December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Conquest

by SiM2SiM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shoot and jump your way through 3 levels and a boss in the action packed Conquest.

Controls:

"Z" - Jump
"X" - Shoot your gun

left & right arrow keys to move

"Enter" to skip cut scenes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#190Graphics3.63
#244Overall3.33
#306Fun3.17
#310Mood3.05
#505Audio2.50
#756Theme2.42
#873Innovation2.22
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09am

looks sooo neat, but no osx version :(

SiM2SiM says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42am

Couldn't figure out how to unfortunatley

ekun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:29am

Hey, nice game. The mechanics felt good, and shooting the gun was satisfying.

I wish that the bullets did more damage to the enemies though, it got a little bit frustrating later on waiting to mow through each guy.

Good job!

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:31am

Graphics are good! Pretty difficult, though!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:40am

Nice graphics - movement seems a bit too floaty.

@Micle2000 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:57am

Pretty fun, I felt like the sliding was a little unnescesary though, idk. Like the screen shake!

CogentInvalid says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:34am

At first I thought the controls were a little floaty, but after getting used to them they seemed to make sense, and were actually pretty satisfying. I do wish you could control your jump height by holding down the button, however. Also, you probably should have made it more clear that you're not supposed to stand in between the lava beams in Level 3 to get through, unless you are supposed to, in which case you should have made the hitboxes more forgiving.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:29am

Controls hard to find and not really at the right place I think, I had so much difficulties to control my char :/

Could have been much better cause there was something behind ^^

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:34am

how did you make that gun feel so damn good so fast! seriously, getting simple things like that to feel right can be the hardest part of all this. overall, fun game, the tunnel level got a little tedious running back and forth to cause another group of bats to spawn, then run away to take them out.

noobsticks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:53am

That was awesome! Level 2 was a little simple, but everything else was just great. Loved the kickback on the gun, and the simple platforming bliss.

Works fine in Linux w/ WINE, btw. :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:40am

I couldn't beat the first level. There were a lot of times I'd jump to the next platform only to find a bunch of guys I didn't know where there ready to kill me.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:46am

Awesome game. Love the graphics. The movement a bit meh though.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:00am

Graphics are very nice, but gameplay is incredibly har with only 1 life.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:10am

Pretty cool. The flamer-devil totally surprised me... what I actually disliked was the "just one life" thing, as I would have wanted to continue closer to where I died.

Anyhow. Liked this one. Good job.

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Nice game, some levels are a bit long for only one life. Really expected a boss in the end but it seems like it was just a cutscene. Like that it has an ending though.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Really nice game. loved how the theme fit into the quick story but i think the theme subtracted from the experience and maybe a health system should be added instead. Controlls where also a bit slipery and the bats AI seemed a bit strage at times. All and all a verry nicely made game with good enemy and level veriaty. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]