Great job!

If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]