December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Toy Soldiers

by Bcadren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was my first LD!

Controls/Explanation:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/GuideImage1.png

Source:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/t9ktpy61s2lqsl9/vYX3GvoNrg

Timelapse of Production:
youtu.be/XecnV41ZALM

The first level is very easy; don't complete it until you are familiar with the interface and commands, though the remaining two levels were hard for me to finish.

Bandicam Watermarks in the screenshots are not in game; they are from the software I use to get screenshots.

If you're experiencing lag/frame-rate issues. I've been informed of the issue and unfortunately it makes the game unwinnable. I apologize for this; the issue exists because I completed the Ludum Dare on a rather top of the line PC; without consideration of deployment to slower machines. The Standalone edition does seem to have reduced issue compared to the web version; however, so if experiencing issues online try the download.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#278Humor2.81
#483Mood2.78
#590Overall2.90
#596Fun2.72
#642Graphics2.66
#923Innovation2.10
#995Theme1.56

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12am

I can see that it's basically Lemmings, but there is no indicator of where they need to end up.

Bcadren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17am

Adding more on the controls in the notes section to prevent further confusion.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02am

Clockwork Gnomes Lemmings Tribute? Took a long time to work out that flamethrower doesn't seem to hurt the santas, and I thought instinctively that the heavy lead would be like a balloon, and I couldn't work out the exit strategy. I managed to get the santas down to the bottom level, but with nowhere obvious to go.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:52am

Quick answer to your comment on my game (haven't had a chance to play yours yet, though I will be back to do so): my game was made in Twine, which is in interactive fiction/choose your own adventure software that gives .html files as its final output.

The odd jump from cops & robbers to Mexican food is mostly due to me running short on time and not being able to implement as many paths or as fitting of an opener as I would have liked. The sudden shift from getting food to a major life decision was supposed to be jarring, since all of the endings would be something sudden that you would not see coming.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33am

Oh, there is more level than just the first screen. Use the arrow keys to scroll the level.
After the first level it's very challenging, but I liked it. Haven't played lemmings in years. :D

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:13pm

That's a pretty good work for a 48H compo ! There are still some glitches remaining. Controls are a bit hard to master aswell.

tiffi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Took some time till I got it. But nice game though

haveric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Controls are a bit strange, tried using wasd keys and 'a' randomly zooms in extremely close and I have no idea how to zoom out. Seems like it has potential to be a decent lemmings clone, but the colorful ground is not pleasing to look at.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28pm

i love lemmings, nice job bringing it back. i missed a "restart" button and got some problems with camera zoom, but i like it. as a programmer, i know it is a difficult entry (specially using unity) to make in 48 hours, so good job.

LexGarza says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:25am

I just didn't quite get the purpose, didn't find where to get the little soldiers to and the controls are a bit overwhelming.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:36pm

LEMMINGS!!! I Loved this game hahaha That's awesome. Thank you for reminding me on my childhood :3

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Nice acomplishment. Didn't get the connection with the theme though.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Cool game, it was enjoyable - it would have greatly benefited from some in-game tooltips though, having to constantly tab over to the explanation image was a bit annoying, but totally understandable given this is LD.

KEFIR says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Nice look at lemmings mechanics!

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:05am

I couldn't even complete the first level :/

Nice job recreating Lemmings, but between glitches (elves getting stuck in walls, walking through grappling hook lines) and just not being able to drop down without killing everyone, I just couldn't manage it. Seems like it could be fun if i worked a little more consistently. Not sure I understood the connection to the theme either.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:29am

Nice mechanics, but I couldn't finish the third stage.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:14am

Nice nostalgic reminder of lemmings, but the soldiers move a little too fast. Also, where do I send them?

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Nice lemmings clone, but a bit hard to controll and resource-hungry.
Besides that, nice work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]